Desert Financial Credit Union Teller Reviews | Glassdoor

Desert Financial Credit Union Teller Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
69%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Desert Financial Credit Union CEO Jeffrey Meshey
Jeffrey Meshey
4 Ratings
  1. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Desert Financial Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the people I worked with. Hours are great

    Cons

    PTO wasnt that great. That's about it?

    Desert Financial Credit Union2018-10-11

    Desert Financial Credit Union Response

    October 31, 2019Communications Specialist

    We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time working at Desert Financial. We will pass along your feedback about PTO to management. Thank you for leaving us a review!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company, not so great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Desert Financial Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they actually care about employees, small community feel, members are overall nice, great management, you gain sales experience in the teller role

    Cons

    sales goals (not necessarily a con for me because it's not that hard to meet but is stressful at times) & not enough pay compared to other financial institutions

    Continue reading
    Desert Financial Credit Union2019-07-31
  3. "Great opportunity to enhance skills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Desert Financial Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment Team oriented Upselling every month gives bonus Lots of opportunities to move within company.

    Cons

    Bonus structure for tellers not as high as for representatives.

    Desert Financial Credit Union2018-11-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Teller in Glendale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Desert Financial Credit Union part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PTO, Benefits for Part-time, Paid Holidays

    Cons

    -Not flexible with scheduling -Highly (stressful) Sales Motivated

    Desert Financial Credit Union2018-10-26
  5. Helpful (3)

    "TELLER - CHANDLER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Desert Financial Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You have chairs to sit down.

    Cons

    very poor management, work hours can be horrible they are always under staff and so they will call you in your day off, take your lunchtime actually cut in 30 min. sales its stressful and it's all that they care about, no illusions you will be there to sell.

    Continue reading
    Desert Financial Credit Union2018-10-19
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Worst job I’ve ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Desert Financial Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, benefits were okay

    Cons

    Training was completely inadequate and focused 95% on selling. There was barely any focus on using the actual system and performing transactions. Once at the branch you are thrown to the wolves and expected to know everything. The customers were terrible- rude, angry and allowed by managers to treat us horribly on a daily basis. You are told in training that you should only offer “products” to customers if you feel it would benefit them. (Financial planning, credit cards, loans, etc) Nothing could be further from the truth- we were pressured daily to sell sell sell, whether it was needed or not.

    Continue reading
    Desert Financial Credit Union2018-09-05
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Joke of a company, If you like to be stressed on making sales quota this is the job for you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Desert Financial Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -You get holidays off -You get your certain amount of hours for the week for me it was 40 hours, never got overtime -Hour long lunches

    Cons

    -You get sales pushed down your throat everyday, if you don't make your "quota" you get coached on why you didn't. They use the quote "making lives better". I'm sorry people go to the bank to either make deposits or to take out money. Not to be bombarded with questions on mortgages and auto refis. If people want something they'll ask for it. -You get one day off out of the 6 day work week other then that you'll be there 9 hours a day. -Management well two out of the three managers left when they wanted to and fixed their time cards later when there time cards were due. They would come in when they wanted. -Tellers had to put there phones in a bucket like we were in the 5th grade even before the branch opened. While the managers sat in there office sitting on Facebook and Instagram all day. -I've never worked with such fake people I had managers roll their eyes at me one minute and then start taking trash about another co worker the next. Training for the job was 2 weeks long downtown. Out of those two weeks you gain the knowledge of 20% that you will use when you get into the branch. The other percent you learn on the spot. - You have to stay either full time or Part time for a year as well as trying to transfer to another location. -Have to wait a year in order to get a small 50 cent raise -The only way you make extra money is forcing people to get a credit card which is $5.00 each person you get approved. Or making outrageous sales goals. -Management tells you that it doesn't matter if you don't make the sales quota at the end of each month when they interview you, But if you don't hit the quota goal 3 months in a row you get written up

    Continue reading
    Desert Financial Credit Union2017-09-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Desert Financial Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Can't think of any. Doesn't care about teller growth.

    Cons

    Low pay. Needs to value tellers. Too high of expectations.

    Continue reading
    Desert Financial Credit Union2017-10-09
  9. "Extremely great atmosphere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Queen Creek, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Desert Financial Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were great. The atmosphere to grow and learn was always open. Members were usually very nice and great to work with.

    Cons

    High turnover rate. There was always at least one teller missing/leaving. Some of the position requirements/responsibilities were unfair. Overall was more work for less pay.

    Desert Financial Credit Union2017-08-13
  10. "Great company!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Desert Financial Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sundays off, holidays off, paid vacation.

    Cons

    Long days, usually 10 hours.

    Desert Financial Credit Union2016-12-21
Found 23 reviews