Cover image for Democracy Prep Public Schools
Logo
See All Photos

Democracy Prep Public Schools

Engaged Employer

Democracy Prep Public Schools

Add a Review

Democracy Prep Public Schools Employee Reviews about "scholars"

Updated Apr 16, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 363 of over 363 reviews
3.2
51% Recommend to a Friend
72% Approve of CEO

Found 18 of over 363 reviews

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Democracy Prep Public Schools CEO Natasha Trivers (no image)
Natasha Trivers
87 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,937

976 Comments

Teachers

201.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Democracy Prep Public Schools~284340
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours: school day really started at 7:30am and kids did not leave until 4pm.(in 44 reviews)
  • "absolutely no work life balance(in 25 reviews)
  • "Extra Long Hours(in 18 reviews)
  • "Many school counselors and social workers do not follow up with chronically absent children and leadership doesn't help.(in 15 reviews)
  • "behavior management throughout the school was horrible, and kids were constantly getting removed from the classroom and sent to an overcrowded DREAM room(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Democracy Prep Public Schools and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "scholars"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Committed to Race Equity Work, Rigorous academics, civics, and restorative practices

    Apr 7, 2021 - Human Rources in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Democracy Prep has embarked on an incredible evolution. We are making sure we get consistently excellent academic and civics results across all 24 schools and a special education program. We are also putting a strong stake in the ground around race equity, diversity, equity, and inclusion, and restorative practices at all of our schools. We have always been committed to developing our people so they can be the very best educator/ scholar support teammate but that has only grown stronger given these new priorities.

    Cons

    We work HARD. And are incredibly passionate about what we do. For some, that can be overwhelming.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Democracy Prep Public Schools Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We're glad to hear that you feel connected to our commitment to race equity, DEI, and restorative practices. We aim to be a thought leader in the charter sector when it comes to innovative ways to be anti-racist at every level of a charter network. We are constantly evolving and improving our practices to reflect an anti-racist mindset.

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Run, Run, Run

    Apr 16, 2021 - Middle School Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The population of students at DP are great. The students truly come into the school ready to learn and devote their time and energy to their education. DP also has a very strong civic framework that they implement very well. Each morning they discuss major social events and really think through hard questions.

    Cons

    Just about every other structure at DP, outside of Civics, is completely toxic. At the ( DPCMS ) campus there is no accountability where leadership is concerned. The leaders regularly micro-manage in a way that negatively shifts staff investment. Leaders here constantly belittle staff, and create work culture that inhibits growth. The culture set for the students is even worse. It is highly oppressive. Students are not allowed to speak in the halls, asked to walk in yellow lines, and are encouraged to read books as they walk. This was always problematic for me as it greatly mimics prison and does not allow for normal social development. My biggest issue with DP is the negligence they have displayed with scholars with special needs. IF YOUR CHILD HAS SPECIAL NEEDS, DO NOT SEND THEM HERE! DP has a high turnover rate and is unable to find special ed teachers who can serve the students. However, they have a high concentration of kids with IEP and no structure or staff to adequately support them. They even lie in IEP meetings and make up services that don't exist. They dont pay well and froze salaries this past year. I think there needs to be a huge external/internal review of this Network.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the Democracy Prep Public Schools team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Amazing

    Nov 19, 2020 - Ops 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    DP loves scholars and fully commits to getting them ready for college.

    Cons

    It's hard work; no shortcuts.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    A real review!

    Jul 22, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In this climate, there are very few. but the college counselors are exceptional at helping our best scholars get into the best schools.

    Cons

    Not sustainable. I would say the talent team does a great job of tricking talent. Good talent come in attracted to the mission, scholars, and better outcomes for children but do not stay because the environments are often toxic. The schools often get results but that is because many of the kids that graduate were likely to graduate regardless.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Environment and hours can be stressful

    Sep 13, 2020 - ELA Teacher in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everything a teacher needs is provided by the organization, great team of people, great scholars, network's own curriculum and lesson plans, impactful PDs

    Cons

    Long hours, environment can be stressful

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Passionate, Grit, Joyous

    Oct 3, 2014 - Middle School Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Culture: I absolutely love my coworkers. Team oriented, easy to collaborate, & we laugh while we do it. Keeps the energy high at our school. - Mission: College bound & active citizenship. - Scholars: Incredibly hardworking. They are, of course middle schoolers so they can be sassy at times, but they are also respectful and witty. It's great to see them develop their sense of responsibility and accountability. - Feedback: Before DP, I never had an admin or anyone observe my classroom and it made me feel very apathetic towards the US education system. I was a good teacher but I never thought I could become a great master teacher. At DP, I feel invigorated everyday by the challenge of becoming the best teacher. My principal & colleagues frequently observe me & then we meet 1-1 to discuss the feedback. I love the actionable feedback and the practice. There are network materials that are also shared among all the DP middle schools which makes planning and determining rigor easier. I have learned at DP what it means to be an effective teacher. - Structure/High Expectations: I LOVE that my team is on the same page but that our classrooms are still unique to our personalities.

