KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Desert Financial Credit Union

Engaged Employer

Desert Financial Credit Union

Add a Review

Desert Financial Credit Union Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Jan 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 159 reviews

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Desert Financial Credit Union CEO Jeffrey Meshey
Jeffrey Meshey
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Not a bad organization, good benefits(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great Benefits, price of healthcare just went down, 0(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "sales goals(in 5 reviews)

  • "There is no help, coaching, guidance, praise or professionalism by Regional Directors or senior management(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "great benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company to work for with job security and benefits day 1.

      Mar 14, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It has great benefits , I worked in both a branch and call center and they were both very friend and fun environments to work in .

      Cons

      when working in a call center there are always challenges biggest con for me was getting days off that I needed and those days not being available

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work.

      Jan 10, 2020 - Member Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits, price of healthcare just went down, 0$ for dental 0$ for vision. They match your 401k and place your pension into your 401k. Opportunity for overtime and extra PTO. Good place for growth in a company.

      Cons

      Long hours. Hard to hit goals.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Desert Financial Credit Union Response

      Brand Outreach Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback! Our 401K match and lower cost benefits are just a few of the many ways Desert Financial shares success with employees. We hear your concern with longer hours, but by staying open a little later than most; we offer our members a convenience that they are not able to get from other financial institutions. We hope that the in-branch coaching we provide gives our employees the education and confidence to offer solutions to our members and help meet sales goals. We will pass your suggestions along and if you have any ideas on additional training please feel free to reach out to WeCare@desertfinancial.com.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Fun, Family Type Company

      Dec 14, 2010 - Document Management Clerk in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits Package, Friendly Fellow Co-workers, Lots of Community Involvement by the Company, Community/family feeling within the company. Plus there's an onsite cafeteria that serves decent food for what you pay. Overall it is an enjoyable environment to work in.

      Cons

      Management to Staff Communication Issues (though this is common with almost all companies), didn't always appreciate the little people in the less prominent departments.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      The Way We Are...

      Apr 1, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many opportunities to advance on retail side of the business. The organization truly wants to provide the best service to members and works at providing tools/resources to help the front line staff better communicate and service members. Outstanding commitment to the community! Really promotes and encourages everyone to get involved in some type of giving back. Offers great benefits.

      Cons

      Some of the systems are so complex that multiple steps must be taken to complete transactions. Some systems are still failry manual - track on spreadsheets.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Desert Schools is a fun and desirable place to work.

      Mar 24, 2015 - Member Solutions Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, coworkers, great benefits, chances to advance within the company.

      Cons

      Company is confused as to whether or not it is a a credit union or bank. The sales demands are high and you are written up if you don't meet them after three months or so.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Department Employee

      Apr 30, 2016 - Department 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Desert Schools is a great company to work for if you're looking to start a career in the financial industry. They offer great benefits and many opportunities for growth.

      Cons

      Since Desert Schools competes with the larger fin institutions, I don't feel the salaries compare the same, specifically in a specialized area. Leaders are also lacking training in developing employees and helping them be successful especially when so many changes are going on.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Teller

      Oct 8, 2015 - Teller 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The great benefits, and the awesome contributions they do for the community.

      Cons

      They think we're miracle workers sometimes... There days we can't get someone to commit to a loan... a little pushy.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Member Service Representative

      Jun 9, 2016 - Member Solutions Representative in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most of the managers I worked with were great on a personal level and genuinely cared about my development. Great benefits! The benefits are even available for part time employees and it included tuition reimbursement.

      Cons

      A lot of turnover while I worked there. They seem to be going through culture change and became more like a bank than a credit union. Management expected employees to push products and services to credit union members even when they didn't need them.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Desert Financial Credit Union Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Desert Financial Credit Union? Share Your Experiences

    Desert Financial Credit Union logo
    or