Dennis Publishing Reviews | Glassdoor

Dennis Publishing Reviews

Updated 15 de Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Dennis Publishing CEO James Tye (no image)
James Tye
43 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dennis Publishing

    Pros

    Great company, fun team, inspiring

    Cons

    Cliquey, too much alcohol, too many managers

    Dennis Publishing2016-10-05
  2. "yuck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dennis Publishing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A small and understaffed business meant lots of opportunity to gain experience

    Cons

    Lousy editorial product (the week). Virtually everyone was a contracted employee, so there was little to no office morale. The office was dark and littered with half empty boxes in a crummy building. People were generally unhappy. The brightest part of the week seemed to be when they rolled out the bar cart on fridays, as if drinking off-brand vodka at 2pm was some special treat.

    Advice to Management

    Give up.

    Dennis Publishing2017-04-18

    Dennis Publishing Response

    April 20, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. As you point out in your review you were employed by Dennis US which is run as a smaller, entirely separate company to the UK, with its own management team, based in New York. I'm obviously disappointed that you didn't find ...

    Show More
  3. "Great experience as part of my career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dennis Publishing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working out of the NY office, the editorial teams for two magazines among the people working on the business side of things provided a diverse range of intelligent individuals, creating an excellent overall company culture. Benefits were pretty good, and 3 weeks vacation once I got on annual salary was great.

    Cons

    None so much with the actual work, but not a lot of opportunities for promotion. However, that ended up being the nature of my position rather than a company policy.

    Advice to Management

    The magazine business appears to be working great, so keep that going strong. However, I think several 3rd parties for outsourcing were not chosen for quality. Hopefully the ones that were moved to provide a better experience.

    Dennis Publishing2015-03-26
  4. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dennis Publishing

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, open door management policy

    Cons

    Limited movement within the company for job progression.

    Dennis Publishing2015-03-03
  5. "Great fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dennis Publishing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, friendly people and good vacation

    Cons

    low raises, low growth opportunities

    Advice to Management

    More room for career growth

    Dennis Publishing2014-04-04
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dennis Publishing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible,modern workplace good social activities every week

    Cons

    long social evenings business bought out whilst there

    Dennis Publishing2019-09-15
  7. "Fun, Flexible, Freedom!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dennis Publishing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun charity events held throughout the year is a great way to give back to people who need it the most. Flexible /agile working culture Freedom to express your own ideas and be heard Great location! Overall, Dennis boasts great work ethic with brilliant coaching and support. I couldn't have found a better place to begin my career.

    Cons

    Too many good lunch spots around.

    Advice to Management

    Keep coaching and supporting staff. Continue to value your employees.

    Dennis Publishing2019-09-08
  8. "Increase Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Management Accountant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dennis Publishing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Team , learning opportunities

    Cons

    Finance department salary is very low in comparison to other departments

    Dennis Publishing2019-09-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good fun but not enough senior women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dennis Publishing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really care about a good company culture Great benefits Really nice people Good development opportunities

    Cons

    A lot of people have been there for a long time which limits progression for many Barely any women in senior positions

    Dennis Publishing2019-08-06
  10. "Work for myself set own budgets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Owner in Cardiff, Wales
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dennis Publishing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility being in charge of your own destiny

    Cons

    Running your own business is what you make it

    Advice to Management

    None

    Dennis Publishing2019-08-06
Found 60 reviews