Dell Reviews | Glassdoor

Dell Reviews

Updated September 22, 2017
9,325 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Dell Chairman and CEO Michael S. Dell
Michael S. Dell
5,129 Ratings

9,325 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • One must manage their own work/life balance (in 343 reviews)

  • Upper management isn't listening to concerns (in 133 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (16)

    "Great Technology Company, Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Go-go culture of technology, accountability, and customer focus. Good blend of large company stability and entrepreneurial spirit. Regular "top places to work" for Global companies. Decent compensation and opportunity.

    Cons

    It's a big company that sells consumer and enterprise infrastructure, so not as hip as a start up. Lots of different products, solutions, and business units within the company can make it tough to navigate.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course, they generally have the right ideas and are doing a good job.

    Dell Response

    Jul 3, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a team member at Dell. We value your feedback and appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us (and our followers)!


  2. "District Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Service Manager in Detroit, MI
    Current Employee - District Service Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dell full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Michael Dell as the CEO
    Great Vision for growing and maintaining leadership position
    Always going above an beyond for our customers

    Cons

    Too many products to focus on
    Support organization needs to expand

    Advice to Management

    Ramp up support to continue to maintain high Customer Satisfaction and customer Service experience for all our customers.

    Dell Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for sharing such specific feedback. This is really helpful to our leaders to hear insight from our team members that can be reasonably actionable. We are happy you are part of the team!

  3. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dell full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Environment full of people who are willing to help. You are bound to make at least a handful of friends! Dell works hard to take care of its people, and respond to feedback well.

    Cons

    Ran into a lot of negative attitudes. So many vendors vying for your attention to sell their product

    Advice to Management

    Do not pull Account Managers away from their desks/phones for useless meetings or vendor pitches.

    Dell Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Good luck to you in the future!


  4. "Sales success is becoming more difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Sales Representative in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Software Sales Representative in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits (401K, dental, medical, HSA, etc.)
    Training is good.
    Work-life balance is great if you have the guts to stick to it (most people fall for the carrot).
    Pay is between 36,000 and 60,000 (regardless of education or technical background). Just sell.

    Cons

    Sales management is weak (high school diploma or college drop-outs). They have favorites when it comes to promotions and assigning territory (which determines how your career progresses or ends).
    Sales quota is challenging.
    People with tenure haven't got a raise for years now (as of August 2017).
    Unhealthy internal competition due to different incentive plans for team members.

    Advice to Management

    Sales managers and regional sales managers should be people with decent education and training in organizational behavior and leadership. Vice President level executives have no clear idea what the challenges of front-line salespeople are.

    Keep compensation and a common goal aligned to company strategy. You cannot expect people to play well when they get compensated differently.

    Dell Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for your candid and very specific feedback. Rest assured, this will be shared with HR and our sales leaders. Best of luck to you!


  5. "Pay good, work sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Pay is good and bonus is good. The atmosphere is relaxed and most departments have a flexible work from home option.

    Cons

    Work is mind numbing and promotions are non existent. Have to apply for a new position to get a promotion. Hard work gets you nowhere. Brown nosing gets oyou recognition.

    Advice to Management

    Should try to promote and reward employees for their hard work.

    Dell Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.


  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    culture is good
    benefits are nice

    Cons

    Work life balance is weighted towards work.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent.


  7. "Sr. Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive Assistant
    Current Employee - Senior Executive Assistant
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Work from home accepted, flexible depending on roll, large company with lots of opportunity

    Cons

    Going through some changes due to acquiring EMC

  8. "Overall good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Controller Manager in Plano, TX
    Former Employee - Finance Controller Manager in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dell full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to move around.

    Cons

    Lots of mediocre people camping out at middle levels.

    Dell Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We wish you the best of luck in the future.


  9. "Sr Consultant / Advisory Solutions Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant/Advisory Solutions Architect in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant/Advisory Solutions Architect in Santa Clara, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, work-from-home option, work-life balance

    Cons

    Big company, merger issues, uncertain future, job-safety

    Dell Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for your review - we appreciate the time you took to share with us and our readers.


  10. "Salary expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Dell full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great work place. Friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Less room for innovation and POC.

    Dell Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thanks for the review!


Showing 9,325 of 9,742 reviews
Reset Filters