KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Democracy Prep Public Schools

Engaged Employer

Democracy Prep Public Schools

Add a Review

Democracy Prep Public Schools Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Oct 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 85 of over 348 reviews

3.3
62%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Democracy Prep Public Schools CEO Natasha Trivers (no image)
Natasha Trivers
83 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,892

960 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours: school day really started at 7:30am and kids did not leave until 4pm.(in 41 reviews)
  • "absolutely no work life balance(in 23 reviews)
  • "Extra Long Hours(in 20 reviews)
  • "Many school counselors and social workers do not follow up with chronically absent children and leadership doesn't help.(in 15 reviews)
  • "behavior management throughout the school was horrible, and kids were constantly getting removed from the classroom and sent to an overcrowded DREAM room(in 5 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Democracy Prep Public Schools and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Run, don't walk

    May 17, 2022 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good at training teachers and providing extra work for staff.

    Cons

    Long hours which make the high pay become low when you do all the calculations of hours you put into. Some staff members are uptight. They can fire you anytime they want. When they don't like a teachers, it is very easy to let someone goes because it is at will contract.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Pretty Typical No Excuse Charter School

    Mar 8, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Staff who care New Parental Leave plan Professional development opportunities Decent pay Not afraid to try something new Open to ideas Holidays and summer off

    Cons

    On your feet most of the day Lunch break isn't guaranteed - most don't have one Can take only 5 days off (including sick days) Very little time for breaks Long hours for teachers and students

    11 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Teacher

    Feb 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Professional Development - 3 Doctor Days a year (get to leave 1PM) - Opportunities to grow - Team oriented

    Cons

    - Long hours (7:15-5PM) - Saturday School (5-7 times a year) - Only 5 sick days - Micromanaging

    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great experience not sustainable

    Oct 11, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great weekly professional development that helps prepare you for the classroom

    Cons

    long hours and saturday commitments

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Apply if you are just getting started, but if you have experience don't!! You will be appreciated elsewhere:)

    Aug 3, 2019 - Operations Manager in Camden, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary Ability to work with youth

    Cons

    Principals are biased and inexperienced. HR lacks confidentiality and the ability to support staff. HR allows leadership to make decisions based on personal dislikes that create a high turnover and a hostile work environment. Life/work balance does not exist due to long hours and a lack of respect for personal obligations.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Stressful and Long Hours

    May 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Provided with whatever materials needed for classes - Semi-Weekly coaching meetings - Great benefits/ decent pay

    Cons

    - Coaching evaluations were unreliable furthermore often only 5 minutes of evaluations once a week - No work life balance - Long hours and even longer to do lists - Expected to answer work phone and emails on nights and weekends - Only 5 days of vacation/sick days - Highly stressful environment

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Eh....

    Mar 7, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay, good benefits, laptop provided

    Cons

    Very long hours and lots of things to juggle

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Operations

    Oct 24, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've met amazing individuals who have helped me grow professionally.

    Cons

    Hours are very long so make sure to have a work life balance that caters to your health. Not enough support when needed. It will all depend on your leadership whether or not you will love going to work.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Democracy Prep Public Schools Response

    Recruitment Outreach Associate

    Thank you so much for leaving this review. We love talented DREAM team members and we are committed to developing our educators. You are right; DPPS’ hours are longer than the standard. We make this invest of time and talent in support of the scholars we educate. Nevertheless, , we remain committed to the overall sustainability of our work. Our campus-based educators work in partnership with our charter management organization provides growth opportunities and additional bandwidth. At DPPS, we believe in the importance of proactively addressing employee concerns, and we will share your feedback with our Human Resources team.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Current

    Oct 20, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Democracy Prep is a warm collaborative environment that blends the right amount of structure (providing a clear framework for leaders) and autonomy. I feel valued and respected as a leader who has original ideas and knows her school context best.

    Cons

    The level of urgency is high. It is an intense place to work. We put in long hours and we are constantly looking at data and asking ourselves what we could do better in service of kids.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    It's a Charter School

    Oct 14, 2019 - Teacher, Elementary School in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Structures and systems are in place so everything is mostly organized Lessons were provided Most resources were covered and provided for Coaching (although a very particular charter school style) Tuition reimbursement for grad school

    Cons

    Long hours: school day really started at 7:30am and kids did not leave until 4pm. We were all tired by 2pm that the rest of the day that it felt like an absurd joke Work life balance: there was little balance, the day is long and then all the work and grading you have to do after made it difficult, the school would also demand an extra 40 hours you work throughout the year. That meant things like tutoring after school, Saturday school Inflexibility with teachers and their choices/decisions they made for their classrooms: everything had to be the same otherwise you were chastised or criticized for it Not a strong community culture but this depends on the school

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 85 Reviews

Popular Careers with Democracy Prep Public Schools Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Democracy Prep Public Schools? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Democracy Prep Public Schools

167 days ago

Culture
Setting The PACE: Making Sure All Scholars Thrive In The Classroom
Shared image - Setting The PACE: Making Sure All Scholars Thrive In The Classroom
Setting The PACE: Making Sure All Scholars Thrive In The Classroom
blog.democracyprep.org
See all

Democracy Prep Public Schools Photos

+ Add Photo
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: 100% going to college!
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: Democracy Prep teachers in professional development, excited to share a love of learning.
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: Greeting scholars as they prepare to take on the day.
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: College pride at Harlem Prep High.
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: A happy elementary classroom!
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: Writing skills are incorporated into every subject, in every grade.
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: A focused and engaged classroom.
See All Photos