Dickey's Barbecue Reviews | Glassdoor

Dickey's Barbecue Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 211 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Roland Dickey, Jr.
109 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food depending on who is managing the store(in 9 reviews)

  • "Depending on who owns the particular restaurant you could get good pay raises(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay as to be expected in food service(in 11 reviews)

  • "No work-life balance, bullying culture, does not care about the people(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work hard, great team, good career path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director, Project Management in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dickey's Barbecue full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Full disclosure, I’m a current, happy employee. Having been with Dickey’s for over eight years, I can say I love the company and I love my job. You’re definitely challenged here, and your work matters. You can build your own career. It’s a meritocracy. It’s fast paced. Put in the time and effort and you’ll be rewarded. If you want a career, not just a job, this is a good company. If you want 9-5 and just an easy...

    Show More

    Cons

    It’s very, very, very fast-paced. You do have to deal with a few very challenging franchisees, most are great, but a few are ridiculous.

    Advice to Management

    Summer hours.

    Dickey's Barbecue2019-02-27
  2. "Terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dickey's Barbecue part-time

    Pros

    Easy Work , Good Pay

    Cons

    Terrible management , unorganized, didn’t follow company standards

    Dickey's Barbecue2019-04-01
  3. "Awesome Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dickey's Barbecue full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    To begin, this is the not the first family run company that I’ve worked for, but it has certainly been the most rewarding and supportive. The Dickey family has embraced me as one of their own, and in the years I have worked for them, I’ve felt nothing but their support and care. As with any job in the restaurant industry, the demands of the job are high, but the rewards at this brand are even higher. I a, held accountable,...

    Show More

    Cons

    I have to leave something here, so I’ll say this....I don’t care much for the potato salad, but the rest of the food is awesome.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for everything you’ve done, personally and professionally, for so many of us.

    Dickey's Barbecue2019-02-23
  4. "Accountability and Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dickey's Barbecue full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to learn new things. Casual atmosphere.

    Cons

    Lots of people on phones in open work space

    Dickey's Barbecue2019-02-23
  5. "Waste of your skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dickey's Barbecue full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Easy work hours, kinda slow

    Cons

    False promises, two faced, liars

    Advice to Management

    Talk to employees when theres an issue, and come up with a resolution instead of waiting til "10" incidents to mention it to them and then write them up. Give employees the hours they were promised. Not showing blatant favouritism towards other employees. Work out a way for employees to get benefits.

    Dickey's Barbecue2019-03-25
  6. "Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Dickey's Barbecue

      Pros

      Good environment, not crazy busy, easy.

      Cons

      You get barely any hours, crappy pay, rude costumers tend to come in a lot more than usual.

      Dickey's Barbecue2019-02-09
    • "i was searching for growth in the business, i was promised positions that never saw through."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Dickey's Barbecue

        Pros

        Dickey’s was a great starting job where management was flexible with schedules.

        Cons

        The staff coming in has no proper training and the pay is horrible. All management has to say to our suggestions was “no”.

        Advice to Management

        Listen to your employees and give the people who deserve promotions the opportunity to move up in the company. Also don’t hire drug attics.

        Dickey's Barbecue2019-03-14
      • "It's Dickey's"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Franchise in Dallas, TX

        I worked at Dickey's Barbecue full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great Franchisees and Great Barbecue.

        Cons

        Don't have very much to say about that.

        Dickey's Barbecue2019-01-22
      • "Fun First Job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Cashier 
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Dickey's Barbecue part-time (Less than a year)

          Pros

          good hours, free food while working, small staff

          Cons

          low pay but it was a first job

          Dickey's Barbecue2019-01-17
        • "Unbelievably unprofessional"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Dickey's Barbecue full-time

          Pros

          A very few good employees

          Cons

          Everything! Management, salary, benefits, culture

          Dickey's Barbecue2019-02-18
        Found 211 reviews