Dell Reviews | Glassdoor

Dell Reviews

Updated September 23, 2017
3,464 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Dell Chairman and CEO Michael S. Dell
Michael S. Dell
2,070 Ratings

3,464 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • One must manage their own work/life balance (in 346 reviews)

  • Upper management isn't listening to concerns (in 134 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Sales success is becoming more difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Sales Representative in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Software Sales Representative in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits (401K, dental, medical, HSA, etc.)
    Training is good.
    Work-life balance is great if you have the guts to stick to it (most people fall for the carrot).
    Pay is between 36,000 and 60,000 (regardless of education or technical background). Just sell.

    Cons

    Sales management is weak (high school diploma or college drop-outs). They have favorites when it comes to promotions and assigning territory (which determines how your career progresses or ends).
    Sales quota is challenging.
    People with tenure haven't got a raise for years now (as of August 2017).
    Unhealthy internal competition due to different incentive plans for team members.

    Advice to Management

    Sales managers and regional sales managers should be people with decent education and training in organizational behavior and leadership. Vice President level executives have no clear idea what the challenges of front-line salespeople are.

    Keep compensation and a common goal aligned to company strategy. You cannot expect people to play well when they get compensated differently.

    Dell Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for your candid and very specific feedback. Rest assured, this will be shared with HR and our sales leaders. Best of luck to you!


  2. "Pay good, work sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Pay is good and bonus is good. The atmosphere is relaxed and most departments have a flexible work from home option.

    Cons

    Work is mind numbing and promotions are non existent. Have to apply for a new position to get a promotion. Hard work gets you nowhere. Brown nosing gets oyou recognition.

    Advice to Management

    Should try to promote and reward employees for their hard work.

    Dell Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    culture is good
    benefits are nice

    Cons

    Work life balance is weighted towards work.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent.


  4. "Sr. Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive Assistant
    Current Employee - Senior Executive Assistant
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Work from home accepted, flexible depending on roll, large company with lots of opportunity

    Cons

    Going through some changes due to acquiring EMC


  5. "Overall good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Controller Manager in Plano, TX
    Former Employee - Finance Controller Manager in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dell full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to move around.

    Cons

    Lots of mediocre people camping out at middle levels.

    Dell Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We wish you the best of luck in the future.


  6. "Sr Consultant / Advisory Solutions Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant/Advisory Solutions Architect in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant/Advisory Solutions Architect in Santa Clara, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, work-from-home option, work-life balance

    Cons

    Big company, merger issues, uncertain future, job-safety

    Dell Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for your review - we appreciate the time you took to share with us and our readers.


  7. "Salary expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Dell full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great work place. Friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Less room for innovation and POC.

    Dell Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thanks for the review!

  8. "Computer Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is good, salary is paid as per market

    Cons

    Sometimes work load can be hectic however my management is listens to our concerns and help where ever they can

    Advice to Management

    As a legacy EMC employee I hope to have better future with Dell making us one strong company and I wish best of luck to our management to become even more successful in upcoming years.

    Dell Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thanks for your review and sharing your experience with us!


  9. "Senior principal engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Round Rock, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Round Rock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance is great

    Cons

    No personal growth at all.

    Advice to Management

    Grow your in-house talent


  10. "undefined"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dell full-time

    Pros

    There are not much good reasons

    Cons

    There are not many growth opportunities


Showing 3,464 of 9,749 reviews
Reset Filters