Deltak Reviews | Glassdoor

Deltak Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Craig Pines
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Growth is Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maitland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deltak full-time

    Pros

    - High growth - Rewarding work that makes a difference in someone's life - Awesome schools signing as partners - Flexible working environment - Excellent benefits to include great vacation policy

    Cons

    - Not so much a con, but the organization is navigating transitions within Wiley and scaling operations within the division - this is just change, not a con

    Advice to Management

    - You have made progress in communicating what is going on, how we are evolving and where we are going - KEEP IT UP

    Deltak2016-01-08
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deltak

    Pros

    If you want to work for a company that is working on the forefront of technology and education, this is the place. Wiley Education Solutions (formerly Deltak) works with some of the most prestigious Universities in the US. The best part about working here is the culture. Everyone has a passion for the business and they've created a solid work environment that is centered around positivity, collaboration, performance,...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be difficult to understand how our business unit fits into the Wiley organization. Continued education to current employees is necessary.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on culture.

    Deltak2015-12-07
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deltak part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really impressive, healthy culture. Unlike anything I have ever seen before.

    Cons

    Some areas offer more potential for growth than others.

    Deltak2014-09-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Deltak is a fabulous place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Services Employee in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deltak full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a chance to work with people who are not just intelligent and capable, but friendly, positive, and caring. Superb culture and collaborative environment. Flexible work conditions which allow individuals to produce their best work.

    Cons

    The company is rapidly growing, so it is hard to find time and space to share ideas across the company. The onboarding could be improved. Teams can get silo-ed.

    Advice to Management

    Make more time and space for cross-department and cross-team collaboration. Make sure that there are enough resources to accommodate the growth. Assign another employee (not just the manager) to help during the onboarding process.

    Deltak2014-03-12
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Great company with even great potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Maitland, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Deltak

    Pros

    Employees are treated very fairly with excellent pay and excellent work/life balance. Employees are expected to work hard and are able to play hard. Paid time off is generous and ability to adjust your schedule when needed is almost always available. Fun environment and casual but professional atmosphere.

    Cons

    The company is growing rapidly so still figuring a few things out. Good part about this is they do seek and pay attention to feedback from employees.

    Deltak2012-05-20
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Fun environment with a lot of hard working people who have a passion for what they do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Deltak

    Pros

    Great co-workers Great benefits Employee recognition and career planning We get to help people further their education and I truly believe that this company is improving higher education

    Cons

    Location (driving to Oak Brook from the city is a rough commute) Staffing can't always keep up with growth so workload can be heavy

    Advice to Management

    Communication has improved, but more regular communication about what's happening in the company would be great. There's a lot of exciting things going on and people want to know.

    Deltak2012-05-04
  7. "Learning Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Deltak full-time

      Pros

      Great experience working with fellow LTs.

      Cons

      No professional development plan for LTs

      Deltak2018-06-23
    • Helpful (3)

      "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Deltak for more than a year

      Pros

      They offer good work life balance

      Cons

      sometimes you'll be overlooked for a promotion, despite your qualifications and efforts... in my case it was given to someone who knew the president of the company

      Deltak2015-08-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Hard Work Pays Off"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Deltak full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great place to work with a proven method to help students get the education they need for successful careers. Management is supportive with a clear vision.

      Cons

      Goals are high, so hard work pays off. The downside is when targets are missed - expect to see some "adjustments" that weed out poor performers. The culture is not for independent thinkers.

      Advice to Management

      Follow your mission statement. Reward entrepreneurial spirit again and embrace new ideas.

      Deltak2015-07-01
    • Helpful (3)

      "Good company, but culture change putting company on a dangerous path"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Program Manager in Oak Brook, IL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Deltak full-time

      Pros

      - Young, energetic, intelligent and professional employees. - Flexible schedules. - up to 24 PTO (plus holidays) off - strong salary and excellent insurance - unique growth options (admissions/sales into operations, HR, marketing, business/corp development, client outreach, media services, ID) - good middle management and excellent executive leadership

      Cons

      - Culture slowly from one of employee growth to fiscal growth focus, making it harder to buy into the job. It has caused recent turnover on the admissions and marketing teams. - The company has not been able to appropriately scale growth. Some of the goals across various departments have become nearly unachievable. - interview process is 4-7 interviews that can take 6 weeks to 4 months.

      Advice to Management

      Be wary of the recent culture changes that have been made. We realize we are a for-profit company and Wiley needs to keep its stock price in the green, but you should never sacrifice company culture and employee morale to make a quarterly report briefly look better. Don't trade your long term company and employee development to exceed an immediate revenue goal. Doing so will result in further turnover.

      Deltak2015-06-26
    Found 29 reviews