Diageo Reviews | Glassdoor

Diageo Reviews

Updated July 15, 2018
903 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Diageo CEO Ivan Menezes
Ivan Menezes
338 Ratings

903 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "As a mum with young children however I find the work life balance a real positive" (in 86 reviews)

  • "great brands, market leader, very supportive" (in 119 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance at times can be hard to achieve" (in 44 reviews)

  • "Decision making can be a bit slow, also the ongoing pressure to deliver on quarterly financial performance is always there" (in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture, Limited Career Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Diageo full-time

    Pros

    Great culture with a portfolio of incredible brands. People are passionate about winning and developing talent.

    Cons

    Limited career advancement, all roles are being downsized and or reduced to cut costs. Norwalk office is a sub-optimal location.

    Advice to Management

    Stop profiling employees based on gender/diversity and instead hire, develop, and retain the best possible talent. If you do that, diversity will come.

    Diageo Response

    Mar 7, 2018 – Social Media Team

    Hi and thanks for sharing your feedback. We're pleased you are enjoying the culture and brands. Your comments on career advancement have been noted and passed on to help us improve. We hope you... More


  2. "Fun place but rigid structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time

    Pros

    Generous product allowance, iconic brands, great share plan. coworkers tend to be fun and switched-on people.

    Cons

    Rigid structure, can be hard to get promotion and requires a lot of networking rather than evidence of good work. somewhat of a meritocracy. prone to constant re-organizations that result in a lot of redundancies.

    Advice to Management

    be transparent about internal talent reviews. focus on career development rather than forcing people to leave the company in order to get promotions that are deserved.

    Diageo Response

    Jul 11, 2018 – Social Media Team

    Hi, we appreciate your taking the time to leave us your review. We're pleased you enjoy working at Diageo. Your comments on career development and promotion have been noted and passed on to help us... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director
    Current Employee - Sales Director
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time

    Pros

    Focused on improving diversity. Industry's best brands. Innovative marketing and innovation teams. Great opportunities for cross functional movements.

    Cons

    Highly matrixed organization with hold-overs in senior leadership that are not as progressive in their employee engagement as other companies.

    Diageo Response

    Jun 23, 2018 – Social Media Team

    Hi, we appreciate your taking the time to leave us your review. We're pleased you enjoy working at Diageo. Your comments on leadership have been noted and passed on to help us improve. We wish you... More


  4. Helpful (4)

    "All politics and egos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Plainfield, IL
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Plainfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Diageo full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits
    Good opportunities to move into new roles

    Cons

    The Plainfield location is very political. If your manager doesn’t decide they like you - for whatever reason (even personal), you will end up stuck as it’s quite easy for them to block you from moving around out of spite.
    It felt like high school which was absolutely ridiculous and disappointing to see in what is supposed to be a professional environment
    You will be overworked and under appreciated.
    There are clear favorites and it has nothing to do with the best performers - it’s usually the people the leadership feels strokes their egos the most.
    The senior leadership in Norwalk leading the teams in Plainfield are probably the biggest problem of them all. Behavior starts from above.
    I wouldn’t recommend this location but the company as a whole can be good
    They are taking diversity way too far, I love seeing diverse leadership but ONLY when those people are qualified for their role (professional qualifications have gone out the window)
    Re-orgs every 6-10 months and each time they make less sense then the time before - very unstable
    Constant turnover because of the terrible way things are run.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting the wrong people. It continues, still.
     Review process is a joke, you are only finding out from above and within a small team what is thought of someone. A lot of times- this is how managers screw over the people they don’t like, it’s unfair. It’s peoples careers you are dealing with, everyone deserves more than that.

    Diageo Response

    Jun 27, 2018 – Social Media Team

    Hi there and thanks for getting in touch. Your comments have been noted and will be passed on. We wish you all the best in the future. Sue


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Innovation Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Diageo full-time

    Pros

    There is good work life balance and the company offers good perks and benefits. Flexible hours if needed. Overall, the company structure is okay.

    Cons

    The people and leadership have ruined this place. Their used to be a fun environment, now all leadership talks about is quotas, diversity and they don't really care about the individuals.

    Advice to Management

    Stop worrying about diversity and hire the best talent for the job. Realize that the majority of folks have plenty of time in their day to do more. Reward the people who do their job and penalize the lazy ones

    Diageo Response

    Jun 6, 2018 – Social Media Team

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Your feedback and your comments for management have been noted and passed on to help us improve things. All the best in your future career... More


  6. "Brand director at DIAGEO US"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time

    Pros

    Best brands best team to work with

    Cons

    High performance, and long hours

    Advice to Management

    Balance between personal and profesional life

    Diageo Response

    Jun 8, 2018 – Social Media Team

    Hi, we appreciate hearing from you. We're pleased you enjoy working at Diageo. Your comments have been noted and passed on to help us improve. We hope you continue to enjoy your time with us. Kind... More


  7. "An awesome learning experience working with talented people and fantastic brands."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distributor Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Distributor Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -great Brands
    -Culture of learning and development
    -challenges their workforce
    -pays well across the board vs. competitors
    -pension plan that rewards long term tenure

    Cons

    -Fianance driven company at all times
    -slow to make decisions
    -all roads go through Norwalk
    -forced diversity initiative that can eliminate good candidates

    Diageo Response

    May 12, 2018 – Social Media Team

    Hi, thanks for leaving us your comments. We're pleased you enjoy the brands, the culture and the benefits of working with us. Your feedback and advice to management have been noted and will be passed... More

  8. "Great People, Great Brands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers and brands, fantastic culture

    Cons

    Career paths can be difficult to determine/follow through on; HR is limited

    Diageo Response

    May 3, 2018 – Social Media Team

    Hi and thanks for getting in touch. We're happy to hear you're enjoying your time with us and hope that you continue to develop and grow your career with Diageo. Best regards, Anna.


  9. "desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Diageo full-time

    Pros

    Share some of your best work. It was an eye opening experience in my opinion. My coworkers were very nice.

    Cons

    Share some of the downsides of working there. The management weren't very friendly, helpful, or great in general. I felt like I was doing more work than I was paid.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open and nice. As the management weren't very friendly, helpful, or great in general. I felt like I was doing more work than I was paid.

    Diageo Response

    Apr 29, 2018 – Social Media Team

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're pleased you enjoyed the people you worked with. Your feedback and advice to management have been noted and passed on to help us improve... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company, people, values and brands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Marketing in Miami, FL
    Former Employee - Director of Marketing in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Diageo full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good structure and great benefits
    Well organized career path
    Good ambience for working
    Branding and marketing tools are easy to adapt and use

    Cons

    Process are too slow when decision making
    HR process tends to be too slow
    Too many re-structures in a short period of time

    Diageo Response

    Apr 18, 2018 – Social Media Team

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're pleased you enjoyed the culture and opportunities while you worked with us. Your feedback has been noted and passed on to help us improve... More


Showing 903 of 962 reviews
Reset Filters