Deloitte "working hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Deloitte Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28168 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Exhausting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 

    I worked at Deloitte full-time

    Pros

    Great pay & great benefits

    Cons

    (1) I typically worked 60 hours a week and traveled every week; (2) I dealt with a multitude of people at a high level who wanted you to work hours that were not reported; (3) Some of the people I worked with acted like they were in high school (very gossipy).

    Deloitte2019-03-13
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 

    I worked at Deloitte full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place for Career development

    Cons

    Long work hours at times

    Deloitte2019-02-01
  3. "Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Deloitte full-time

    Pros

    Great place to learn knowledge

    Cons

    Long working hours and tight deadlines

    Deloitte2018-12-14
  4. "Good finishing school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great ecosystem and existing infrastructure

    Cons

    Never ending crazy work hours. 60 hours is a good week 70-90 plus travel is typical. I was doing this plus cross country travel and it really takes a toll on health and relationships.

    Advice to Management

    Take hours into account as not everyone is pulling their weight and others are pack camels who are suffering. Expectations are often unrealistic and unreasonable. As a leader see what is causing an employee to under perform as it’s probably exhaustion.

    Deloitte2018-12-24
  5. Helpful (10)

    "People stay for the promotions, but don't like their jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Federal Consultant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pays well. Fantastic social impact and pro-bono consulting work. Smart, driven, passionate people work here and show up every day ready to accomplish whatever's ahead of them, which is inspiring

    Cons

    Peer competition is terrifyingly ever-present. You are constantly presented with firm initiatives (volunteer roles), that easily count for an extra 15% of your weekly working hours. Then, you're obligated to network to maintain a positive relationship with colleagues and find new projects, which is another 5-15% of your weekly working hours. All in all, you invest a lot of your time into making people happy, being...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Tailor your talent system to encourage creativity in client services, rather than peer competition or inauthentic personalities. Reduce utilization expectations, encourage people to take their PTO, and implement more oversight over hours invested into firm initiatives. No one should spend 10+ hours a week on firm initiatives or networking, it is a distraction from well being and client service. Reduce client service...

    Show More
    Deloitte2018-12-03
  6. "Good culture but long working hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, sharp learning curve,

    Cons

    Long working hours, compensation is relatively low compare to industry

    Deloitte2018-12-07
  7. "Great Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to begin your career. Good exposure in work engagements and numerous client facing opportunities early in the career. Benefits are excellent.

    Cons

    Extended working hours and travel. Opportunities to change clients gets limited based on the industry, account and type of work you do.

    Deloitte2018-12-05
  8. "Good Career Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Rosslyn, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big company A lot of project choices Great on resume

    Cons

    Culture can be cut throat Long work hours Not competitive with pay

    Deloitte2018-12-14
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deloitte full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is possible to grow fast in the organization. Its all about networking

    Cons

    Not great for working mothers Requires mandatory long working hours

    Deloitte2018-11-27
  10. "Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Deloitte full-time

    Pros

    Fast learning environment/good company resources

    Cons

    very very long working hours

    Deloitte2018-11-25
Found 28168 reviews