Des Moines Public Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Des Moines Public Schools Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Des Moines Public Schools CEO Thomas Ahart
Thomas Ahart
3 Ratings
  1. "ELL teacher adults at the New Comers Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ELL Teacher in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Des Moines Public Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being able to help students develop their English and prepare to take the Citizenship Test.

    Cons

    Being a part-time positions and the lack of funding to continue two different classes daily

    Advice to Management

    Continue helping refugees to be confident and gain the skills necessary to adapt to American culture.

    Des Moines Public Schools2019-04-28
  2. "Ok for Working in Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Elementary Classroom Teacher 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Des Moines Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits in DMPS are second to none and for the Des Moines area, pay isn't terrible. The staff I worked with was absolutely wonderful, but obviously varies greatly by building. DMPS tends to stay up on educational trends and implementing technology.

    Cons

    Staff's hands are tied in terms of dealing with students with poor behavior, though this can depends on principals. The implemented standards do not always seem developmentally appropriate. Student behavior, especially in terms of mental health issues today are difficult to address. Long working hours to get everything accomplished (much more than contract hours.)

    Advice to Management

    Supporting teachers and showing appreciation for their work always goes a long way in building morale.

    Des Moines Public Schools2019-09-28
  3. "Good Pay/Benefits, Horrible teacher support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Des Moines Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is good for the area. The insurance package is GREAT but already talk of that getting worse in upcoming years before I resigned.

    Cons

    Implementing "Schools for Rigor" in most of the buildings, severe lack of teacher support with student behavior, curriculum support, mental health, etc.

    Des Moines Public Schools2019-07-18
  4. "Good company to work for when looking for good benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Des Moines Public Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, competitive salary, relationships made

    Cons

    Direction of teaching has changed

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your teachers

    Des Moines Public Schools2019-02-03
  5. "MGMT will make your job harder than it should be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bus Driver in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Des Moines Public Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great working with the kids loved working alone

    Cons

    worst management and routing I have ever seen, they make way too much money to sit behind a computer and pretend to be working.

    Advice to Management

    find a new job

    Des Moines Public Schools2019-02-17
  6. "Review based on multiple positions held in the district"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Des Moines Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Good Environment and Ability to make lasting relationships

    Cons

    Change does not happen often and when it does, the employees thoughts do not matter

    Des Moines Public Schools2018-12-12
  7. "Instructional Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Des Moines Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Resources, administration, professional growth, flexible

    Cons

    Pay, work load, lack of funding

    Des Moines Public Schools2018-09-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Des Moines Public Schools: View of a Substitute Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Des Moines Public Schools part-time

    Pros

    I received excellent training to work in the widely diverse public schools in Des Moines, IA. The preparation has aided in my substituting in several suburban school districts. The training was in addition to the course I to become license, as well as the academic credentials I had earned (BS, MA/MSW, PhD). Also, I find the Absence Management System, AESOP, for signing up for jobs to be very convenient.

    Cons

    It would be helpful if every school already had the expected substitutes for the day printed with job numbers, teachers’ names available when the substitutes arrive. I enjoy this work, which I took up after retirement and moving from a different state. Currently, some schools make this information available but some don’t.

    Des Moines Public Schools2018-08-06
  9. "pay attention to teachers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Des Moines Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    No better place to make a difference in the lives of students.

    Cons

    Top level administration mostly concerned with making a name for themselves. They do not consider the burden placed on teachers. Mainly interested in building names for themselves.

    Advice to Management

    Treat teachers well. Listen to teachers with all levels of experience. Return to the classroom for periods of time rather than being so far removed from the polices that are destroying morale.

    Des Moines Public Schools2018-07-28
  10. "Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Office Assistant in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Des Moines Public Schools for more than 5 years

    Pros

    DMPS is a good place for Mother’s hours or college interns.

    Cons

    If you are looking for a career and you’re not a teacher this is not the place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Consider increasing more opportunities for non-teachers.

    Des Moines Public Schools2018-07-19
Found 34 reviews