Diageo Reviews | Glassdoor

Diageo Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1091 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Diageo CEO  Ivan Menezes
Ivan Menezes
447 Ratings
  1. "trhth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Diageo

      Pros

      Nice people and will learn a lot

      Cons

      workload is a lot, and can get stressfull

      Diageo2018-09-18
    • "Executive Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Miami, FL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Diageo full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      benefits, flex-time, work from home

      Cons

      restructuring for the past 5 years

      Advice to Management

      revisit restructuring goals, losing great talent

      Diageo2018-08-29

      Diageo Response

      August 30, 2018Social Media Team

      Hi and thanks for being in touch. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the benefits of working with Diageo. Your advice to management has been taken into account. Best regards, Anna.

    • Helpful (2)

      "Great brands but high stress"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Diageo full-time

      Pros

      People you work with are great. Small circle that work directly for the supplier

      Cons

      Too many agency teams pushed on local team that increases work load. Reatructures are normal. Culture is not as good as before.

      Diageo2018-08-12

      Diageo Response

      August 12, 2018Social Media Team

      Hi, we appreciate your taking the time to leave us your review. Your comments will be passed on to help us improve. We wish you all the best in your future career. Kind regards, Sue.

    • Helpful (2)

      "Watch your back"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plainfield, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Diageo full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      FANTASTIC health insurance. People were a great team

      Cons

      Union sticks with the company & doesn't have your back. Cameras EVERYWHERE!!! Management watches those cameras for everything and will not hesitate to fire you, period.

      Advice to Management

      Treat your employees with respect.

      Diageo2018-08-02

      Diageo Response

      August 2, 2018Social Media Team

      Hi and thanks for leaving us your review. We wish you all the best in your future career. Best regards, Sue.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Revolving door of senior leadership and young talent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Supply in Plainfield, IL
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Diageo full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great portfolio of brands, quarterly allowance for brand ambassadorship which increases based on salary band, weekly pub nights. Promotes culture of diversity and acceptance across all ethnicities, sexual orientation, etc.

      Cons

      Rotating leadership makes it difficult to drive consistent strategy. Decision making is always a moving target. Very young talent pool and horrible turnover rate (nearly 100% turnover in 3 years) due to burn out which perpetuates burn out across the team due to increased workload to compensate for the leavers. Career path planning is nearly impossible. It is difficult to land career path when the roles and players change...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Focus on drivers for attrition and applying the appropriate tools for retention. Revisit workloads when attrition is high to prevent further burn out of the remaining workforce. Clear communication when organizational change happens. (Seems to happen in the vacuum then lives on in the rumor mill.) More HQ presence to drive more of the HQ culture in terms of professionalism, especially in light of the younger team and...

      Show More
      Diageo2018-08-01

      Diageo Response

      August 1, 2018Social Media Team

      Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're happy that you're enjoying the great brands and the promotion of diversity. All your feedback is appreciated and will be passed on to help us in the future. Best regards, Sue

    • "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Diageo full-time

      Pros

      *benefits package is very good *great brands

      Cons

      *limited growth opportunities *constant reorgs

      Diageo2018-07-19

      Diageo Response

      July 21, 2018Social Media Team

      Hi and thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with Diageo and wish you every success in your future career. Kind regards, Sue.

    • "Fun place but rigid structure"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Diageo full-time

      Pros

      Generous product allowance, iconic brands, great share plan. coworkers tend to be fun and switched-on people.

      Cons

      Rigid structure, can be hard to get promotion and requires a lot of networking rather than evidence of good work. somewhat of a meritocracy. prone to constant re-organizations that result in a lot of redundancies.

      Advice to Management

      be transparent about internal talent reviews. focus on career development rather than forcing people to leave the company in order to get promotions that are deserved.

      Diageo2018-07-09

      Diageo Response

      July 11, 2018Social Media Team

      Hi, we appreciate your taking the time to leave us your review. We're pleased you enjoy working at Diageo. Your comments on career development and promotion have been noted and passed on to help us improve. We wish you all the best in your career with us. Kind regards, Sue

    • "Constant change...not always good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Diageo for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexable work schedules, great products, historic brands

      Cons

      Constant organizational changes, flat org...very little advancement opportunities, overdoes diversity

      Advice to Management

      Focus on the RIGHT talent, pay for success.

      Diageo2018-07-19

      Diageo Response

      July 19, 2018Social Media Team

      Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're happy that you're enjoying the flexible working and the products. All your feedback is appreciated and will be passed on to help us in the future. Best regards, Sue

    • Helpful (1)

      "Sales Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Director 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Diageo full-time

      Pros

      Focused on improving diversity. Industry's best brands. Innovative marketing and innovation teams. Great opportunities for cross functional movements.

      Cons

      Highly matrixed organization with hold-overs in senior leadership that are not as progressive in their employee engagement as other companies.

      Diageo2018-06-22

      Diageo Response

      June 23, 2018Social Media Team

      Hi, we appreciate your taking the time to leave us your review. We're pleased you enjoy working at Diageo. Your comments on leadership have been noted and passed on to help us improve. We wish you all the best in your career with us. Kind regards, Sue.

    • Helpful (6)

      "All politics and egos"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Manager in Plainfield, IL
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Diageo full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great benefits Good opportunities to move into new roles

      Cons

      The Plainfield location is very political. If your manager doesn’t decide they like you - for whatever reason (even personal), you will end up stuck as it’s quite easy for them to block you from moving around out of spite. It felt like high school which was absolutely ridiculous and disappointing to see in what is supposed to be a professional environment You will be overworked and under appreciated. There are clear...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Stop promoting the wrong people. It continues, still. Review process is a joke, you are only finding out from above and within a small team what is thought of someone. A lot of times- this is how managers screw over the people they don’t like, it’s unfair. It’s peoples careers you are dealing with, everyone deserves more than that.

      Diageo2018-06-26

      Diageo Response

      June 27, 2018Social Media Team

      Hi there and thanks for getting in touch. Your comments have been noted and will be passed on. We wish you all the best in the future. Sue

    Found 1091 reviews