Del Monte Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Del Monte Foods Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 124 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Greg Longstreet
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people who take care of each other despite many challenges(in 9 reviews)

  • "I thoroughly enjoyed my time working at Del Monte Foods(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "I had no downfalls while employed at Del Monte Foods(in 10 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Industrial engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance and Production in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Del Monte Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Systems compliance with ample resources

    Cons

    Low staff pay in management

    Advice to Management

    Improve on staff management

    Del Monte Foods2019-01-20
  2. "Awesome job and meaningful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Del Monte Foods full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I've met the most talented and humble team members at Del Monte Foods. The people are kind, hard-working and helpful. Best of all-egos run low. The company's given me the opportunity for lateral career development and it's super exciting to be part of a small "big" CPG company. Our company is launching more innovative, new products than ever before in our 130-year history.

    Cons

    The vacation benefit is old fashioned, especially for incoming mid-level and senior professionals. It's time to transition to a modern PTO policy and be competitive with other East Bay companies.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the awesome job!

    Del Monte Foods2019-04-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Del Monte Foods full-time

      Pros

      Del Monte has great products and people.

      Cons

      The industry is in decline.

      Del Monte Foods2019-02-04
    • "Fantastic Culture, Decent Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Del Monte Foods full-time

      Pros

      Great culture Work life balance Employees Good growth path

      Cons

      Often times, monetary value of employees is not properly recognized by management.

      Del Monte Foods2018-12-04
    • "Del Monte is a great company to work for!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Del Monte Foods

        Pros

        Good people, and good pay.

        Cons

        Closing the plant I work at.

        Advice to Management

        Being part of management I welcome any suggestions for improvement.

        Del Monte Foods2018-08-25
      • "Field Supervisor/Agronomist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Del Monte Foods

        Pros

        Very professional company in way they operated

        Cons

        Was a very corporate environment

        Del Monte Foods2018-08-03
      • "Great Company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Inventory Control Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Del Monte Foods full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great location, pay is exceptional compared to some other places I have looked at. Flexible hours, and lots of vacation with an option to buy a week unpaid. Company shuts down between Christmas and New Years. Laid back work environment and super nice people.......although some groups seems to be a little cliquey.

        Cons

        Health care is average, and had to switch from UPMC doctors to High Mark ones. head quartered in CA, so they are a lot more concerned with their health coverage, and not many options for employees in PGH

        Advice to Management

        See if they can offer a better variety of Health care.

        Del Monte Foods2018-06-21
      • "Sucks"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Del Monte Foods full-time

        Pros

        There are no pros...

        Cons

        Management is very poor. They under pay you to slave you.

        Advice to Management

        Redo your whole management.. Replace every Supervisor and leads. Start fresh. Show your employees you value them.

        Del Monte Foods2018-07-12
      • "Salaried Employee at Processing Plant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Del Monte Foods full-time

        Pros

        Decent benefits, good first job out of college.

        Cons

        No flexibility in work schedules from August-February. Very unhealthy work environment, everyone is negative and doesn't seem to have a positive outlook for the company or wants to strive for continuous improvement, the overall mood is that canned food isn't doing well in the economy. No work-life balance.

        Del Monte Foods2018-07-10
      • Helpful (1)

        "Dying at your desk is not a retirement option, for m!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Del Monte Foods full-time for more than 19 years

        Pros

        Pension Plan, that's literally it for those hired up until about a year and a half ago. There are summer hours in which you get to leave at 3 PM on Fridays, that is if upper management says OK and lets you.

        Cons

        Rudderless leadership, slow to change, innovates at a glacial pace, 100+ year old company = 100+ year old way of thinking to bring new ideas to market. Lots of clock punchers that have been with this company for many years making SF wages now in Walnut Creek. Poor performers (Sr. Managers) continue to "ride it out" without adding any value to company, as other companies innovate and continue to take market share away...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        I know it's hard, but you need to trust your employees and stop micro-managing to the hilt. There are entire departments that do not care for the management style of checking their work and constantly second guessing and questioning them. Again, the only reason most people are there is for your retirement plan, not because they enjoy being told how to do their job and second guessed at every turn.

        Del Monte Foods2018-06-28
      Found 124 reviews