Dick Smith Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales

Dick Smith Sales Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Dick Smith CEO Nicholas Abboud
Nicholas Abboud
18 Ratings
  1. "technical sales consultant at Dicksmith"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Sales Consultant in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dick Smith part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are positive and driven

    Cons

    the company closed all its retail stores

    Dick Smith2018-11-12
  2. "Great place to work in but unfortunately they shut down."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dick Smith full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Heaps to learn while earning a good buck. Positive enviroment and attitude towards all the staff from management

    Cons

    No cons apart from that they shut down.

    Dick Smith2018-05-27
  3. "One of the best jobs ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Morwell
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dick Smith part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great manager, fun job, good pay, amazing team, learnt a lot.

    Cons

    The high ups of the company got us closed

    Advice to Management

    Re open for us

    Dick Smith2018-02-11
  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Canberra
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dick Smith for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great workplace, Environment and people to work with

    Cons

    lack of progress in business conpany closure

    Advice to Management

    be better at profit management

    Dick Smith2017-09-19
  5. "Decent job whilst in high school and university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dick Smith for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Chill team at my store, didn't get heaps of work to do because everyone wants to go JB Hi-Fi anyway, sometimes they would have pretty good promotions and employee-specific promotions

    Cons

    When Woolworths sold D*** Smith, the company which took over made many money-hungry changes. They increased prices on everything, especially accessories (to maximise profits), almost virtually removed casual employment (I had to sign a contract for part time work otherwise as a casual, I would almost never get shifts unless someone went on holiday or to cover someone who called in sick), cut down hours significantly,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Well its closed down now but if ever they resurface from their current online presence with Kogan back to a physical store, I'd say don't be money-hungry.

    Dick Smith2017-05-09
  6. "Great Atmosphere, Interesting Product Range"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dick Smith part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, good team culture. Interesting product range.

    Cons

    Incentives/bonus lagged behind competitors, unreasonable sales targets.

    Dick Smith2016-12-29
  7. "Assistant store manager/ Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant/Shift Supervisor in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dick Smith for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Chatting to the customers & having a great laugh.

    Cons

    Cleaning of a big store all the time.

    Advice to Management

    Lazy.

    Dick Smith2016-05-01
  8. "It was okay... while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Dick Smith part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Decent pay and hours. Easy going and casual workplace when the store isn't busy

      Cons

      Upper management was a complete mess Insufficient training, pay could have been hired

      Advice to Management

      Actually manage your business.

      Dick Smith2016-04-01
    • "Very Laid Back"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Wellington, Wellington
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Dick Smith for more than a year

      Pros

      A lot of responsibility can be given to you if you are willing to work hard; Excellent way to get sales experience; generous staff discount; amazing people to work with

      Cons

      It's closing very soon; commission structure is stupid and requires a particular percentage of warranties per month of you get paid all or nothing (on top of hourly rate)

      Advice to Management

      Don't turn a classic brand into a liquidating business by abandoning your customers by not keeping them at the center of your business decisions.

      Dick Smith2016-03-10
    • "Means to an end"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Melbourne
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Dick Smith part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      I worked with great people which made it bearable.

      Cons

      Not much staff incentives to do well. Very little time invested in staff to coach and improve sales. Management was continuously changing which is a testament to how their head office works. Their current situation is of no surprise to me.

      Advice to Management

      Treat your employees well and they will work harder for you. If employees are in a happy working environment then I guarantee you, overall performance will improve.

      Dick Smith2016-02-10
    Found 45 reviews