Denny's Reviews | Glassdoor

Denny's Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1176 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Denny's CEO John Miller
John Miller
423 Ratings
Pros
  • "Denny's is a great place to work if you're into a fast paced steady work shift(in 46 reviews)

  • "Was able to make good money for someone in college despite the sub par clientele(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "so long hours and not many benefits(in 55 reviews)

  • "It can be slow, no benefits unless full time and they are not very good(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Server in Elizabethtown, KY

    I worked at Denny's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace, good money great coworkers

    Cons

    Hard work, long hours and more harsh work

    Denny's2019-03-08
  2. "Very informative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress in McAllen, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Denny's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Make lifelong connections with co-workers and customers. You'll feel a part of a family here.

    Cons

    Favoritism does exist and can get in the way of fair management....also management tends to have poor communication.

    Advice to Management

    Pay close attention to management. Including but not limited to relationships with lower level employees, each other and favoritism. Not to mention promising employees pay raises or promotions and not following through.

    Denny's2019-04-22
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grill Cook in Warrenton, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Denny's full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly people and awesome staff

    Cons

    Fast pace and busy work work work!!

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Denny's2019-04-22
  4. "Great place to work if u love cooking!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Denny's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people great food fast paced environment

    Cons

    Sometimes overwhelming if not enough cooks schedualed

    Advice to Management

    Give your cooks the credit they deserve.

    Denny's2019-04-13
  5. "Dishwasher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Denny's part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Hourly wage + tips Discount food Good discounts

    Cons

    Short hours Fast-pace in the morning Do not work mornings, only if you have the strength.

    Denny's2019-04-22
  6. "Great place to work, wonderful dedicated people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Franchise Business Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Denny's full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Great company culture, great benefits, great salary, work with great people from all departmemts

    Cons

    Aligning franchisee goals with company goals can be difficult. Expectations are not always reasonable.

    Denny's2019-04-03
  7. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Denny's

      Pros

      Its convieniently located. And busy.

      Cons

      Drama, low wages. Overworked staff.

      Advice to Management

      Stop letting employees give food away .

      Denny's2019-04-15
    • "I absolutely loved working their!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Terre Haute, IN
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Denny's full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      They are very helpful, very understanding and very family oriented.

      Cons

      Servers on day shift very stingy, very rude and snotty if your new I would prefer nights!!

      Denny's2019-03-31
    • "Good restaurant poor management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server/Waiter 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Denny's full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good food nice place nice guest

      Cons

      Poor management ignorant employees ungroomed wait Staff

      Advice to Management

      Show your top employees you appreciate the jon they do

      Denny's2019-04-14
    • "Denny's"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Restaurant Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Denny's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The people I work with and the customers are great!

      Cons

      We never close, open 24 hours a day. So it's hard to clean as well as one would like when the orders never stop coming in.

      Denny's2019-03-26
    Found 1176 reviews