Del Monte Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Del Monte Foods Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 132 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Greg Longstreet
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Del Monte has great products and people(in 9 reviews)

  • "Good people who take care of each other despite many challenges(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "I had no downfalls while employed at Del Monte Foods(in 10 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The Future is Bright!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Del Monte Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company, great innovation, lots of growth and opportunity

    Cons

    Benefits Package is a little weak.

    Del Monte Foods2019-06-20
  2. "OK place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in San Francisco, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Del Monte Foods full-time

    Pros

    Location, communication, brands, benefits, culture

    Cons

    Systems, employee retention, long hours

    Del Monte Foods2019-05-30
  3. "Great People, Poor Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at Del Monte Foods full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic coworkers Flexible Work Meaningful work with fantastic products Great innovation

    Cons

    Not competitive with other retailers in regards to pay Not clear direction and execution from leadership

    Del Monte Foods2019-06-06
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Del Monte Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people and culture are great.

    Cons

    Salary can at times be low.

    Del Monte Foods2019-05-16
  5. "Good people, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packaging Engineer in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Del Monte Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All of my co workers were friendly and easy to work with

    Cons

    There is little to no training.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in technology

    Del Monte Foods2019-05-10
  6. "Awesome job and meaningful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Del Monte Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've met the most talented and humble team members at Del Monte Foods. The people are kind, hard-working and helpful. Best of all-egos run low. The company's given me the opportunity for lateral career development and it's super exciting to be part of a small "big" CPG company. Our company is launching more innovative, new products than ever before in our 130-year history.

    Cons

    The vacation benefit is old fashioned, especially for incoming mid-level and senior professionals. It's time to transition to a modern PTO policy and be competitive with other East Bay companies.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the awesome job!

    Del Monte Foods2019-04-11

    Del Monte Foods Response

    May 21, 2019Human Resources

    We gather you’re a new employee and we’re stoked to have you on the team. Our people really are incredible! Thanks for your feedback on benefits. We review our benefits and perks on a regular basis.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Del Monte Foods full-time

      Pros

      Del Monte has great products and people.

      Cons

      The industry is in decline.

      Del Monte Foods2019-02-04

      Del Monte Foods Response

      May 21, 2019Human Resources

      We’re glad you’re a part of our family! You mention our awesome teammates. And it’s true! Our people are the foundation of our fast-paced and collaborative environment. I see where you’re coming from and want to tell you more about our current business and the bright future ahead ...

      Show More
    • "Industrial engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Maintenance and Production in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Del Monte Foods full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Systems compliance with ample resources

      Cons

      Low staff pay in management

      Advice to Management

      Improve on staff management

      Del Monte Foods2019-01-20

      Del Monte Foods Response

      May 21, 2019Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback!

    • "Fantastic Culture, Decent Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Del Monte Foods full-time

      Pros

      Great culture Work life balance Employees Good growth path

      Cons

      Often times, monetary value of employees is not properly recognized by management.

      Del Monte Foods2018-12-04
    • "Del Monte is a great company to work for!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Del Monte Foods

        Pros

        Good people, and good pay.

        Cons

        Closing the plant I work at.

        Advice to Management

        Being part of management I welcome any suggestions for improvement.

        Del Monte Foods2018-08-25
      Found 132 reviews