Dick Smith Sales Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Dick Smith Sales Consultant Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Dick Smith CEO Nicholas Abboud
Nicholas Abboud
5 Ratings
  1. "technical sales consultant at Dicksmith"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Sales Consultant in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dick Smith part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are positive and driven

    Cons

    the company closed all its retail stores

    Dick Smith2018-11-12
  2. "Great Atmosphere, Interesting Product Range"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dick Smith part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, good team culture. Interesting product range.

    Cons

    Incentives/bonus lagged behind competitors, unreasonable sales targets.

    Dick Smith2016-12-29
  3. "Very Laid Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Wellington, Wellington
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dick Smith for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of responsibility can be given to you if you are willing to work hard; Excellent way to get sales experience; generous staff discount; amazing people to work with

    Cons

    It's closing very soon; commission structure is stupid and requires a particular percentage of warranties per month of you get paid all or nothing (on top of hourly rate)

    Advice to Management

    Don't turn a classic brand into a liquidating business by abandoning your customers by not keeping them at the center of your business decisions.

    Dick Smith2016-03-10
  4. "Sales Consultant (casual)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Parramatta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith

    Pros

    - Can earn commission - Great working culture - Strong synergy with other stores and the head office - Opportunity to work in multiple stores - Nice working conditions - With a wide range of products to sell in different categories you will never get bored - You process sales from approaching the customer to closing the sale - Get paid a significant amount for signing customers in particular Vodafone contracts...

    Show More

    Cons

    - New commission structure that requires 2 Vodafone connections to be created has to be changed (now will only receive 1.5% of GP instead of 3% of GP if this KPI is not fulfilled). Some stores have Vodafone stores in the vicinity making it near to impossible to achieve this target. Furthermore, the demographic that visit smaller stores are not ready to commit to a contract. - This has left workers demotivated...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be a change to the commission structure to exclude the Vodafone connections as a KPI and a consideration in terms of online and store prices.

    Dick Smith2015-10-18
  5. "Its an alright job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith

    Pros

    Theres always a good close family team when working at any of the dicksmith stores. You get to play with all the newest tech thats out!

    Cons

    Often upper level management do not take lower level sales staff seriously, and do not consider them. KPI's are often very difficult to achieve, sometimes unobtainable,

    Dick Smith2015-10-03
  6. "Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Helensvale
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith part-time

    Pros

    Very casual, awesome team, The best way to learn more about everyday and not so everyday technology! The amount ive learned in less than 3 years will stay with me always and is so very useful. Overall the company is headed in an extremely positive direction.

    Cons

    Some of the changes after the change of ownership from Woolies to Anchorage have really shaken things up. The staff discount is pretty minimal

    Advice to Management

    some of the staff incentives are pretty bad,

    Dick Smith2015-07-26
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Gold Coast
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith

    Pros

    The pros include a good work environment, decent bosses and good opportunities to do well and move up.

    Cons

    The thing I don't like is the commission structure. We're sometimes almost ripped off when it comes to how we are paid commission wise. I have had months where I've sold over $200,000 and gotten only a couple hundred dollars...

    Advice to Management

    To change the commission structure. This will increase moral, employee support and performance of stores.

    Dick Smith2015-07-20
  8. "Casual Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Sales Consultant in Macquarie
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith

    Pros

    Dicksmith Macquarie is a great team of people to work with. Allows for growth in developing people skills and overall friendliness.

    Cons

    Hard to organize the back room since it lacks the space. Need the team to develop good habits in terms of hygiene and also alertness. Smaller teams require more attentiveness with theft.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Hope you guys can provide great products. Smart decision joining with OPPO and hopefully future mid range budget flagship phones.

    Dick Smith2015-07-12
  9. "An outlook on the store operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Darwin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith part-time

    Pros

    Get to know and work with new technology. Friendly environment. Good discount for employees.

    Cons

    Too few employees on the store floor. Too much pressure on achieving targets. Need more organized store operation. Less training and development opportunities for employees. No/less break during the work hours in the store.

    Advice to Management

    More focus should be given on efficient store operation. Store wide employee number should be increased as well. Also most of the stores have too limited storage space at the back. Stock management also needs to be improved.

    Dick Smith2015-05-08
  10. "exciting, learn, friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Sales Consultant in Maddington
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dick Smith for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly team, always learning new technology, funny customers, sharing experiences with technology with everyone

    Cons

    customers can expect too much at times, technology is fast pacing so i cant be expected to know every detail

    Advice to Management

    I'm just a casual worker so don't really have any advice to management

    Dick Smith2015-05-06
Found 10 reviews