Deseret First CU Reviews | Glassdoor

Deseret First CU Reviews

Updated September 11, 2017
24 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Shane London
14 Ratings

24 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Great workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deseret First CU full-time

    Pros

    -Family Oriented
    -Great culture
    -It's seriously a great place to work at. All of the staff is great, management is great. We all look out for each other.

    Cons

    -Difficult to move up in certain departments
    -Low pay

    Deseret First CU Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for spending time reviewing us. We'd love to talk to you more about your career aspirations and pay. Feel free to stop by your manager's office or HR and we'd be happy to chat!... More


  2. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Deseret First CU full-time

    Pros

    good company to work for

    Cons

    nothing they are a great company and know what they are doing

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    Deseret First CU Response

    Aug 9, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and for all you do!

  3. "Really a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deseret First CU full-time

    Pros

    Fair pay, room for growth, team environment

    Cons

    I pretty much like everything

    Deseret First CU Response

    Aug 9, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your service!


  4. "I would never work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative/Team Lead in West Valley City, UT
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative/Team Lead in West Valley City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Deseret First CU full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    My assistant manager was AMAZING! only reason I got through each day, she was understanding, encouraging, motivating. Luisa is the best!

    Cons

    The manager was rude, and would talk down to you like you were a child because he was power hungry. the systems would rarely work properly, which made the members upset since they expected things to work properly (as they should).

    Advice to Management

    Find managers that are caring and professional

    Deseret First CU Response

    Jul 3, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. One of the things that we hear back from our employees regularly is how much they enjoy working with their managers and how supportive they... More


  5. "Member service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Orem, UT
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deseret First CU full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The managers are great. They are good about helping you set your daily goals

    Cons

    Dealing with older customers who don't hear very well can be hard for you and for them. They can get frustrated easily.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Deseret First CU Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!


  6. "It's been a great job and definitely makes me feel like I've learned something."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in West Valley City, UT
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in West Valley City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deseret First CU full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Deseret First has a Friendly atmosphere, a Great CEO, a Good member base and friendly employees. Continuously working on improving our different systems to provide a better member experience

    Cons

    Not really a way to move up
    Training isn't the best when it comes to new employees and it almost seems like new employees get thrown right into the work environment without proper training

    Deseret First CU Response

    Mar 17, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    I appreciate you giving us feedback. We have a great Training Department that is always looking at ways in which we can always improve things. Our employees are very important to us and we want to... More


  7. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deseret First CU full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, management, and staff.

    Cons

    I really don't have a "con" at this time.

    Deseret First CU Response

    Feb 1, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    Thanks for your review!

  8. "Member Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deseret First CU part-time

    Pros

    Small company. Banking hours. Members you help are nice.

    Cons

    Overlooked because of part time status. Upper management can get fixated on meeting numbers.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your entire staff. Don't worry so much about the numbers. Numbers come with great employees.

    Deseret First CU Response

    Feb 1, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. Please feel free to contact us with any of the concerns you mentioned. We don't want any of our employees to feel overlooked and are more than willing to talk about career... More


  9. "Love DFCU!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The management here is great. I feel like I am well taken care of and well paid. Better benefits than a lot of the larger credit unions.

    Cons

    The systems can be hard to learn and navigate, but that's just part of being a smaller credit union. It takes time to get the cool stuff.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Management here truly does care about employees of all levels. Thank you for all that you do.

    Deseret First CU Response

    Dec 12, 2016 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!


  10. "Best Place I've Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Entry Level Operations in West Valley City, UT
    Current Employee - Entry Level Operations in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deseret First CU full-time

    Pros

    DFCU is a family that cares about its employees. Limited advancement and pay are concerns in other reviews. This is what I've seen: the company's first choice is to hire from within--even to the point of creating positions to accommodate employees they want to keep around. See a job posting for DFCU? Apply now! Raises are accessible at every level of the company by gaining qualifications and production. I've bounced around the Utah "Silicon Slopes" tech scene with nothing but frustration to show for it. Working at DFCU is like arriving home after the winter storm and having a warm meal.

    Cons

    Again, DFCU is a family. A successful employee here should be conscious of that and acquire pieces of culture that will help them work with members of the team, many of which have worked at the company for 10+ years. If you can't do that then this could be a con for you. In addition, if you are a front line employee, you should work to make connections with all levels of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Hold employees to the absolute highest standards that someone could expect from a large bank or credit union. Build bridges between the branches and the operations center.

    Deseret First CU Response

    Dec 12, 2016 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!


Showing 24 of 24 reviews
Reset Filters