Cover image for Deluxe Corporation
Logo

Deluxe Corporation

Engaged Employer

Deluxe Corporation

Add a Review

Deluxe Corporation Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 1, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 900 of over 900 reviews
3.3
53% Recommend to a Friend
Deluxe Corporation CEO Barry McCarthy
58% Approve of CEO

Found 29 of over 900 reviews

3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Deluxe Corporation CEO Barry McCarthy
Barry McCarthy
207 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

17d

a 

Commercial Customer Service Representative

What’s the best way to have a lack of compensation and incentive conversation in your department? I went above and beyond for years doing extra work, organizations etc and nothing has been reflected in pay. I thought my 5 year was going to finally show something but it did not. I’ve inquired about pay but it’s gotten nowhere.

30

7 Comments

Finance

115K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Deluxe Corporation~198
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management and HR, lots of miscommunications(in 60 reviews)
  • "They have bad managers and leads in place who point fingers in order to get through layoff season .(in 29 reviews)
  • "Annual layoffs in certain areas limit the ability to drive success of some projects(in 27 reviews)
  • "Upper management thinks they are amazing but since they took over the reigns the only thing to show is a failing business with no growth in site.(in 20 reviews)
  • "The senior leadership tends to lose focus of what is important and senseless processes get in the way of your day to day.(in 17 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Deluxe Corporation and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Solid company - 5+ year employee review

    Nov 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Have been here over 5 years and it's done very well for me. Was able to move from a basic inbound sales job and have had 3 pay grade promotions along with yearly salary increases. If you don't mind doing the same thing all day long inbound sales or customer service may be for you.

    Cons

    Very sales focused on the sales floor. Some disconnect between what upper management wants versus how it goes for sales reps and customer service reps. Not flexible at all with emergencies as they use a point system for absences.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    If you're a great employee, don't work here

    Oct 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you look hard enough, there are some smart and driven people.

    Cons

    Terrible work environment. No respect between internal teams. Managers are put to manage teams and don't understand what they actually do on a day-to-day basis and they aren't held accountable to actually learning it. There is zero culture. Decisions from upper management are only made to improve revenue. No accountability for bad work or bad attitudes. Zero formal training or learning. The only time you'll move up is when they dump extra work on you with no additional support or training and then they expect you to be appreciative.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Deluxe Corporation team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Not bad, but not great

    Jul 22, 2021 - PCI Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not a bad place to work if you end up on a good team. I was offered a competitive salary so the lack of pay raises that other more tenured employees have flagged hasn’t affected me yet. I have flexible hours, am able to work from home, and a manager who cares about keeping their employees happy. So a good place if you land in the right spot.

    Cons

    401k match still frozen. CEO and upper management seem aloof to employee concerns. I also started during the pandemic when everybody was remote and there was absolutely no virtual orientation for new employees to learn about the company, so I still can’t say I know what the office culture is like or what all the lines of business do.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Deluxe Corporation Response

    Employment Brand Marketing Specialist

    We appreciate you leaving feedback. The pandemic weighed heavy on our Deluxers, but we are excited to be in a position to bring back many of the benefits our employee-owners appreciate and deserve such as; 401(k) match, merit increases and YouShine recognition points. As you know, we are beginning to gradually transition our workforce to a hybrid model and are excited to give our Deluxers the opportunity to safely work face-to-face with colleagues again (or, for the first time!)

  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Horrible - STOP OUTSOURCING JOBS!

