Deloitte Reviews in Montreal, QC | Glassdoor

Deloitte Montreal Reviews

Updated 11 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Deloitte CEO Anthony Viel (no image)
Anthony Viel
3 Ratings
  1. "Senior Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work, prestigious, opportunity to travel. Structured advancement.

    Cons

    Too many hours, barriers to transfer to other departments.

    Deloitte2017-06-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Workaholics Paradise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant I in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -learning everyday - Given responsibility from day 1 -Very young environment energetic -Sky is the limit for opportunities and growth - Gain experience in many different industries, will be offered jobs at clients -will make some life long connections

    Cons

    -Very long hours - always chasing management for support. Teach you how to swim by throwing you in Hawaii ocean with no life jacket type of mentality. -Pay is ok for a first job however does not make up for the long hours - 6 month busy seasons at 60hrs plus a week -Under budgeted mandates! Never ending work -Performing well (good) will cause seniors to over delegate. Get stuck working longer hours while seniors... coast or catch up on other mandates. Better to perform mediocre during first couple of years as pay increases for high performers are only marginally greater than low performers as staff

    Show More
    Deloitte2017-05-31
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Support staff member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Support Staff Member in Montreal, QC
    Recommends

    I worked at Deloitte full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful talent you can really learn from Fantastic team of people you can always count on A great place to get your experience and positions you well for next job. Good benefits

    Cons

    Very hierarchical Poor work/life balance takes a toll on your health after awhile. Pressure to do overtime No time off granted for admin staff during busy period, which lasts about 6-7 months Salary increases are small Vacation blackout period for admin staff is unreasonably long (Nov1-July 1) Generally understaffed Deadlines are unrealistic and quality is sometimes sacrificed over volume Year-long... evaluation process is time consuming

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow employees to take up to 1 week off during this period. This would improve morale during the long busy period and would reduce burnout. provide more useful training opportunities for non-CPA staff. Audit needs more staff.

    Deloitte2017-04-15
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great school, but their glory days are in the past"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Montreal, QC
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte full-time

    Pros

    - Looks good on CV - Great new agile offices - Plenty of mobility opportunities if you know the right people - Reimbursement of studies

    Cons

    - A lot of cuts as unrealistic targets were set for 2020. It's going to be grim moving forward. - The bonuses are calculated differently every year so that no one knows how they come up with the number. Basically, if Toronto had a bad year, the whole practice has a bad year. This is despite the fact that your team might have outperformed... doesn't matter. - Performance reviews are based on the whims of your... partner. Each partner is the spokesperson for their team members. If your partner doesn't think much of you, you'll never get that promotion despite the fact that you do more than other people in other teams. Note: the whole performance review process was changed this year. Hopefully it gives everyone a fair chance. - Partners have NO say on your salary. It's decided by people who have never met you. So if you're a new higher, negotiate for a high salary! If not, they'll always keep you in the low ranges of your level and you can never negotiate once you're in. - Extremely long and tedious to change teams. - Best practices are NOT shared. Also, same teams in different offices will work differently and deliver different products for the same job! Extremely difficult to find templates (if there are any). - No IT service. They use Service Now and cut a lot of staff. When I left they were working on one month old tickets. There is NO service. - In some teams you're expecting to work until 6:30-7:00. It looks bad if you leave at 5:00. - Some teams are still very much a boys club. I was sometimes asked to "fix" a Power Point presentation because I was a girl and therefore must be good with visual presentations. It's hard to stand out or fit in if you don't have that cocky attitude which seems to impress many people in upper management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I was told that in the past new employees were all sent to a training center to learn about the company and best practices. This is now gone. It would be worth it to invest a minimum in training new hires. Also, it's very discouraging to hear every quarter that we didn't hit the targets. Maybe they're set a bit too high!? The 2020 targets seem very unrealistic.

    Deloitte2017-01-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good firm overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Deloitte for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learning Opportunities to take on more Working with smart people

    Cons

    a lot of internal politics

    Deloitte2016-12-09
  6. "Audit senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Audit Senior in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn a lot in a short amount of time Work with great and driven professionals

    Cons

    Work lot of hours Deadlines Can be unreasonable

    Advice to Management

    Provide a better work life balance

    Deloitte2016-11-18
  7. "Great career opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing career opportunities, continuous coaching, passionate colleagues that want to drive value at clients.

    Cons

    As for every consulting firm, long hours and you don't always get to choose the project you are on.

    Deloitte2016-11-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Very intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Deloitte

    Pros

    The staff is very young and the atmosphere between the coworkers is most of time great

    Cons

    We worked a lot, sometimes the week end the team spent the whole Sunday at the office. And depending on the client, we could finish very late like until midnight or we could leave earlier but we had to finish our work at home. Heavy workload and a lot of pressure, I saw a few people from the junior staff cried.

    Deloitte2016-10-18
  9. "Sales Coordinator/ Montreal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Coordinator in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Deloitte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New Office, work from home, high standards, good reputation

    Cons

    high pressure, managers have no respect for junior employees. long hours. Pay is average.

    Deloitte2016-10-20
  10. "Senior associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great exposure and available resources

    Cons

    Poor worked hours / salary balance

    Advice to Management

    Improve incentive compensation

    Deloitte2016-07-29
Found 90 reviews