Defra Reviews | Glassdoor

Defra Reviews

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Defra Permanent Secretary Tamara Finkelstein (no image)
Tamara Finkelstein
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Defra full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, respectful

    Cons

    Diversity, pay, lack of equal opportunities, need to move with the times

    Defra2018-10-19
  2. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Defra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, friendly people and good work life balance

    Cons

    Slow progression- which is why I left in the end

    Continue reading
    Defra2018-09-30
  3. "Defra"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Defra part-time

    Pros

    Really good progression and personal development.

    Cons

    Really big teams that were spread across the country which was difficult at times.

    Defra2018-08-24
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defra full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work, great work culture. Management go out of their way to make sure you are doing well and feel good about your work

    Cons

    Only thing i can think of is the view from the office space is bad

    Continue reading
    Defra2018-06-08
  5. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Policy Analyst in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Defra part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely place to work people

    Cons

    Nothing negative as wasn’t there long

    Continue reading
    Defra2018-04-22
  6. "Defra - digital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Programmer Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can have influence. Good work-life balance. Outcomes make a difference peoples lives. Good variety of work. Some talented people.

    Cons

    Salaries are not as competitive as elsewhere in public sector. Being public sector there is a great deal of inertia and accepted wisdom to navigate.

    Continue reading
    Defra2018-01-12
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Defra full-time

    Pros

    It pays the bills, so you are able to live and feed your family. The hours are 9 to 5, and no one works hard on a Friday if at all

    Cons

    You can only expect career progression if you are part of one club or another, or something worse. Expect s pointless career.

    Continue reading
    Defra2018-01-05
  8. "Defra internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defra

    Pros

    Flexible working excellent, friendly atmosphere, inclusive to all, mixed demographic, sociable colleagues.

    Cons

    Performance management very strenuous, time taken to get entry pass very long.

    Defra2017-12-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great for flexible working, but the culture can be hard on employee morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Defra full-time

    Pros

    Very flexible working - managers are open to considering all working patterns. Remote and home working allows those with parental responsibilities to juggle their time. Pay can be good for the work, though pension benefits have been much reduced in recent years.

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic, slow moving. Senior management tends to have the same ways of working, and the clearance processes needed to progress work can be a huge hindrance. Identical grades can have very different workloads depending on team.

    Defra2017-11-07
  10. "Civil service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Defra full-time

    Pros

    Flexible employer who caters to the welfare of its employees. Working from home is encouraged and there is generous annual leave

    Cons

    The pay is quite low given the type and level of work expected

    Continue reading
    Defra2017-10-09
Found 58 reviews