Diageo Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Diageo CEO  Ivan Menezes
Ivan Menezes
600 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Watch your back"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plainfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Diageo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    FANTASTIC health insurance. People were a great team

    Cons

    Union sticks with the company & doesn't have your back. Cameras EVERYWHERE!!! Management watches those cameras for everything and will not hesitate to fire you, period.

    Continue reading

    Diageo Response

    August 2, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi and thanks for leaving us your review. We wish you all the best in your future career. Best regards, Sue.

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Revolving door of senior leadership and young talent"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply in Plainfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Diageo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great portfolio of brands, quarterly allowance for brand ambassadorship which increases based on salary band, weekly pub nights. Promotes culture of diversity and acceptance across all ethnicities, sexual orientation, etc.

    Cons

    Rotating leadership makes it difficult to drive consistent strategy. Decision making is always a moving target. Very young talent pool and horrible turnover rate (nearly 100% turnover in 3 years) due to burn out which perpetuates burn out across the team due to increased workload to compensate for the leavers. Career path planning is nearly impossible. It is difficult to land career path when the roles and players change month on month, year on year. Yearly goals & 'development plans' pencil-whipped for company KPI's. Key functions like HR and IT are globally centralized and contracted out. Open work environment combined with young talent creates a water cooler environment. Rumor mill is rampant.

    Continue reading

    Diageo Response

    August 1, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're happy that you're enjoying the great brands and the promotion of diversity. All your feedback is appreciated and will be passed on to help us in the future. Best regards, Sue

  3. "Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Diageo full-time

    Pros

    *benefits package is very good *great brands

    Cons

    *limited growth opportunities *constant reorgs

    Diageo Response

    July 21, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi and thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with Diageo and wish you every success in your future career. Kind regards, Sue.

  4. "Fun place but rigid structure"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time

    Pros

    Generous product allowance, iconic brands, great share plan. coworkers tend to be fun and switched-on people.

    Cons

    Rigid structure, can be hard to get promotion and requires a lot of networking rather than evidence of good work. somewhat of a meritocracy. prone to constant re-organizations that result in a lot of redundancies.

    Continue reading

    Diageo Response

    July 11, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi, we appreciate your taking the time to leave us your review. We're pleased you enjoy working at Diageo. Your comments on career development and promotion have been noted and passed on to help us improve. We wish you all the best in your career with us. Kind regards, Sue

  5. "Constant change...not always good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexable work schedules, great products, historic brands

    Cons

    Constant organizational changes, flat org...very little advancement opportunities, overdoes diversity

    Continue reading

    Diageo Response

    July 19, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're happy that you're enjoying the flexible working and the products. All your feedback is appreciated and will be passed on to help us in the future. Best regards, Sue

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Director"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time

    Pros

    Focused on improving diversity. Industry's best brands. Innovative marketing and innovation teams. Great opportunities for cross functional movements.

    Cons

    Highly matrixed organization with hold-overs in senior leadership that are not as progressive in their employee engagement as other companies.

    Diageo Response

    June 23, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi, we appreciate your taking the time to leave us your review. We're pleased you enjoy working at Diageo. Your comments on leadership have been noted and passed on to help us improve. We wish you all the best in your career with us. Kind regards, Sue.

  7. Helpful (6)

    "All politics and egos"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Plainfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Diageo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Good opportunities to move into new roles

    Cons

    The Plainfield location is very political. If your manager doesn’t decide they like you - for whatever reason (even personal), you will end up stuck as it’s quite easy for them to block you from moving around out of spite. It felt like high school which was absolutely ridiculous and disappointing to see in what is supposed to be a professional environment You will be overworked and under appreciated. There are clear favorites and it has nothing to do with the best performers - it’s usually the people the leadership feels strokes their egos the most. The senior leadership in Norwalk leading the teams in Plainfield are probably the biggest problem of them all. Behavior starts from above. I wouldn’t recommend this location but the company as a whole can be good They are taking diversity way too far, I love seeing diverse leadership but ONLY when those people are qualified for their role (professional qualifications have gone out the window) Re-orgs every 6-10 months and each time they make less sense then the time before - very unstable Constant turnover because of the terrible way things are run.

    Continue reading

    Diageo Response

    June 27, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi there and thanks for getting in touch. Your comments have been noted and will be passed on. We wish you all the best in the future. Sue

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Innovation Specialist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Diageo full-time

    Pros

    There is good work life balance and the company offers good perks and benefits. Flexible hours if needed. Overall, the company structure is okay.

    Cons

    The people and leadership have ruined this place. Their used to be a fun environment, now all leadership talks about is quotas, diversity and they don't really care about the individuals.

    Continue reading

    Diageo Response

    June 6, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Your feedback and your comments for management have been noted and passed on to help us improve things. All the best in your future career, Sue.

  9. "Brand director at DIAGEO US"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time

    Pros

    Best brands best team to work with

    Cons

    High performance, and long hours

    Continue reading

    Diageo Response

    June 8, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi, we appreciate hearing from you. We're pleased you enjoy working at Diageo. Your comments have been noted and passed on to help us improve. We hope you continue to enjoy your time with us. Kind regards, Sue

  10. "An awesome learning experience working with talented people and fantastic brands."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distributor Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -great Brands -Culture of learning and development -challenges their workforce -pays well across the board vs. competitors -pension plan that rewards long term tenure

    Cons

    -Fianance driven company at all times -slow to make decisions -all roads go through Norwalk -forced diversity initiative that can eliminate good candidates

    Diageo Response

    May 12, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi, thanks for leaving us your comments. We're pleased you enjoy the brands, the culture and the benefits of working with us. Your feedback and advice to management have been noted and will be passed on to help us improve. We hope you continue to enjoy your career at Diageo. All the best, Sue

Found 1307 reviews