Deloitte Tax Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Deloitte Tax Consultant Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 378 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Tax Consultant in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Will be introduced to many different areas of accounting or tax.

    Cons

    Will be asked to put in extra hours with little notice.

    Advice to Management

    Don't over work the good one's!

    Deloitte2017-11-14
  2. "Big 4"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Consultant II in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time

    Pros

    Challenging work, lots to learn, decent pay. Fast paced work and a steep learning curve. Lots of team building events depending on your group.

    Cons

    Younger seniors often don't know how to manage staff other than treating them as deployable resources, almost as if not rigidly enforcing hierarchy to the point of rudeness somehow threatens their position. I think it's partly maturity issues since they're young and often have never worked anywhere else, partly lack of training. Higher ups are much better about this and for the most part treat people with respect regardless...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in teaching seniors how to lead people in addition to projects.

    Deloitte2017-09-28
  3. "Plenty of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Consultant in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and opportunities to try new things

    Cons

    Can be hard to fully detach on PTO

    Deloitte2017-08-23
  4. "Great Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Tax Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Deloitte full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    High performance environment will push you to achieve

    Cons

    the consulting lifestyle is for everyone

    Deloitte2017-08-09
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Undisputed leader? Not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Consultant II in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexibility for some tax consultants. Good starting salary if you have a Masters

    Cons

    Management is disconnected with lower level consultants, promoting unqualified individuals while highly qualified get a 2k raise for their hard work. Don't expect equality or fairness. Networking with the right people will get you further than working hard or meeting charge hour expectation. Most jobs going to India to cut cost, soon out of a job.

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your people and reward according to merit. Take care of your people and they will take care of your clients. Do not pay new hires out of college more than current experienced staff. Cut down on all the programs that make random partner leaders of this and that, use those extra bonuses to reward the staff who actually do the work.

    Deloitte2017-09-09
  6. Helpful (5)

    "3 years ago it was a good company now it's awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Consultant in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great learning experiences, you will learn a lot in a short amount of time. Mainly because you have no choice.

    Cons

    Low pay. Low raises. People are known for favoritism. I've seen a lot of racism happen in both Audit and Tax

    Advice to Management

    Start caring about your employees and create a standard for everyone

    Deloitte2017-07-08
  7. "Tax Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Deloitte is a great opportunity for growth and development. I love the people I work with, and I learn something new every day. I enjoy the fast paced environment and I never feel like I am doing the same thing every day.

    Cons

    The volume of work is very difficult to keep up with. Deloitte is a very fast paced environment. The work will never end, so i find it difficult to manage my work-life balance in order to feel like i am not falling behind in work.

    Advice to Management

    Throughout the past year, there has been a perception that the upper management team is not fully transparent. As the practice has aimed to resolve this issue, I appreciate the efforts.

    Deloitte2017-06-30
  8. "Good Company, no work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great place to network and gain experience - Great stepping stone

    Cons

    - No work-life balance - Work is 70+ hours a week during busy season - Low salary compare to other big 4

    Advice to Management

    - Try to keep current talent, too much turn-over

    Deloitte2017-06-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Tax Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    fringe benefits/soft factors: in-house food, travel accommodations, liberal use of corporate card; ability to work remotely, technology, reputation

    Cons

    hours expectations; lack of transparency in decision making; never-ending amounts of mundane/administrative work; unnecessary meetings

    Advice to Management

    keep junior employees informed

    Deloitte2017-05-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Tax Consultant Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Tax Consultant Intern in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Deloitte for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Excellent leadership, technology, and workspace.

      Cons

      As an intern, managers throw you into the fire but help you along the way.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you are doing.

      Deloitte2017-04-24
    Found 378 reviews