Deloitte Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Deloitte Project Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Deloitte CEO Joe Ucuzoglu - US
Joe Ucuzoglu - US
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Somewhat satisfied but at the end of the day - you're a robot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, smart people, some perks

    Cons

    Egos, difficult to get promoted/raise unless you bring in significant business, too large to impact. Cliques. No one has a mind of their own.

    Advice to Management

    Just because you were abused as an analyst or by a Managing Director, it doesn't mean you should replicate that nasty behavior once you get promoted. Managers/Sr Managers, Principals - Stop sucking up during holiday parties and social outreach events. You will get the attention you deserve once you make your MD look good while sacrificing everything.

    Deloitte2014-03-14
  2. "All the pros and cons you would expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Lots of opportunitites to get involved -Global opportunitites -Diverse workforce -Challenging projects

    Cons

    -Takes a long time to get things done. Leadership by consensus -Annual reorgs -Managing your own career fosters competition vs. teaming

    Deloitte2013-09-17
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Federal Sector experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some amazingly smart people at Deloitte. It's a great place to get experience and learn from the best.

    Cons

    Work life balance isn't great but the biggest issue is once you're in, they don't compensate you well. They do start salaries off high but if you were part of an acquisition you're in trouble. They don't seem to care that it costs more to lose and replace a good employee than it does to compensate them well. Also, because it's an accounting driven member firm, leadership keeps things VERY close to the chest. As a... Sr. Manager I had no clue what my direct reports made unless they told me. Radical changes happen without notice and I have no trust in the HR folks. I would never go to them with an issue because it's very clear that they are just there to protect their leaders.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To the upper management: Be more transparent and compensate your long-timers better.

    Deloitte2013-07-31
  4. "Great people, challenging business problems and exposure to different points of view."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Deloitte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The working relationships I have formed will stay with me well into the future.

    Cons

    There is a disconnect between senior leadership and everyone else. Extremely complex organization structure. Too many managers and not enough resources to complete the project work.

    Deloitte2013-04-24
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Struggling..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    (1) Amazing colleagues. (2) Outstanding portfolio of work to choose from and encouragement to try different projects. (3) A multitude of activities outside of client work to get involved in, both to grow your career and to get to know your colleagues. (4) Solid benefits to include more than generous leave and support/funding of certifications and higher level education.

    Cons

    (1) Expectations: in addition to averaging 40 hour client weeks, staff are expected to put in a BARE MINIMUM of 5-10 hours weekly in additional contributions. So to be an "average" employee - you're expected to put in no less than 45 hours and most likely 50 for most career models. (2) New compensation philosophy with more of a focus on bonuses. Although in principal a good concept, the majority of the pot is... reserved for "top performers" and with a sea of type-A, high performers....most folks aren't going to be a "top performer" in Deloitte's eyes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate your career models, expectations and new compensation philosophy.

    Deloitte2012-08-22
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Consultant/Project Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte

    Pros

    Strong reputation, incredibly sharp people, diverse internal culture, outstanding training/mentoring programs available.

    Cons

    Very long hours and extensive travel, which are generally offset by generous paid-time-off policy.

    Advice to Management

    I feel that Deloitte's leadership team is doing a very good job with creating a challenging environment in which to work, as well as allowing for a decent work/life balance.

    Deloitte2010-06-24
  7. "Great organization - very smart people - extremely professional - fabulous opportunity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte

    Pros

    Amazing infrastructure; extremely professional atmosphere and good opportunities for improving skills and experience.

    Cons

    Very intense subtext. Lots of strong personalities. Very long hours.

    Advice to Management

    Better mentoring would be very helpful in my opinion. Deloitte is a great organization but can be difficult to connect in a virtual environment.

    Deloitte2009-07-11
  8. "Good bt good be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte

    Pros

    well educated people that are ambitious

    Cons

    long hours with unfair related compensation

    Advice to Management

    staff retention

    Deloitte2009-07-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place, Where Networking Trumps Everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Hartford, CT
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte

    Pros

    - Great career opportunities in IT, audit, tax - Good pay, compared to other IT consulting companies (Accenture, IBM, etc) - You can use a combination of technical and business knowledge in solving client problems. It is not one or the other. - They try to staff projects regionally. This reduces cross-country travel. - The general work and travel environments are good.

    Cons

    - Project staffing as well as career rise is driven more by who you know than your competence. Deloitte has taken the "networking is everything" sentiment too far. - Projects, typically, are short (3 months or so). Therefore, there is a constant need to work to get the next project. - Regional staffing, combined with a who-you-know model, feels a bit like nepotism. Regional staffing also has a positive (see above).... - Not much offshore development

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Deloitte feels like a tradiitional consulting company, i.e., they way consulting was ten years ago. It needs to become more process-driven, less relationship driven.

    Deloitte2008-07-24
  10. "Huge projects, great learning, smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people who want to deliver A company with money to spend on projects Pay well, train well

    Cons

    Disjointed company silos Every partner feels they need to have input to a project Too much money means they aren't afraid to shut down huge projects mid delivery Work teams hard and expect long hours

    Advice to Management

    Ring fence the partners who should be influencers, and get buy-in/agreement of others they will not interfere with projects Implement collaboration tools Create "One Deloitte" to break down the siloed mentality

    Deloitte2019-10-17
Found 85 reviews