Defra Reviews | Glassdoor

Defra Reviews

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Defra Permanent Secretary Tamara Finkelstein (no image)
Tamara Finkelstein
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "You don't have to be patient to work here but it helps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Defra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, open management, supportive

    Cons

    Overworked, you will be doing more than you signed on to do. Firefighting issues stifles a lot of good work. Brexit dominates senior management.

    Continue reading
    Defra2019-07-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Policy 

    I worked at Defra full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, interesting policy area, dynamic policy formulation in some parts

    Cons

    Slow to act on tech. Some senior leaders will go out of their way to block progression based on personal dislike rather than abilities

    Defra2019-07-08
  3. "Flexible working is fab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Policy Advisor in London, England

    I have been working at Defra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people Good L& D opportunities Flexible working

    Cons

    Low salary Short fixed term contracts

    Defra2019-06-20
  4. "Excellent benefits and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Defra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An employer who truly values flexible working and allowing the employee to work around their own needs

    Cons

    Pay is poor, relative to private sector and other government departments.

    Defra2019-06-05
  5. "A nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economic Adviser in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Defra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Calm, interesting issues, good work-life balance. My manager genuinely cared about his staff. I liked working there a lot.

    Cons

    A bit of a mess atm with Brexit work. Big lack of strategic direction with lots of ppl falling over themselves to try to please ministers without actually knowing what Ministers want i.e. lack of independence in that sense.

    Defra2019-05-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Named veterinary surgeon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Veterinarian in Weybridge, England

    I worked at Defra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working time. Very good work-life balance

    Cons

    No advancement chance,low wage compared to average market in same location

    Defra2019-05-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "50/50"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Defra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work life balance, good working environment, good benefits, good support system, good on job learning, really friendly people in general

    Cons

    lack of vision for apprentices on fixed term contracts by middle and senior management, some university/degree or non university/non degree snobbery exists, little to none race diversity

    Continue reading
    Defra2019-04-26
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Very mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HEO in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, work from home, mostly lovely people, the work itself can be interesting, training opportunities emerge (but not for new starters)

    Cons

    Senior management do not give appropriate amounts of responsibility to those who deserve it, very hierarchical. You cannot get promoted easily even if you are vastly exceeding expectations for your pay grade Very bureaucratic and slow moving at times The work comes and goes (sometimes loads to do, sometimes nothing) Very little, if any, training for new starters Onboarding process was poor (some staff not being paid in their first few months)

    Continue reading
    Defra2019-04-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Officer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Colleagues are almost universally intelligent, hardworking and great to work with - Work is often interesting - Responsibility is given from day one

    Cons

    - I was expected to be the full package from day one as an EO. No training or even induction was given. This makes for a baptism of fire. - I am often given responsibility that is above my pay grade. I am the lead for several projects where I am expected to advise despite being an assistant and having little substantial experience. This is very stressful and management don’t seem bothered. - Despite expanding rapidly, there are still not enough staff to cover the full remit of our projects - lots of unnecessary admin - Lots of colleagues work overtime and are not compensated with overtime or time in lieu - Brexit causes a lot of uncertainty with constantly shifting priorities

    Continue reading
    Defra2019-03-30
  10. "LOVE WORKING FOR THEM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader: AgriFish in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defra full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very focussed on staff wellbeing and diversity - we're like one big family

    Cons

    The family is getting to big - its becoming impersonal.

    Continue reading
    Defra2019-03-15
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 11 - 20 of 58 Reviews