Dick Smith Reviews | Glassdoor

Dick Smith Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Dick Smith CEO Nicholas Abboud
Nicholas Abboud
45 Ratings
  1. "Good pay and hours, Lack of culture and standard corporate heirachy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, Flexible hours, works well around other commitments, great people.

    Cons

    Poor management at a region/national level. Inadequate training, no room for a career whatsoever, every manager hired from outside the company.

    Advice to Management

    Look at the cons, Consider revising the company culture. Companies no longer work in a hierarchal structure, they must be linear, everybody on the same level and page.

    Dick Smith2015-12-21
  2. "Progressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Auckland, Auckland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I enjoy the environment and the systems are very easy to learn. It is a fun place to work I think.

    Cons

    New managers are not getting the support they need and the base manager salaries are dropping which makes it harder to be motivated.

    Advice to Management

    Empower the team - don't micromanage

    Dick Smith2015-10-27
  3. "part time sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith part-time

    Pros

    Technology is interesting, casual atmosphere.

    Cons

    Not enough hours, Really bad management , unobtainable commissions , lots of pressure on attachments and warranty

    Advice to Management

    No focus on simple customer service, commissions structure unobtainable, too many really young workers with no idea about technology.

    Dick Smith2015-11-30
  4. "Sales Consultant (casual)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Parramatta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith

    Pros

    - Can earn commission - Great working culture - Strong synergy with other stores and the head office - Opportunity to work in multiple stores - Nice working conditions - With a wide range of products to sell in different categories you will never get bored - You process sales from approaching the customer to closing the sale - Get paid a significant amount for signing customers in particular Vodafone contracts...

    Show More

    Cons

    - New commission structure that requires 2 Vodafone connections to be created has to be changed (now will only receive 1.5% of GP instead of 3% of GP if this KPI is not fulfilled). Some stores have Vodafone stores in the vicinity making it near to impossible to achieve this target. Furthermore, the demographic that visit smaller stores are not ready to commit to a contract. - This has left workers demotivated...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be a change to the commission structure to exclude the Vodafone connections as a KPI and a consideration in terms of online and store prices.

    Dick Smith2015-10-18
  5. "Dicksmith Electronics - Casual (Launceston Tasmania)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesman in Newcastle
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dick Smith for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Employed me when I was 16, and was able to work pretty flexible days/hours on weekends and when able on holidays. Weekend pay was great and I worked with some great colleagues and bosses.

    Cons

    Not many - technical knowledge would be desirable however when I started I did not know heaps and was given good on the job training. Plenty of walking during the busy periods - which can either be a pro or con depending how you look at it!

    Advice to Management

    Keep weekend bonus rates! I enjoyed the flexibility with my hours as a casual employee so I would recommend this is maintained.

    Dick Smith2015-10-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not to bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dick Smith part-time

    Pros

    Reasonable hours, flexible with university times

    Cons

    Poor pay, ask for goals that can not always be reached in quiet periods

    Advice to Management

    Reconsider how you treat your staff, they want to help you but won't if you don't help them

    Dick Smith2015-10-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Dicksmith"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    dicksmith is a great place to work and so many opportunities to succeed and move through the business.

    Cons

    there is no cons at all working in a dicksmith store it is truly the best place that i have worked at.

    Dick Smith2015-09-27

    Dick Smith Response

    September 29, 2015Communications & Engagement Manager

    Great to hear! Let us know if there is anything else we can do to support your journey with us! -D

  8. "Its an alright job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith

    Pros

    Theres always a good close family team when working at any of the dicksmith stores. You get to play with all the newest tech thats out!

    Cons

    Often upper level management do not take lower level sales staff seriously, and do not consider them. KPI's are often very difficult to achieve, sometimes unobtainable,

    Dick Smith2015-10-03
  9. "Amazing job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Gladstone, Queensland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    that you work with an amazing team and meet new people

    Cons

    some of the customers are complete utter jerks

    Advice to Management

    train to get us more training

    Dick Smith2015-09-08

    Dick Smith Response

    September 29, 2015Communications & Engagement Manager

    Now now, we love everyone equally! it's great to hear that you love the team! We have some super exciting things coming in the training space - keep an eye out! O.o -D

  10. "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith part-time

    Pros

    There are lots of shifts open for people who want them

    Cons

    No HR department - just an email address Cutting hours down Minimum wage

    Advice to Management

    Give more hours to your business, you can't make money without people there to serve.

    Dick Smith2015-09-29
Found 97 reviews