Detroit Zoological Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Detroit Zoological Society Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Detroit Zoological Society CEO  (no image)
2 Ratings
  1. "Mission driven for real"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Detroit Zoological Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Progressive attitude to just about everything... animals, staff and volunteers

    Cons

    A bit tied up with union rules that favor some long term staff

    Detroit Zoological Society2018-12-05
  2. "They take good care of staff, but innovation stifled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Detroit Zoological Society full-time

    Pros

    Good salary, great benefits, animals, leadership in animal welfare, mission-driven, idealistic, unique job

    Cons

    Change is painfully slow, does not have a culture that fosters innovation

    Detroit Zoological Society2019-06-11
  3. "I was a hard worker at the Detroit Zoo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prepared Foods Team Member in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Detroit Zoological Society part-time

    Pros

    It was nice to work

    Cons

    I was a hard worker

    Advice to Management

    I will send people there way to work

    Detroit Zoological Society2018-05-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good pay for the work but unsteady"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Relations Assistant -Rides in Royal Oak, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Detroit Zoological Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s just a fun place to be at. The rest of the people working there are very fun and sociable. The managers do listen when you have complaints or needs. They have a uniform but often it’s not as strict as they make it seem.

    Cons

    It’s seasonal work and based on seniority. So in essence very unstable and not good if you really need a steady flow of money. If you need money constantly then you’ll need two jobs, but they want you to make the zoo the priority despite it being unstable. To me personally it’s a fine job if you’re a young college student, have another seasonal job, or are ok with wasting time till you become a senior employee.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t make it seem like even in the non busy season you’ll be making 30 hrs. If you’re going to be unpredictable and unsteady don’t make people make you their priority when flexibility is hard to achieve.

    Detroit Zoological Society2018-04-17
  5. "A great place with great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Instructor in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Detroit Zoological Society part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked in the education department with an incredibly talented and dedicated staff. They're like a big family and are so helpful and supportive!

    Cons

    It's a very large organization, sometimes you don't get heard.

    Advice to Management

    Listen and get feedback from lower level employees - see what they're doing!

    Detroit Zoological Society2018-03-19
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Guest Relations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Detroit Zoological Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice environment, animals, free zoo admission, easy summer job

    Cons

    Management, attitudes, sexism, poor departmental structure

    Advice to Management

    It was easy for management to lose sight that the seasonal supervisors and associates are the life blood of the department, and I believe it would help if they took the same people skills used when dealing with guests and applied it to their workers. Speaking as a man that worked there, I'm not bias in saying that it was apparent that women were often overlooked or not handed the same opportunities as men. I've seen..., and heard it first hand. I've heard the way management speaks and discriminates against their employees and I think management and supervisors should use the downtime in the off season wisely to undergo some kind of sensitivity training.

    Show More
    Detroit Zoological Society2018-03-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work for the summer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Ambassador in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Detroit Zoological Society part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with Fun events to be apart of Good pay Great management Fantastic work environment

    Cons

    Hours are long but not consistent

    Detroit Zoological Society2018-02-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Animal Care Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animal Care Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Detroit Zoological Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay after lengthy term of service, excellent benefits

    Cons

    Poor culture...totalitarian management, lack of inclusion. Company lacks integrity.

    Advice to Management

    Value your staff at every level; they are your greatest asset.

    Detroit Zoological Society2017-09-15
  9. "Membership Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meeting and Event Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Detroit Zoological Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management, nice staff, good hours

    Cons

    Weekend schedules, but not a huge deal

    Advice to Management

    Loved my job. Wish I could come back!

    Detroit Zoological Society2017-06-20
  10. "GRA DETROIT ZOO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Detroit Zoological Society

    Pros

    Good pay, fun work environment

    Cons

    Long hours and insufficent work scheule

    Detroit Zoological Society2017-05-12
Found 31 reviews