    Jul 19, 2021 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home Nice employees Good 401K

    Cons

    After 20+ years of service, pay is NOT in line with other companies that offer a higher hourly rate for new employees...making years of service obsolete. In the last year, a ton of jobs have been outsourced to off shore countries, such as India and Dominican Republic. Employee years of service and skill set is NOT appreciated by upper management AT ALL. Hard to get time off. Minimal slots are given and you have to fight for days off. If you need one and it is not available, you get an absence. The point system for absences is ridiculous. Completely micromanaged environment. Changes to company guidelines are not considerate of employee needs. The systems they use, such as the point system for absences was changed recently and is VERY strict. Not only that, it was communicated a WEEK or less before the start date. This is not a family or a team oriented company. Everyone is just a number.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Ok Place to work

    Feb 4, 2021 - Senior IT Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Immediate Manager was the best I ever worked for

    Cons

    Upper Management only cares about the almighty $

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Deluxe Corporation Response

    Employment Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your experience, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed working with your immediate manager at Deluxe. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Terrible Company

    Dec 8, 2019 - Inbound Customer Service Representative in Lancaster, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sometimes there are bonuses if you meet the impossible sales goals.

    Cons

    Impossible to meet sales goals. Really poor benefits and wages. No work-life balance. Upper management is on a power-trip. HR Rep is rude and doesn't care. No opportunity for growth. Training is long and boring.

    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Out of control as the company still struggles to determine direction.

    Sep 8, 2018 - Marketing in Shoreview, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good salary, benefits and and some good people.

    Cons

    Lack of company purpose and brand creates misguided direction by leadership. Upper management frantic to keep their jobs. Always emergency status where teams drop everything and put all focus on a pet project yet still try to maintain current project deadlines. Chaos, confusion and a toxic environment. To much time required documenting and protecting self in this (CYA) environment. Some unethical business practices. It's time to clean house.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Deluxe Rewards was good- but now a failing business

    Feb 22, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people and atmosphere were amazing- until all of a sudden it wasn't. Pay is decent. Benefits were awesome.

    Cons

    Every 2 months there is a major strategy change. Pick a strategy and see it through. If you can't keep clients, sign on new ones or grow the business something is majorly wrong. Upper management thinks they are amazing but since they took over the reigns the only thing to show is a failing business with no growth in site. Not something I would be proud of or a company I would want to join. No positions are being backfilled and they are hoping for natural attrition to avoid layoffs.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Account Manager

    Nov 15, 2017 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Health ins and 401k are good

    Cons

    Upper management is our if touch with the real day to day battle in the marketplace. Too many internal changes with little notice to employees and no thought to the ramifications of those changes.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A Culture Of Unprofessionalism

    Sep 6, 2017 - Quality Assurance Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Pay and Benefits package

    Cons

    The Atlanta office is a model of unprofessionalism. A common mode of communication is "yelling"! This behavior is the norm for the Bankers Dashboard team & is exhibited by development, the business analyst as well as supervisors. The only group held accountable is the QA team. Poorly written business requirements\acceptance criteria are common practice and when you seek clarification you are vilified. This was the single worst experience in my 25 years of working in corporate America. As a person of color I have never had a manager tell me using the rest room during a 4-5 hour sprint ceremonies gave the impression I was disengaged & not concerned with my job. When my White peers used the restroom the same conclusions were not drawn. Upper management can’t see the forest for the trees as they think the extremely high turnover rate is normal for software development.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Deluxe Corporation Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Deluxe Corporation? Share Your Experiences

Deluxe Corporation logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Deluxe Corporation Photos

+ Add Photo
Deluxe Corporation photo of: #OneDeluxe
Deluxe Corporation photo of: Our run club ran in honor of Pride.
Deluxe Corporation photo of: President and CEO, Barry McCarthy, presenting our NEW Downtown Minneapolis location at a press release.
Deluxe Corporation photo of: #OneDeluxe
Deluxe Corporation photo of: #OneDeluxe
Deluxe Corporation photo of: Filming a culture video for our Lenexa, KS office.
Deluxe Corporation photo of: 2019 Student Career Fair
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Deluxe Corporation Job Seekers Also Viewed

UnitedHealth Group Logo
UnitedHealth Group

3.5

15,243 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 900 Deluxe Corporation reviews submitted anonymously by Deluxe Corporation employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Deluxe Corporation is right for you.