Delta Air Lines "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Delta Air Lines Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
89%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Delta Air Lines CEO  Ed Bastian
Ed Bastian
1,013 Ratings
  1. "Engineering Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Delta Air Lines

    Pros

    You will participate in interesting work and be treated as any other full time employee. You will often interact with maintenance personal and the engines. Flight benefits are an incredible privilege.

    Cons

    The work includes a lot of paperwork and digging through manuals to determine maintenance requirements and FAA restrictions. Moreover, because Delta hires a great number of co-ops, the rate of returning as full-time employees is not high.

    Continue reading
    Delta Air Lines2018-02-06
  2. "Break into the Aerospace Industry, but Beware of Contract Positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Contract Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Delta Air Lines for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of opportunities available in different engineering departments - Easy to change departments to learn different skills - Varied work, opportunities to see all parts of the airplane - Opportunities to get hands on: component shops, engine maintenance and hangars allow you to see and touch all parts of the airplane - Open attitude toward internal movement and growth - Healthy work/life culture - Many, many experienced engineers to learn from - Great gym

    Cons

    - Delta uses a subsidiary, Delta Global Staffing, to employ contractors: health benefits, HR and other employee self-service tasks are managed completely separate from Delta and far inferior. - With two years contract experience, I applied to an internal, full-time position and failed the "personality test". I was blacklisted from applying to any new jobs for six months. This applies to outside hires as well. - Full-time employees get yearly raises (~3-6%) and once yearly bonuses (profit sharing) roughly 10-20% of your yearly income; contractors get neither but do many of the exact same jobs. - Contractors do not get automatic raises, and when you do, they are extremely stingy as there is no standard raise policy. You have to argue very hard and have no performance requirements to fall back on to explain your reasoning, which brings me to my next point... - There are no performance reviews for contractors. Professional growth for contractors is ignored. You must apply to a full time position to begin seeing the possibility of a promotion.

    Continue reading
    Delta Air Lines2018-01-25
  3. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Delta Air Lines part-time

    Pros

    Great interaction with the public. Job also has great travel benefits

    Cons

    The job has long hours. Also advancement in to full time employment is a long and slow process.

    Continue reading
    Delta Air Lines2018-01-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "theres good and bad with any job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RR/CSA in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Delta Air Lines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company to work for I love my Delta family we work hard and play harder..... Taking amazing trips(anywhere and everywhere) meeting any and everybody at any given time is awesome..... I truly couldn't ask for a better company to work for....... Everyday is different

    Cons

    well there's only a few cons being a Part time Ready Res employee can be hard 2 years and I'm already at my tap out pay meaning I WILL NOT get another rise anytime soon..... Getting days off can be tricky if not nearly impossible if your co workers cant work for you... no matter how hard you work the full time employees are treated as the golden children ( 3 vacations a year ability to get days off when needed ETC) while part time works are treated like dirt. a 30 year employee making twice as much as you are has the ability to do whatever they want while you part time workers are getting paid half that amount and expected to do the work the others dont want to do...... Managers have lied in order to cover self....... HARD TO ADVANCE IF YOUR NOT BUDDY BUDDY WITH SOMEONE WHO KNOWS SOMEONE WHO KNOWS SOMEONE MUST KISS UP TO GET WHERE YOUR TRYING TO GO

    Continue reading
    Delta Air Lines2017-12-04
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Best airline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Airport in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Delta Air Lines part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Delta offers its employees a highly competitive compensation package and flight benefits. Being a non-union airline sets them apart from the rest. I highly recommend this company.

    Cons

    Ready reserve employees get the short end of the stick when it comes to schedules and pay. They are required to do the exact same work as full time benefitted employees for a fraction of the wages.

    Delta Air Lines2017-10-13
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Lossing Brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Delta Air Lines part-time

    Pros

    The benefits and the strong name it was build on or up too.

    Cons

    You get hurt, it's covered up. Death become the norm co-wks die here physical wk to much on body. Ready Reserve worker's over worked than full time employees. They will let u go when u get hurt on job which no fault of your own. They don't help disable if you become ill. Very secretive to keep imagine.

    Continue reading
    Delta Air Lines2017-11-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Ramp Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Delta Air Lines part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company and a great place to work

    Cons

    everything is seniority based and sometimes the part time employees do harder work then some full-time employees

    Delta Air Lines2017-11-02
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Dead-End Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent - Ready Reserve in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Delta Air Lines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flight Benefits and pay that stays the same theoughout your career. $17.32

    Cons

    -no flexibility -hard to trade shifts -bad management -favoritism -slave labor preferential treatment to full-time -no union - no health insurance -bad workplace environment -not a fun place to work -company culture is that benefits go to upper management and bottom tier employees are put last

    Continue reading
    Delta Air Lines2017-12-03
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Management that sets employees up for failure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gate Agent in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Delta Air Lines part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits that allow you travel on their airline and others for a reduced rate of purchase to fly standby

    Cons

    Pay and the only option for incoming terminal employees is part time hourly with no benefits. You have to wait for a full time employee to transfer, quit or retire in order to get a full time position as they hardly add new ones. In Detroit the waiting list for ready reserves (Delta’s version of part time) that want to become full time is 2 1/2 years long. Management doesn’t care for success of individuals and creates a culture of fear in its employees. Employees are afraid to speak out against injustice because they fear being targeted, singled out and terminated. This is the norm for other employees who has spoken out. Employees are bullied by middle management while upper management turns a blind eye and they don’t have adequate hr to protect and support them. In Detroit for the entire terminal there’s only one hr primary contact person. That’s hundreds of employees and only one person to represent them. Unacceptable for a Fortune 500 company that has over 80k employees. They bully their hourly employees who want union protection to fight on their behalf for better wages, work environment and benefits. The ability to transfer to another department ( ex: terminal or customer service to general Office or corporate) is non existent regardless of your education and background. I have a MBA and tried for 2 years before I left to get a better suited position but was stuck working part time. This is a common sentiment at Delta and I’ve seen them lose great employees because of this. We’re leaving (not fired) because we’re not being appreciated and treated like valued employees.

    Continue reading
    Delta Air Lines2017-12-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Delta Air Lines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Delta Air Lines part-time

    Pros

    -Benefits -Work Environment -The ability to swap days off effortlessly -hundreds of employees; meet some great people working here

    Cons

    - Working in all weather elements - the occasional set of workers who try to do nothing all day - Ready Reserve workers hourly wage freezes until you get full-time. -No health benefits for Ready Reserve

    Continue reading
    Delta Air Lines2017-11-03
Found 147 reviews