Detroit Medical Center Registered Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Detroit Medical Center Registered Nurse Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Detroit Medical Center CEO Dr. Tony Tedeschi  (no image)
Dr. Tony Tedeschi
2 Ratings
  1. "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Detroit, MI

    I have been working at Detroit Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Love nursing great co wotkers

    Cons

    Need something different Need more support

    Advice to Management

    Improve staffing

    Detroit Medical Center2019-02-04
  2. "DMC RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at Detroit Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Good experience as a new grad

    Cons

    Old buildings, bad management

    Detroit Medical Center2019-08-29
  3. "You're on your own."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Staff RN 

    I worked at Detroit Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    The patients make it worth it.

    Cons

    Appropriate staffing is an issue.

    Detroit Medical Center2019-05-21
  4. "Good Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Detroit Medical Center part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Coworkers like family

    Cons

    Tenet- all about the $$

    Detroit Medical Center2018-12-20
  5. "Overtime available"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Detroit Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Overtime available for those interested

    Cons

    There have been many days nurses were working short staffed

    Detroit Medical Center2018-11-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Detroit Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, available overtime, great learning environment

    Cons

    Tenet and the management do not have your back.

    Advice to Management

    Don't view employees as expendable. It's hard to care about a company when they do not care about you.

    Detroit Medical Center2018-11-08
  7. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Detroit, MI
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Detroit Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Staff is friendly - Many learning opportunities with interesting patient cases

    Cons

    - Bought by a company that is making lots of cuts

    Detroit Medical Center2018-05-11
  8. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Staff RN in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Detroit Medical Center

    Pros

    My Boss is the best boss ever!!! I love her to pieces and she is why I stay; she is awesome and she’s trying to make changes;

    Cons

    Everything This place is a joke/ constant he say she say by managers/ always short staff/ nurses have 2-3 total pt care daily. Have 7 patients/. The pca,s tell u what they are not going to do/ no one gets in trouble for anything. It’s a zoo

    Advice to Management

    Fire every person in management with exception of my boss/ also fire every single clinical coordinator because they do absolutely nothing but steal time/pay. Start fresh because Sinai grace is a mess

    Detroit Medical Center2018-02-06
  9. "Learn a lot, fast paced environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Detroit Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of different patients with difference disease processes, efficient orientation process, helpful coworkers, safe place to work on midnights, exciting

    Cons

    Management could be better, it seems quite unorganized. Not many raises- other area hospitals get more raises. Pt population can be quite challenging

    Detroit Medical Center2017-11-26
  10. Helpful (5)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Detroit Medical Center part-time

    Pros

    I worked 27 years as an RN, but decided to retire early. In my career, I have met some beautiful people...staff and patients. I never would have had the blessing of meeting these people and caring for their needs if I was not an RN. As a patient, I received excellent care from the physicians and the staff. There are many dedicated, hardworking staff at the DMC.

    Cons

    Since TENET took over, I see a decline in the quality of care because of the staffing cuts. There is a disrespect in the way staff are treated by TENET. I have seen management who have dedicated many years of their lives to the DMC be walked out by security because they were no longer needed. There is a lack of honour and respect for those people who gave years of sweat and blood to make the DMC what it is today. It hurts me to see this. Another problem is the cuts in staffing. I realize that there are financial concerns and I don't know what their budget is. Health care is costly to pay staff and for the supplies needed to run a hospital. Cutting costs is a reality, but at the same time, patients deserve excellent care. It is difficult to make hourly rounds when I have 6 couplets on postpartum. This is 12 patients to care for and chart on. I can't do it anymore. I feel like I am running in circles just to barely get the job done. To me it is not just a job. It is a vocation which involves interaction and care of patients....not running from room to room spending very minimal time with each person. If there is an emergency with a patient then it is awful because no other patients can receive excellent care if you are tied up. The cuts in clerks make it impossible to be with the patients, chart, and answer phones and call lights. The desk is chaotic. Also, when an employee is off on medical leave, we have limited income, yet we receive this bill to pay for the medical care and if it is not paid we are cut off of medical care when we need a physician most. I see people undergoing chemotherapy and all sorts of health problems coming back to work early, while they are still not well, so they don't lose their medical care. It is awful that staff who dedicate their life to the hospital are treated this way. I don't want to be an RN anymore because I find it too stressful the way health care is changing to cut costs at the expense of the patients and the staff. I don't like the way my fellow coworker's in management were treated after years of service. They are not just numbers, they are people who dedicated their lives to make the hospital what it is today. I am leaving and retiring early to enjoy the rest of my life. I had a great career and I wish everyone the best in their career. It is all about just enjoying the people we interact with, despite the changes and cuts.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please have more compassion for patients and staff when decisions are made. Treat people with respect. Stop bringing patients who lost babies to the postpartum unit because it hurts them and they deserve compassion. I know it is hard because financial budgets are a reality. I respect that and sincerely care. I felt blessed to have some great managers throughout the years. I think it is all about the people. If staff satisfaction is down then patient satisfaction and care will be effected. We must always try to keep staff morale up by focusing on the good as well as the bad stuff. Team work is the key to staffing cuts, because working together to keep patient satisfaction up and give excellent care is the only way!!!!

    Show More
    Detroit Medical Center2017-05-30
Found 23 reviews