    Cons

    Balancing work and life but it has really pushed me to be better with my time. Additionally, it's gratifying to know that the hard work is paying off when I see how much my scholars have grown socially & academically.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A culture of consistent improvement

    Jan 17, 2020 - Assistant Director in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    While we are far from perfect, everyone at this network cares deeply about kids and puts them first. In the past year Natasha has taken over the role of CEO and the network has benefited tremendously from her leadership. She is both driven and extremely open to feedback. Additionally, she chose to send her own son to DP (he's now graduated). As a network we've shifted away from "No Excuses" to "Purpose Over Power" and "High Expectations, High Support", which has been an overdue change. We treat our scholars with respect, and our civics mission is deeply ingrained in the work we do. We also back-fill all seats and have a robust program for scholars with special needs.

    Cons

    Currently, DP is in the midst of some big changes. While we serve some of our scholars incredibly well, there are still pockets where kids, and teachers struggle. We need to do a better job of supporting teachers across all campuses to make sure they, and their scholars succeed. However, we're aware of the problems and willing to put in the work to fix them. So I feel optimistic.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Aug 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Knowing that you're work day in and day out affects entire communities across the United States. I am really glad that I chose to work for an organization that deeply cares about improving educational outcomes for scholars, and increasing civic engagement in the communities we serve. I work on a team of super motivated, and really intelligent people that I feel that I can learn from and will all advocate for my growth. It's exciting to be a part of something greater, and work for an organization that values innovation, the voice of its employees, and has the ability to step back and re-evaluate when something isn't going well, and move forward with a solution to improve.

    Cons

    DP does have longer hours than some other schools I looked at. I think it takes an adjustment period, but I also know that the time I put in is the amount that it takes to execute my work to the best of my ability, which is what our scholars deserve. Knowing these additional hours will ensure educational opportunity for our students keeps me motivated and excited to be here!

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee

    False Advertisement Just to Profit off At-risk Community

    May 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you're not a certified teacher than you may begin teaching while you still work on obtaining qualifications. However, a horrible choice to start Democracy Prep can change you whole perception of education as a couple of teachers have left or plan to not teach anymore. Don't believe the smiles and hellos we're sent an email with your resume before you interview to be our usual happy selves which is code for PUT ON A SHOW.

    Cons

    Not a school to work at and many of us regret our decision. More than half the staff and management are leaving next year and it's for good reason. Most importantly, Democracy Prep follows a strict behavior system that keeps scholars out of class for most of the day. Often scholars behaviors escalate or are serving in school suspension and as a result miss valuable instruction. Even if you try to best help scholars this system keeps a continuous cycle for most at-risk scholars to fail and are unable to pass to the next grade level. When you voice concerns for scholars you're scolded and your meetings to follow become a repeat after me as you go over the many discipline manuals.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee

    weak all around

    May 7, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are a few awesome, stand out teachers at the school. The current principal is an amazing person, and the kids are so resilient and amazing.

    Cons

    There are terrible behavior problems at the school, which are solved by suspending kids. DP claims that they are here for scholars, but yet every day are perpetuating the school to prison pipeline. Praising kids for compliance, walking on straight lines, being silent. Little room for creativity on the part of teachers, as well as coteaching with no coaching, leading to some pretty terrible relationships between coteaching pairs. Over half of staff quit over the course of the year, leaving the school in total chaos. Of the staff that did stay, there were some pretty terrible teachers who were hired out of desperation- who clearly did not care about kids, yelling at students, even being physical with students at time. Constantly recreating policies and procedures--no consistency. Honestly a poor excuse for a school, and parents should look to other more successful charters in DC as alternatives bc the kids at DP are most certianly not getting the education that they deserve.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Democracy Prep Public Schools Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Democracy Prep Public Schools? Share Your Experiences

Democracy Prep Public Schools logo

Democracy Prep Public Schools

or

Democracy Prep Public Schools Careers

Cover image for Democracy Prep Public Schools

About Us Democracy Prep set out to prove what is possible for public education in America. Our flagship school, Democracy Prep Charter...More

  • Teach
  • Lead
  • Civics
  • All Students
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Democracy Prep Public Schools

93 days ago

Community
A Love Letter to Public Education Leaders
Shared image - A Love Letter to Public Education Leaders
A Love Letter to Public Education Leaders
blog.democracyprep.org
See all

Democracy Prep Public Schools Photos

+ Add Photo
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: 100% going to college!
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: Democracy Prep teachers in professional development, excited to share a love of learning.
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: Greeting scholars as they prepare to take on the day.
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: College pride at Harlem Prep High.
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: A happy elementary classroom!
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: Writing skills are incorporated into every subject, in every grade.
Democracy Prep Public Schools photo of: A focused and engaged classroom.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Democracy Prep Public Schools Job Seekers Also Viewed

Success Academy Charter Schools Logo
Success Academy Charter Schools

2.7

1,690 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 363 Democracy Prep Public Schools reviews submitted anonymously by Democracy Prep Public Schools employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Democracy Prep Public Schools is right for you.