Del Mar College Reviews | Glassdoor

Del Mar College Reviews

Updated Mar 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
93%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Del Mar College President Mark Escamilla
Mark Escamilla
6 Ratings
  1. "Good people, good benefits, a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director of College Relations in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Del Mar College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers who are passionate about what they do. Lots of time off. Good insurance benefits (health, dental, vision). Access to campus resources like libraries, workout/athletic spaces, a tuition-free class each semester, and more. Exempt employees get a one-time opportunity to choose Optional Retirement Plan (which invests your retirement contributions in mutual funds and other products) over TRS,

    Cons

    Draws a third of operating budget from state funding, so each Legislative session affects operations. No raises based on performance, just annual cost-of-living increases. No promotions; you must apply for each new position and compete with other applicants. Not much information given about ORP option (which succeeds or fails based on market conditions), and no opportunity to change back to TRS.

    Del Mar College2020-02-03
  2. "Overall Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Desktop Support Specialist in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Del Mar College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    No pay raises, people who have worked there for 2 years making the same as someone new.

    Del Mar College2020-03-14
  3. "Never a dull moment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Anatomy/English Tutor in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Del Mar College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I not only got to share my previous experience working with Elementary students, but I really learned a substantial amount from the tutors, who taught other subjects.

    Cons

    I was not receiving enough hours a week to pay food and rent. They would only allow you to receive 19 hours maximum a week. I usually ranged from 12 to 19. That doesn’t pay the bills. The pay was only 10.00 per hour as well.

    Continue reading
    Del Mar College2019-08-29
  4. "Good campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Del Mar College part-time

    Pros

    It was a straight-forward experience.

    Cons

    It took a while to get keys to my room.

    Del Mar College2019-06-04
  5. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Desktop Support Specialist in Corpus Christi, TX

    I have been working at Del Mar College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible with schedule for college students. Everybody is kind and helpful.

    Cons

    Part time workers can only work a maximum hours of 19 a week.

    Del Mar College2019-03-05
  6. "Adjunct Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Del Mar College part-time

    Pros

    Enjoyed my time at the community college and working in my department.

    Cons

    As an adjunct employment is not guaranteed each semester.

    Del Mar College2018-09-21
  7. "Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Del Mar College full-time

    Pros

    Spring Break, Winter Break , Thanksgiving break. The pay is higher than university .

    Cons

    Unqualified personnel at Director levels, no compensation for overtime work

    Del Mar College2018-09-17
  8. "GIS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor Technician in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Del Mar College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, people were nice and very laid back

    Cons

    Can not think of anything

    Del Mar College2018-08-07
  9. "A Wonderful Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dean in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Del Mar College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ample professional development opportunities (and funds for development), employees recognized and rewarded for performance, opportunities for advancement, excellent salary and benefits package (especially for a community college), childcare on one campus

    Cons

    childcare facility only on one campus

    Del Mar College2018-05-03
  10. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Tutor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Del Mar College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good fellow employees. Friendly environment

    Cons

    Bosses like to make sure everything looks nice, sometimes long shifts, last minute overtime (paid, but still)

    Del Mar College2018-01-19
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews