Deseret First CU Reviews | Glassdoor

Deseret First CU Reviews

Updated March 18, 2017
20 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Shane London
11 Ratings

20 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Member service representative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Orem, UT
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deseret First CU full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The managers are great. They are good about helping you set your daily goals

    Cons

    Dealing with older customers who don't hear very well can be hard for you and for them. They can get frustrated easily.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Deseret First CU Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!


  2. "It's been a great job and definitely makes me feel like I've learned something."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in West Valley City, UT
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in West Valley City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deseret First CU full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Deseret First has a Friendly atmosphere, a Great CEO, a Good member base and friendly employees. Continuously working on improving our different systems to provide a better member experience

    Cons

    Not really a way to move up
    Training isn't the best when it comes to new employees and it almost seems like new employees get thrown right into the work environment without proper training

    Deseret First CU Response

    Mar 17, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    I appreciate you giving us feedback. We have a great Training Department that is always looking at ways in which we can always improve things. Our employees are very important to us and we want to ... More


  3. "Administration"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deseret First CU full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, management, and staff.

    Cons

    I really don't have a "con" at this time.

    Deseret First CU Response

    Feb 1, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    Thanks for your review!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Member Service Representative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deseret First CU part-time

    Pros

    Small company. Banking hours. Members you help are nice.

    Cons

    Overlooked because of part time status. Upper management can get fixated on meeting numbers.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your entire staff. Don't worry so much about the numbers. Numbers come with great employees.

    Deseret First CU Response

    Feb 1, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. Please feel free to contact us with any of the concerns you mentioned. We don't want any of our employees to feel overlooked and are more than willing to talk about career ... More


  6. "Love DFCU!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The management here is great. I feel like I am well taken care of and well paid. Better benefits than a lot of the larger credit unions.

    Cons

    The systems can be hard to learn and navigate, but that's just part of being a smaller credit union. It takes time to get the cool stuff.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Management here truly does care about employees of all levels. Thank you for all that you do.

    Deseret First CU Response

    Dec 12, 2016 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!


  7. "Best Place I've Worked"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Entry Level Operations in West Valley City, UT
    Current Employee - Entry Level Operations in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deseret First CU full-time

    Pros

    DFCU is a family that cares about its employees. Limited advancement and pay are concerns in other reviews. This is what I've seen: the company's first choice is to hire from within--even to the point of creating positions to accommodate employees they want to keep around. See a job posting for DFCU? Apply now! Raises are accessible at every level of the company by gaining qualifications and production. I've bounced around the Utah "Silicon Slopes" tech scene with nothing but frustration to show for it. Working at DFCU is like arriving home after the winter storm and having a warm meal.

    Cons

    Again, DFCU is a family. A successful employee here should be conscious of that and acquire pieces of culture that will help them work with members of the team, many of which have worked at the company for 10+ years. If you can't do that then this could be a con for you. In addition, if you are a front line employee, you should work to make connections with all levels of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Hold employees to the absolute highest standards that someone could expect from a large bank or credit union. Build bridges between the branches and the operations center.

    Deseret First CU Response

    Dec 12, 2016 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!


  8. "good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Deseret First CU full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, love the people.

    Cons

    Average pay limited PTO not much room for advancement.

    Deseret First CU Response

    Dec 12, 2016 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! Feel free to come talk to us about some of the things you mentioned so we see if there's anything we can do to help you with your advancement goals.


  9. "Great Job!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller/Loan Officer in Taylorsville, UT
    Former Employee - Teller/Loan Officer in Taylorsville, UT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Deseret First CU (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great environment! They were really great to their employees. Training was thorough and I always felt like I had help when I needed it.

    Cons

    Saturday's are drive thru only so you can only do a limited amount of transactions and sometimes customers get mad.

    Deseret First CU Response

    May 2, 2016 – AVP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and for all that you did while employed at DFCU!


  10. "MSR"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Deseret First CU full-time

    Pros

    Great corporate culture. Great company.

    Cons

    Some branches are amazing, some I've heard aren't as fun to work at. The pay is a little less than other places for what you do.

    Advice to Management

    More training for Member Service Reps on loans and better commission tracker.

    Deseret First CU Response

    Feb 9, 2016 – AVP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!


  11. "Over all DFCU is a good company to work for."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    They do not pay as well as some other credit unions or banks.

    Deseret First CU Response

    Jan 12, 2016 – AVP, Human Resources

    Thanks for your review. Paying market rates is very important to us. If you have a concern about your pay, please talk to your supervisor or human resources. Thanks!



Showing 20 of 20 reviews
Reset Filters