Delaware Technical & Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Delaware Technical & Community College Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Delaware Technical & Community College CEO Mark T. Brainard
Mark T. Brainard
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, fair hours, state job and nice co workers/ employees(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "The work-study position can't be extended into a part-time or full-time employment with the school(in 8 reviews)

  • "Being part time you don't get vacation or benefits(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Newark, DE

    I have been working at Delaware Technical & Community College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful place to work in Delaware

    Cons

    Hard to get a full time position

    Delaware Technical & Community College2018-10-01
  2. "Decent Part-time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Instructor in Dover, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Delaware Technical & Community College part-time

    Pros

    This is a good part-time job as it has a variety of class times available to fit almost any desired schedule.

    Cons

    The college recently cut the academic calendar from 16 weeks to 15 weeks, and has increased the number of seats available in each course. The adjuncts are receiving less pay and spending many additional (unpaid) hours grading more papers per course with the addition of 5-7 students per class. The college also eliminated paid "adjunct engagement hours", which allowed additional time outside the classroom for one on... one tutoring. Student success has been impacted by the elimination of this program.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow adjuncts to teach more than 17 credit hours. Some people are willing to work without benefits.

    Delaware Technical & Community College2019-06-06
  3. "Wish they would hire full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct in Georgetown, DE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Delaware Technical & Community College part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great staff and students to work with.

    Cons

    Hard to get full time

    Advice to Management

    Many good people leave for better paying options.

    Delaware Technical & Community College2019-04-29
  4. "Instructional Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dover, DE
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Delaware Technical & Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone was a team and worked well together

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about working with Deltech. It was a pleasure working with everyeone.

    Delaware Technical & Community College2018-05-17
  5. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Delaware Technical & Community College part-time

    Pros

    Everyone is very nice and helpful. They will respect your opinion and respect you as an educator.

    Cons

    Sometimes important information will be relayed late.

    Delaware Technical & Community College2018-04-12
  6. "Office Support Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Delaware Technical & Community College

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Great bosses Patient during training

    Cons

    The work-study position can't be extended into a part-time or full-time employment with the school.

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully, the policy within the cons section could change, because this is one of the best jobs that I've had. Within my department, all of my coworkers and bosses are professional and courteous.

    Delaware Technical & Community College2018-03-27
  7. "Academic Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Support in Georgetown, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Delaware Technical & Community College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, Benefits, and atmosphere made me enjoy my work every day.

    Cons

    Pay was not on par, or even close to other possible positions elsewhere with similar qualifications.

    Advice to Management

    Pay

    Delaware Technical & Community College2018-03-11
  8. "Delaware Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Delaware Technical & Community College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, nice people, great mission, positive atmosphere and the benefits are good.

    Cons

    Not always easy to advance

    Delaware Technical & Community College2018-02-01

    Delaware Technical & Community College Response

    February 8, 2018Global Team Lead Talent

    Thank you for your review on Glassdoor. We review all feedback and appreciate the time you took to write it.

  9. "Best Thing for the Student?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Georgetown, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Delaware Technical & Community College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1) Helping people to succeed 2) Young adults full-of-life 3) Learning environments are usually positive 3) rewarding 4) always learning something new 5) camaraderie 6) family is important and respected

    Cons

    1) VERY difficult to make change 2) stuck in old ways of doing things 3) more about their image than the student (like it used to be). 4) Not enough budget 5) outdated CMS 6) online classes are not approved and some are built badly 7) professional development is not easy to get approved 8) some employees get special treatment - all employees are not treated the same or required to live by the same rules. 9) not... very progressive 10) waste money paying department chairs to do administrative work

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take instructors advice/recommendations seriously. Consider trying new ideas, or at least following through or replying to ideas/requests. Upper management are not in the classrooms and have been "too removed" from that environment to make up-to-date decisions. PLEEEASE go back to the "Is that the best thing for the student?" model. Make sure that rules are being followed "equally" in different departments. ... Figure out the departments that are not following the "One College" concept.

    Show More
    Delaware Technical & Community College2018-01-08
  10. "Good for a starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Delaware Technical & Community College part-time

    Pros

    The people were the best.

    Cons

    Hard to move up and it was a very very busy department. Being part time you don't get vacation or benefits

    Delaware Technical & Community College2017-11-21
Found 46 reviews