Delaware County Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Delaware County Community College Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Delaware County Community College CEO Jerome S. Parker
Jerome S. Parker
4 Ratings
  1. "Financial Aid Peer Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Aid Peer Tech in Media, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Delaware County Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great community oriented staff. Diversity, professionalism, and inclusiveness really guide their management.

    Cons

    Any job is a challenge when one is carrying a full time academic course load.

    Delaware County Community College2018-02-08
  2. "Not very busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Math Tutor in Exton, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Delaware County Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was a tutor at the Exton location which wasn't very busy. I had a few drop ins but not too many. The location at Media would probably get more traffic.

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons for this. I guess it is a bit boring sitting around waiting for someone to show up.

    Delaware County Community College2019-09-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Watch out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Delaware County Community College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, the main campus is clean and well cared for.

    Cons

    Clueless leadership. I hear students are number 1 priority but faculty jobs go unfilled and overpaid administration jobs keep being created. Smaller campus locations need attention. Care taking wise.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, especially long time ones who know student needs and go over the top to help. Does the Board have any idea of the current campus climate?

    Delaware County Community College2019-07-29
  4. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Math Tutor in Media, PA

    I have been working at Delaware County Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was an easy job. Pay was fine and my supervisor was nice.

    Cons

    I had to work a lot with very unmotivated and unintelligent students. One student came in and asked me for help without even knowing what homework problem they wanted help with. Another student seemed kind of eager but made me go through every single homework problem with her and it was annoying. A lot of the students were like that.

    Delaware County Community College2019-05-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "great place to serve the communtiy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Delaware County Community College part-time

    Pros

    knowledge you are changing lives

    Cons

    no climbing the ladder unless you kiss butt

    Advice to Management

    get rid of the people who dont care

    Delaware County Community College2018-08-09
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Hostile Work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Media, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Delaware County Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co Workers abd staff in other areas who offer support.

    Cons

    Director who creates hostile environment. Bully who berates in public, uses threats and intimidation to maintain control. Creates spreadsheet of half truths to threaten termination of employment. Rude and abrasive except in presence of college leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Use and pay attention to 360 review of management. Offer a means of reporting abuse.

    Delaware County Community College2018-02-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Faculty 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Delaware County Community College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tremendous diversity in the student population - this is a place to stretch your wings as a teacher to try to cast the wide net.

    Cons

    Many students work full-time or part-time making their class attendance and assignment completion problematic.

    Advice to Management

    Abandon the cold hard line that some administrators preach - these students need more support than is provided. That cold hard line encourages a certain arrogance in the faculty that does not serve students or DCCC very well -

    Delaware County Community College2018-01-12
  8. "Nice place to work and learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - STEM Faculty in Exton, PA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Delaware County Community College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, well structured, academic spirit, fair and professional treatment

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for professional / academic growth and promotions. Management is often rigid, conservative / not flexible enough.

    Advice to Management

    Be more proactive, think more out-of-the box and act fast and efficiently when needed!

    Delaware County Community College2017-12-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "State Grant /Special program specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - State Grant/Special Program Specialist in Media, PA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Delaware County Community College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is a great place to work when you have the right environment

    Cons

    Is that people don't listen to you when you are support staff

    Advice to Management

    To listen and Value your Support Staff

    Delaware County Community College2017-11-17
  10. "Good Coworkers, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Media, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Delaware County Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The students can be tough but there's also a lot of really great kids.

    Cons

    There's a lot of problems with management that trickle down to everyone else.

    Advice to Management

    Increase transparency and decrease internal drama and tension.

    Delaware County Community College2017-09-15
Found 43 reviews