Delaware North Management Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Management

Delaware North Management Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
0%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Delaware North Chairman & CEO Jeremy M. Jacobs
Jeremy M. Jacobs
4 Ratings
  1. "Mostly positive experience working at corporate office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Delaware North full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My contributions were recognized and I received several promotions during my time with Delaware North. It's an exciting industry - I was able to travel to some pretty cool locations including major sporting venues and casinos. I was happy with my pay and benefits. I was eligible for the yearly bonus added several years ago for some employees if the company met certain financial goals. I also enjoyed working in downtown Buffalo.

    Show More

    Cons

    I felt my department was underfunded the past couple of years, including lack of any type of training budget. Many personnel decisions were made which didn't make sense and contributed to morale problems. There were reorganizations every 18 months but I felt it was like rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic. Hours were very long and expectations were very high.

    Advice to Management

    In general, keep doing what you're doing.

    Delaware North2014-12-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Management in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Delaware North full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    there are no pros at all

    Cons

    you are constantly harrassed. Getting any time off is a joke, yet upper management gets every weekend and holiday off

    Delaware North2019-02-17
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Full time corp office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Mid Level Management in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Delaware North

    Pros

    Some of the other mid level people are nice.

    Cons

    One of the worst companies I have ever worked at. The management is super hierarchical. The management at corp office treat the anyone below them as a non-entity. Very rude and dismissive. If you don't suck up you don't rate. Above them the family that own it are never seen and if you do see them on the elevator - no acknowledgement or even a smile. Run. Don't work here if you are a nice person. If you want a snotty arrogant environment this is your place and you will rise.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get out of the penthouse and come meet your actual employees not just your VPs and EVPs. Stop bidding on new work for growth and actually service the clients you do have - you might find you will win more work doing a good job and your clients will become boosters. Your business model now is: win work, ignore it, lose it and won more work. How about win work, grow it, keep it win more work, grow it, keep it - etc etc. you might find you grow from #4 to #1

    Show More
    Delaware North2015-06-11
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Delaware North full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some great managers and properties with great values. OK pay but not great benefits.

    Cons

    Some really shady characters at upper management level and some really horrible units. This company has identity problems in some areas of the country with questionable leadership.

    Advice to Management

    First to take guest path back to Buffalo. It is a joke at unit level as you can try your hardest to come in once a year and push something down your throat. If you want it to be successful stop showing stupid videos and letters of executives at corporate office saying it's important and start practicing it from top down. TOP BEING BUFFALO. Second, stop telling everyone it's a family business. It is more corporate and no one wants to be a part of the Jacobs family as they are so distant and so unlikable. Just greedy people that are more worried about the bottom dollar than the people that are sacrificing for the company. That's not family. The worst part is that they are so out of touch leadership isn't realizing the culture shift.

    Show More
    Delaware North2014-10-24
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Management by intimidation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Kennedy Space Center, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Delaware North full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Not worth it for what they do to you. Have worked 28 hour days (that is not a typo). Everything is political, reviews are not based on objective criteria but how skilled you are at butt kissing. Only company in North America where it's a disadvantage to be male.

    Advice to Management

    Centralize control of the company. Independent COO's = fiefdoms.

    Delaware North2014-05-19
  6. "In general"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Middle Management in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Delaware North for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Descent money if you work weekly.

    Cons

    You are constantly asked to do work that is outside your normal job description. You are allow to eat a hot dog a game if you are working during a game. Work is seasonal with little or no room for growth. They hire and receive money for getting new employees from outside the company which allows little growth within. There is no designated time when you are allowed to leave and are expected to ask permission to leave. Even after working long days. No overtime. Meaning you do not get paid time and a half after working forty or more hours a week unless in union within the company which is not optional.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Play fair.

    Delaware North2013-09-04
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Almost 17 years of Dedication, Disregarded!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Kennedy Space Center, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Delaware North full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They currently operate the Kennedy Space Center for NASA, working there is the great plus!

    Cons

    Due to the economy, major cut backs were initiated at the expense of the customer and many of the great salaried employees who extended hours of effort to satisfy our Guests and NASA, but bottom line was always profit, Greed Path was rampant.

    Advice to Management

    Get back to the serious Guest Path commitment that once prevailed and now has sailed away!

    Delaware North2012-07-13
Found 7 reviews