Demos' Restaurant Reviews | Glassdoor

Demos' Restaurant Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Demos' Restaurant President & CEO Peter Demos (no image)
Peter Demos
19 Ratings
  1. "I love it Here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server Trainer/Bartender in Hendersonville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Demos' Restaurant full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Staff is like family Flexible Schedules Good Salary Instills a wonderful work ethic Phenomenal training program

    Cons

    Must have open availability Turn Over- just the same as any restaurant.

    Demos' Restaurant2019-06-18
  2. "Nice staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Prep Cook/Dishwasher in Lebanon, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Demos' Restaurant

    Pros

    Nice staff good management good gm

    Cons

    For the money wanted to much

    Demos' Restaurant2020-02-13
  3. "You will be miserable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hendersonville, TN
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Demos' Restaurant part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supposed to be a Christian company.

    Cons

    Terrible pay for the amount of labor you do in this job. Bunch of kids that never show up to work. Promise you a raise but was never given one. That because I started out making more then the starting rate which is $8 that I have to be certified in 3 more position in order to make more than what I’m making now. Micromanage way too much. Treat employees like crap and expect way too much for way too little. There morning meeting is ridiculous. I could handle it better if they did it once a week. We have a lot of work to get done within 6 or less hours and the meeting is literally about the same old thing over and over again. If you like having management circling around every hour to check up on you asking how much has gotten done? Why isn’t this done yet?When do you think you will be done? Making you to work faster to get off the clock then go ahead this is the job for you.

    Continue reading
    Demos' Restaurant2019-12-03
  4. "Different from a corporate job, rules and expectations are way different, loved the people I worked with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Demos' Restaurant

    Pros

    People, atmosphere, guests, chaplain, employees

    Cons

    Not a hands on company

    Continue reading
    Demos' Restaurant2019-10-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A wonderful place for a person with no experience who is learning a trade."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Hendersonville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Demos' Restaurant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training is good. There are programs in place that help people achieve what they are trying to learn in new positions. The companies throught process is if you are not moving forward, you are not developing yourself, so there are plans in place to always push you to take yourself to the next level. You are quickly cross-trained. This place is a learning facility. They do a great job at that.

    Cons

    Demos' creates an atmosphere where you are constantly looking over your back. They rely on managers to pick other managers apart, and report on them. If you don't, you aren't doing your job. Which creates a toxic enviroment amongst other managers. There is also a litany of things you must do everyday. Checklists galore (almost to the point it makes it difficult to do the jobs you are hired to do). And while you are doing them (yes, you need to check each off and turn it in), you are expected to do the job you were hired to do. And then if something happens while you are trying to achieve the checklists, expect to be called out on it. In my case it was by senior management on the dining room floor, in front of customers. (the Demos' philosophy is that if there isn't "blood on the floor", then you won't learn from it. Their words, not mine). The kicker was that I was doing all the things that I was supposed to be doing, or I would get a write up for not doing my job. And the experience showed me, that the upper management is too worried about being right, that they cannot see the big picture. If the senior manager would have just asked what happened instead of ASSUMING and not letting me talk, I probably would've still been there. But instead, it showed me, that the company doesn't care about what is happening, they just want to be right. Regardless if they are wrong. Keep an eye on the BIG PICTURE Demos'. This minute stuff holds you back.

    Continue reading
    Demos' Restaurant2019-09-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good experience..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Demos' Restaurant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sorry but I can't think of any

    Cons

    Terrible pay- ALL kitchen staff are hired in at 8/hr regardless of experience, constantly nagged at, don't get a break unless you work a double shift and sometimes not even then, management seems to always be stressed by their bosses and they take it out on the hourly employees, feels more like a prison than a job, always understaffed bc most ppl dont last working there longer than a month, rarely tell you your doing a good job but quick to point out if you done something wrong

    Continue reading
    Demos' Restaurant2019-10-03
  7. "AWFUL!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host/Hostess in Murfreesboro, TN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Demos' Restaurant part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honestly cant think of any

    Cons

    Management is terrible, always unorganized, extremely disrespectful, there's little to no communication, Managers are all EXTREMELY RUDE!

    Demos' Restaurant2019-10-13
  8. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Demos' Restaurant part-time

    Pros

    Flexible Scheduling, Nice Coworkers, Good Location

    Cons

    Micromanaging, Poor Pay, Rude Managers

    Demos' Restaurant2019-09-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The Perfect Example of Micro Managing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Demos' Restaurant full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for starting out.

    Cons

    General managers and their management staff are typically hired to manage their store and staff. Not at all the case with this company. Not only are GMs expected to report the most minute issues(ie...tardy employees) to their immediate boss daily, they are then expected to go over the same issues again and again with higher ups. Not only is the extremely stressful and frustrating, it makes it very difficult to get any actual work done.

    Continue reading
    Demos' Restaurant2019-08-23
  10. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Hendersonville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Demos' Restaurant full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling Great Training Program Great Benefits Family Friendly Environment

    Cons

    Turnover is hard at any restaurant

    Demos' Restaurant2019-06-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 45 reviews