Dick Smith Shift Supervisor/Assistant Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Dick Smith Reviews

Updated May 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Dick Smith CEO Nicholas Abboud
Nicholas Abboud
45 Ratings
  1. "Great company, shame it has gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Dick Smith

      Pros

      World famous in Australia Great IT team

      Cons

      The company doesn't exist anymore

      Dick Smith2017-10-09
    • "Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales in Canberra
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Dick Smith for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great workplace, Environment and people to work with

      Cons

      lack of progress in business conpany closure

      Advice to Management

      be better at profit management

      Dick Smith2017-09-19
    • "Store manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Perth, Western Australia
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Dick Smith full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      great team to work with

      Cons

      Senior management had no clue

      Dick Smith2017-08-24
    • "Decent job whilst in high school and university"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Dick Smith for more than a year

      Pros

      Chill team at my store, didn't get heaps of work to do because everyone wants to go JB Hi-Fi anyway, sometimes they would have pretty good promotions and employee-specific promotions

      Cons

      When Woolworths sold D*** Smith, the company which took over made many money-hungry changes. They increased prices on everything, especially accessories (to maximise profits), almost virtually removed casual employment (I had to sign a contract for part time work otherwise as a casual, I would almost never get shifts unless someone went on holiday or to cover someone who called in sick), cut down hours significantly,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Well its closed down now but if ever they resurface from their current online presence with Kogan back to a physical store, I'd say don't be money-hungry.

      Dick Smith2017-05-09
    • "Random"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Dick Smith

      Pros

      Good team. Good pay. Good staff discounts

      Cons

      Management didn't know what they were doing.

      Advice to Management

      Sort your stuff out and get management and everyone else on board to be fully aware of whats going and what needs to be done.

      Dick Smith2017-05-22
    • "Excellent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Yeppoon
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Dick Smith full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great Environment friendly and good place to work

      Cons

      Went into redundancy so left over 8000 staff out of work

      Advice to Management

      Try harder to avoid the mistakes of the past

      Dick Smith2017-02-19
    • "Shift Supervisor aka pretend manager aka blame monkey"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Dick Smith

      Pros

      Excellent POS, great coworkers. Was fun basically watching the place go to hell. Glad I got terminated earlier than everyone else, got a head start on life.

      Cons

      Way too many cons to list. Lol. I am definitely not going to miss the place. Extended warranties and batteries anyone? Maybe we should have gotten an extended warranty on the DSE brand?

      Advice to Management

      Try not to suck in your next jobs. Anyone in a position higher than Store manager was basically a worthless human being. RIP

      Dick Smith2017-02-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "Store Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Dick Smith

      Pros

      Went into Administration due to inability of senior management Store staff were good to work with nothing else positive

      Cons

      Lack of organisation in Head Office Too many senior management with no idea on how to run a large retail company

      Advice to Management

      Don't hire the CEO again

      Dick Smith2017-02-14
    • "Great Atmosphere, Interesting Product Range"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Dick Smith part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Relaxed work environment, good team culture. Interesting product range.

      Cons

      Incentives/bonus lagged behind competitors, unreasonable sales targets.

      Dick Smith2016-12-29
    • "Great management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Melbourne
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Dick Smith part-time

      Pros

      Great manager, fantastic team members,

      Cons

      Targets too high, poor comission

      Dick Smith2016-09-26
    Found 97 reviews