Delaware River Port Authority Reviews | Glassdoor

Delaware River Port Authority Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
John J. Matheussen
3 Ratings
  1. "Nice people and view. Poor place for advancement and upper management needs to walk in their employees shoes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance in Lewes, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Delaware River Port Authority part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co-workers and a nice view. If you should some how luck into a leprechaun and get full time they do pay for some additional education

    Cons

    Upper management especially ones not at the place of work acts like the understand the daily operation but aren't around to actually see, also open 365 and till 930 during the summer.

    Advice to Management

    Start hiring from with-in. There is a reason you have so much turn over.

    Delaware River Port Authority2017-09-04
  2. "Solid Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Intern Marketing 

      I worked at Delaware River Port Authority for less than a year

      Pros

      Always guidance and support Got a good overview of the company Was able to accomplish tasks that felt meaningful

      Cons

      Sometimes there was not a lot of work to do which left with idle time

      Delaware River Port Authority2019-06-02
    • "Legal Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Delaware River Port Authority

        Pros

        Paid Lunch, Great People, Good Benefits

        Cons

        not enough work for the job, had days just staring at a monitor because they didnt want us doing anything outside the scope of the position

        Delaware River Port Authority2015-11-25
      • Helpful (1)

        "police dispatcher"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Delaware River Port Authority full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        union and healthcare, police officers are friendly and professional. Close to home and very little travel. The people that work in central are nice and professional with little training we receive.

        Cons

        dangerous, no to little training, poor working conditions. Supervisor and management care very little about civilian personnel. They only care about the sworn police officers. no reviews, no quality equipment.

        Advice to Management

        Get rid of sworn officers and let the civilians do the job. pay the people in central more than you currently pay janitors, and toll collectors. have tiered pay levels for employees with longevity. give supervision to the civilians, that way they can give a review more than once every 3 years

        Delaware River Port Authority2015-10-21
      • Helpful (1)

        "CSA"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Delaware River Port Authority

        Pros

        Ok pay Good benefits Ok work environment

        Cons

        Favoritism Lack of understanding Work you like slave

        Delaware River Port Authority2015-08-03
      • "The DRPA does not hire the best qualified people for jobs!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Delaware River Port Authority full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Years ago, the DRPA was a good place to work. At the present time if you do not have any political connections you are OVERWORKED and UNDERPAID.

        Cons

        The politics at the DRPA are so unfair and it made me sick. I resigned due to the unfair and unethical treatment of employees who are not connected to politics. Political employees there receive raises for no reason....they also get promoted when there are no job posted.

        Advice to Management

        Remove politics from this agency!

        Delaware River Port Authority2013-07-10
      • "Really great"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Delaware River Port Authority

        Pros

        great place to work no problems at all super good. I liked it because it was so awesome and I got to be outside. I like the lunch area.

        Cons

        Sometimes, its cold outside or sometimes its warm. In either case, the weather is not fun. Weather isn't always fun but I still like to be outside.

        Advice to Management

        Build a tent or something because being outside is nice but still, the weather is sometimes cold and sometimes warm and it makes me sad to not be the right temperatures.

        Delaware River Port Authority2015-10-09
      • "Recent policy changes have made it somewhat unpleasant to work there"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Delaware River Port Authority

        Pros

        get your foot in the door move up later

        Cons

        it takes a really really really long time to complete the hiring process..

        Advice to Management

        Let middle management do their jobs. Executives are involved in too many projects. this creates major delays in how important issues are processed

        Delaware River Port Authority2011-01-02
      Found 8 reviews