Derrick Reviews

Updated Apr 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Derrick CEO James W. Derrick (no image)
James W. Derrick
17 Ratings
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Politics and old lazy guys

    Feb 14, 2017 - Welder/Fabricator in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Christmas bonuses are good, but don't make up for the awful pay. Good parties, but getting drunk on the company dime is not what i look for in a job. Health insurance used to be good, but we had to pay more and more for it over time. Good experience to take elsewhere.

    Cons

    I was literally taken aside and told not to be so productive so as not to induce layoffs faster. If you were there 10 or more years, you could get away with anything. If you worked hard, the old lazy guys would play pranks on you such as turning off your welding gas while you were on break, causing porosity and extra labor to fix it. The pay was terrible, which is why I left for a higher paying job after I accumulated some experience there. Unless you worked 60 hrs a week you could not support a family.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Good Place to work

    Jul 18, 2017 - Mechanical Designer in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a great place to work, especially if you get past 5 years (I was 14 years in). I was given and I accepted numerous opportunities for advancement, . Medical benefits were good, especially compared to other employers. Pretty commited to continual improvement, sometimes slowly. 65 years in business, family owned, and the family cares and is very professional. Noel Boccio, the engineering manager is excellent boss.

    Cons

    It isn't perfect, sometimes management bites off a lot Subject to cyclical Oil and Gas industry (pretty cutthroat) Sharon Lamartina is ruthless, Tom Silverstrini not the best critical decision maker

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Lead Man

    Apr 1, 2016 - Lead Man in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Place to work - Owners care a lot - Hard work gets noticed, the guys that don't get noticed also. Attendance is important. Benefits are good. Management is always trying to improve.

    Cons

    Pay is low - raises are low - Too much overhead is allowed.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Wish I was still here

    Apr 11, 2016 - Pressbrake Operator in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked here for 22yrs, then I became disabled. Management and owners went over and beyond to keep me working as long as I could, also good work environment, state of the art equipment, health and dental, bonuses, parties!!!! What more can I say. I was Proud to say I worked at Derrick

    Cons

    Unhappy employees , go figure. Show me a place with out unhappy employees

    6 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Office personnel

    Jul 9, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in East Aurora, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a very nice company; They have very good medical and dental benefits; 401k and profit share; bonuses; nice updated office; many very good people

    Cons

    There is limited room for advancement within the company due to the corporate structure; Pay compensation for existing employees is less than compensation for newly hired employees on same level.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Declining derrick

    Apr 12, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Christmas bonuses, a few parties, over time is a given at almost any time

    Cons

    Terrible raises. Over the past ten years, every year the raises are less and less. Some employees have not received a raise in three years. When raised Do come they are pathetic (15 to 30 cents on average). To make it seem like you make an normal wage derrick's mandatory week is 50 hours, plus most people that work here are forced to work even more due to low pay. There are some departments that are nice to work in. Then there are some that is run like your in a clicky girls high school were talking about people is how you get ahead and ridicule is a daily task. It would be hard to find a handfull of people that truly enjoy working here.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    talent/ politics

    Jan 28, 2016 - Painter in Cheektowaga, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great opportunity for overtime. great benefit packages. xmas bonuses are a huge help around the holidays. weekends off.

    Cons

    a lot of health hazards. sweatshop in the summer, almost unbearable at times. no cost control with supplies. they throw money away even in rough economic times for business. poor planning and communication. poor training. unprofessional when they speak to you when mistakes are made. politic bases company.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A good job out of college but poor career opportunity for shop employees.

    Apr 16, 2014 - General Laborer in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    decent pay. lots of hours. treated fairly

    Cons

    difficult work, limited room for advance, poor diversity in the shop. no clear development paths other than putting in time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not the same old Derrick

    Jan 12, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bonuses, profit share, intelligent employees.

    Cons

    Can be a hostile work environment. Very stressful. Job security is always in doubt. Layoffs loom large. Inexperienced and unprofessional HR department. CEO flaunts wealth in front of employees.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    derrick

    Apr 4, 2016 - Laborer in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Treated great by management. Easy to work with the people there because of the atmosphere created by management.also a very family oriented company

    Cons

    Never a steady work amount always extremely high or low

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 11 - 20 of 29 Reviews

Popular Careers with Derrick Job Seekers

Engineer
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Derrick? Share Your Experiences

Derrick logo
or