Dex One Reviews | Glassdoor

Dex One Reviews

Updated July 11, 2017
267 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Joe Walsh
4 Ratings

267 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good people, good training, great benefits (in 22 reviews)

  • Worked with great people in a true sales environment (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • The company's yellow pages was the best in the market even at its high price (in 24 reviews)

  • Phone book is main business and that is almost a extinct (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great benefits, poor organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Marketing in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dex One full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Full medical, dental, vision, savings plans. Extensive training before starting.

    Cons

    Difficult to manage workload due to poor internal organization.

    Advice to Management

    Streamline graphics and SEO products.


  2. "Was a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Training in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Corporate Training in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dex One full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Had great benefits and perks. I was in the graphics side of the business and saw major changes over the 12 years I was there.

    Cons

    Thinning budgets year after year till the bankruptcy. As the market has grown dependent on web based information, the print media was no longer a commodity and Dex wasn't proactive in their business plan.

    Dex One Response

    Sep 27, 2016 – Employee

    Thank you for 10+ years of dedicated service. We appreciate you providing your feedback.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Former Advertising Powerhouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Premise Sales in Tacoma, WA
    Former Employee - Premise Sales in Tacoma, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Have to say it was the best dead end job I ever had. Worked with great people in a true sales environment. Loved working for the best in the industry when print was the media of choice.

    Cons

    If you look at the size of the phone book delivered to your door today you should be able to realize the future of your job. The most talented people slowly left several years ago as the compensation and benefits declined. The company's yellow pages was the best in the market even at its high price. Small business owners are savvy and the terms "diminishing value and dinosaur" were your constant new sales objections. They wouldn't lower the price of the print even with the decreasing ROI so the long term clients were scooped up by online media long before the company would adapt. It was depressing to watch the slow implosion of a once great company.

    Advice to Management

    Sat in a company wide meeting after a merger where the new CEO said "with declining sales I'm asked why would I buy a yellow page company'? I thought the same thing, a small company gets a loan to buy out a huge company in decline? Many people got very wealthy and the company went bankrupt. How do you give advice to management when nobody wants print advertising which is the primary source of their profit? Thanks for the years and good luck.

    Dex One Response

    Sep 27, 2016 – Employee

    Thank you for your time of service and for providing your feedback.


  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    occasionally they ordered lunch and they used to have great incentive trips for sales

    Cons

    Great job once upon a time then Quest took over and it went to hell sold several times since

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    Dex One Response

    Aug 31, 2016 – Employee

    Thank you for your service, and for providing your feedback.


  5. "Dex One fka RH Donnelley"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dex One full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Remember when Dex One was RHD, it really was like a great, big family.
    Open and flat structure where everyone's opinion was valued and management took a genuine interest in every employee and their family. It was hard work rewarded with some hard play. Where loyalty ran both ways...

    Cons

    After RHD merged with Dex Qwest the entire atmosphere and culture changed. It became impersonal and cumbersome. Political factions emerged to the detriment of many talented, capable people who just wanted to make the company succeed. And then after the Supermedia merger it was even worse and some of the best caring C suite executives were pushed out.

    Advice to Management

    Mergers and acquisitions are not always the right path to growth. Organic growth can be achieved with the right tactics & strategy. A profitable, thriving smaller company is always better than a larger, collapsing, clumsy, entity....

    Dex One Response

    Apr 12, 2016 – Employee

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your review.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Dying company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Representative in Bellevue, WA
    Former Employee - Account Representative in Bellevue, WA

    Pros

    401k, Vacation/Time Off, great culture, flexibility if situations arise

    Cons

    Micromanagers, unionized, promotions based on tenure not merit

    Advice to Management

    Gain more feedback from your employees and act on the actual recommendations

    Dex One Response

    Mar 3, 2016 – Employee

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.


  7. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Local Sales Coordinator in Morrisville, NC
    Former Employee - Local Sales Coordinator in Morrisville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dex One full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    This company had many great colleagues to work with and initially had many perks that was pretty cool. At times, there was a relaxed setting that was enjoyable and created a pleasant working experience.

    Cons

    This company relies solely on sales. So meeting the bottom line was of great importance. It was hard to always make your numbers due to whatever unexpected circumstance may come up. Management didn't seem to care about that. I remember they expected overtime hours from everyone in the department, including this one lady that was pregnant.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that your employees are people. Express interest in them and their well being and you may find that they will be willing to be more productive due to them having that feeling of being valued.

    Dex One Response

    Feb 8, 2016 – Employee

    Hi - Thank you for your 5+ years of service to Dex. We appreciate your feedback.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Declining Business Stresses Everyone Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lone Tree, CO
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lone Tree, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Flexible work schedules. Nice offices.

    Cons

    Take over by SuperMedia from Dallas.

    Dex One Response

    Dec 10, 2015 – Employee

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.


  9. "Fair place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Solutions Specialist in Overland Park, KS
    Former Employee - Client Solutions Specialist in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dex One full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Capable and visible KPI's, clear work objectives. Worked with good management and felt a sense of community and true care for employees

    Cons

    Print media is their bread and butter of revenue and the transition of client portfolios to digital is going to be a tough and long road in an already saturated market.

    Dex One Response

    Oct 27, 2015 – Employee

    Hi - Thank you for providing Dex with 3+ years of dedicated service. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback! -Ed


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Looks like things don't change at Dex"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Worked In Marketing Department, Non-sales in Lone Tree, CO
    Former Employee - Worked In Marketing Department, Non-sales in Lone Tree, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dex One full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Worked with a lot of good people and enjoyed my job.

    Cons

    Out of touch executives and managers who didn't listen to workers. Too many jobs outsourced overseas.

    Advice to Management

    I haven't worked at Dex since end of 2011 but comments show things haven't changed. Top execs only concerned about their bloated bonuses and salaries then and now. Seems to me when you are making more than $200,000 you should be able to afford forgoing a bonus and give more to all the people making under $50,000, who are hard working people and need the $ more.

    Why are some of the recent commentors surprised at the execs only thinking of their big undeserved bonuses? For the average worker a bonus is for a job well done. Top execs expect a bonus even if their decisions cause company to lose money. It's been like this at Dex for years.

    I wasn't going to post anything but seeing anonymous Ed responding to recent negative posts saying Dex appreciates the feedback and their service irked me. I'd rather see no response than a generic one.

    Dex One Response

    Sep 21, 2015 – Employee

    We encourage past and present employees to provide their feedback. As a company, we can only grow and be successful when we know how our employees, both past and present truly feel. Thank you for... More


Showing 267 of 271 reviews
Reset Filters