Deloitte Staff Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Staff

Deloitte Staff Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 243 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Deloitte CEO Joe Ucuzoglu - US
Joe Ucuzoglu - US
3 Ratings
  1. "Great experience and exposure, but the company is quite large."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Staff in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte for less than a year

    Pros

    The experience is obviously second to none for accounting. You will experience things at Deloitte that you only would at a few other select employers. Networking experiences are top of the line.

    Cons

    The Big Four is not for everyone. You can feel lost if you are new or are not comfortable working with so many people.

    Advice to Management

    Try to treat your employees as people more than assets on your balance sheet.

    Deloitte2012-12-13
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Staff in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte for less than a year

    Pros

    nice people, down to earth, flexible

    Cons

    work can range from substantial to busy work

    Deloitte2012-11-28
  3. "Good first career experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Staff in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Community, experience, mentorship, learning curve

    Cons

    Hours, office management, inconsistency in work assignments during busy season

    Advice to Management

    During economic downturn, layoffs should take into account the workload left to the remaining associates.

    Deloitte2012-09-26
  4. "A cool place to start..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Staff in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Deloitte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits and Training, Fast paced, great brand

    Cons

    There are times when you work a lot, sometimes until very early in the morning for months at a time.

    Deloitte2012-09-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good on a resume, but not an enjoyable lifestyle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Staff in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good experience for future jobs.

    Cons

    -Worked 80 hours a week 5-6 months of the year. I did not have the opportunity to complete my work for the day and go home, as I was expected to be there as long as my superiors were there, just in case they needed anything. -Tax staff/consultants are not looked at as peers to managers and partners. I often felt like a "worker bee" and did not feel I had the level of respect from many of my superiors that I deserved....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Have standard starting salaries for particular levels of education.

    Deloitte2012-06-28
  6. "I like the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Staff in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte

    Pros

    The great co-workers I have, and the supportive senior management. My engagement teams have been loaded with great people, I look forward to going in and spending most of my week with them.

    Cons

    Idiots up the chain can crap all over you, keep an electronic trail of communication even the informal stuff. Send a follow up email restating what was said and how you are tackling the list. Cover your ass because the incompetent will try blame you to save themselves.

    Deloitte2012-05-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Staff in Baltimore, MD
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte

    Pros

    Learn a lot in a short period of time but that is only because your working more than anyone else. Challenging work Opportunity to create a lot of relationships within deloitte and with the client technical skills orgizational skills

    Cons

    a lot of stress pay is equivlant to a cashier on a per hour basis works is often boring and can often be done by a 3rd grader no bonus appreciation is superficial and isn't customized (mass appreciation) appluase awards given to a whole team not neccessarily the best performers.. consistent with the commnt above

    Advice to Management

    hire more so that enagagements are properly staffed and if not pay mroe to compensate for tremenedous work load,hours and stress.

    Deloitte2012-03-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Place to Start Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Staff in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte

    Pros

    Great experience right away Strong background in accounting CPA Good feedback structure

    Cons

    Promotions are batched Pay is tough and depending on market below other big 4 firms Work load between client engagements is not always fairly distributed

    Advice to Management

    Match compensation practices of other big 4 firms

    Deloitte2012-01-03
  9. "All auditors will work until they burn out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Staff in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte

    Pros

    Unlike other audit firms, Deloitte is more understanding about taking personal time when it is necessary.

    Cons

    Just because you are able to take time off when absolutely needed, does not mean your work disappears. All audit jobs will milk you dry.

    Deloitte2011-05-03
  10. "Huge ups and downs. Definitely love/hate relationship."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Staff in San Jose, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte

    Pros

    Great pay Excellent benefits (pto, discounts, fitness subsidy) Name recognition Exposure to senior management Exposure to various accounting areas Big offices have a very social environment Coworkers tend to be extremely ambitious and intelligent.

    Cons

    The worst thing about this job is the number of hours you put in. At first it's exciting and you couldn't care less. You almost even take pride in working 80+ hrs a week. You feel strong. BUT then as the months go by, you start missing out on life and suddenly it just isnt exciting documenting why a number is or isn't correct, why controls are/aren't effective. Id rather be saving the world. Really. My teams were incredible....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Everyone says nothing can be done in regards to the pressure during busy season. Well since this is the most dreaded time of year, why not dedicate resources to solve this 'impossible' problem. I mean it just seems crazy that 80 hr work weeks have to be the norm. But overall... Good place to work. But oh god so glad I'm actually having dinner with my family instead of with my team.

    Deloitte2011-04-14
Found 243 reviews