Diebold Nixdorf Field Service Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Diebold Nixdorf Field Service Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.8
32%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Diebold Nixdorf President and CEO Gerrard B. Schmid (no image)
Gerrard B. Schmid
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Field Service Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Engineer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Diebold Nixdorf full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Founded in 1859 and one of Americas oldest companies...

    Cons

    A positive through a Negative

    Advice to Management

    Working on it...

    Diebold Nixdorf2016-10-19
  2. "Field service engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Engineer in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Diebold Nixdorf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    get to work my preferred shifts

    Cons

    poor management no glue on how to run a service company

    Advice to Management

    Give techs in the filed a listening hear, they are in the field everyday they should have a good idea of what's going on.

    Diebold Nixdorf2016-06-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Field Service Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Engineer in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Diebold Nixdorf full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This company provided very good benefits and the pay was very competitive. Company provided service van, gas card, tools, laptop, cellphone, etc. The training was excellent.

    Cons

    The company combined with one of it's competitors and the company went downhill. All this new company wanted was numbers to make shareholders happy. You were treated with no respect and you could be replaced any time. Their new products were unstable. The sales team signed terrible contracts with customers promising too much and couldn't keep up the promise.

    Advice to Management

    No advice to my former management because they were laid off or found new jobs.

    Diebold Nixdorf2016-06-17
  4. "Cost of using third party companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Field Service Engineer in Sacramento, CA

    I worked at Diebold Nixdorf for more than a year

    Pros

    Let you to do your job without having an excessive pressure on your back. Provide everything you need to do the job. Decent pay, taking care of their employees.

    Cons

    Make sudden decisions toward the way of doing business. Your job may dissapear within couple of days without a notice. There is no job security.

    Advice to Management

    Third party company you used in sevicing your products caused you to lose big chunk of business to your competitor in 2013-2014. That's where all started.

    Diebold Nixdorf2016-01-26
  5. "Good Company in a Volatile Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Engineer II in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Diebold Nixdorf full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big company: their benefits, online systems, and processes make parts of your job easier. Good benefits, no 90-day waiting period to get on their insurance. Salaried position, 8 hours minimum paid per day, overtime and travel time also paid. During my time there, my days-off were safe (not ordered to run calls). Also, as long as you do your job, managers seem to treat field techs as professionals, not micro-managing them.

    Show More

    Cons

    Varied schedule may be annoying to you or your family, possibility of rotating days-off. A customer complaint may put you out of a job, with no opportunity to defend or improve yourself. Your customers (banks, casinos) may give next year's service contracts to a competitor to save a penny. You and dozens of your coworkers can be laid off with, literally, a day's notice.

    Advice to Management

    Number one, in my book: Feedback or complaints about a tech should go to the TECH AND his manager, so a defense, fix or improvement can be documented. If you think I made a mistake, take five minutes to confront me about it, so it can be resolved. Example: After being on the job only 4 or 5 months, a customer complained about me, to their equipment vendor (NRT Technology), and NRT demanded of Wincor that I be replaced (fired). Only three months and 2 managers later did I get a call about it ( 'heads-up! Did you know your job was in jeopardy...?). Too late to salvage the situation, I would say!

    Show More
    Diebold Nixdorf2015-11-11
  6. "Field Service Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Service Engineer in West Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Diebold Nixdorf

    Pros

    Company vehicle, overtime, can't think of anything else positive to say

    Cons

    Long hours, constantly changing schedule, below average binnifits

    Diebold Nixdorf2015-09-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Field Service Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Diebold Nixdorf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Its a job. At least I had a pay check. I am trying to think of one good thing but I'm drawing a blank.

    Cons

    Slave hours, worked 60+ hours some weeks, no career advancement available because executives refuse to promote from within. Rare wage increases and very small when they did come. Bloated management, cutting techs every year. No support from management, Worst place I ever worked.

    Diebold Nixdorf2015-04-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A company staying ahead in competition and profit margins, always for a better outcome."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Engineer in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diebold Nixdorf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a field service tech, work starts from home, no pressure, plenty of overtime if you want it, vehicle provided, parts and support provided. Paid a fixed salary at 40 hr work week and some days there are fewer calls.

    Cons

    None to make aware of that isn't true for majority of all jobs. A better ticket debriefing system would be nice.

    Advice to Management

    Hang in there, it can only get better. A lot is being asked of management with many changes going on, but I can only see a better future.

    Diebold Nixdorf2014-07-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Hires unqualified managers. No respect for Field techs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Diebold Nixdorf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of overtime, Worked with some good field techs.

    Cons

    No work life balance. Company does not have enough employee manpower, for service contracts in all areas. Outsourced dispatch team from Mexico who have no clue of job duties. New managers coming into company Have no clue on how to run a field service team.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers Who actually understand field services, and did work in the field before. Create some sort of work life balance for field employees. Hire manager who have not lied on resume to get a position.

    Diebold Nixdorf2014-07-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Experience Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Engineer in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Diebold Nixdorf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They give you all the tools to do your job.

    Cons

    Too much mandatory overtime. Little support or poor support .

    Advice to Management

    Your techs are humans with families , not robots . If you keep the moral low you will get poor work.

    Diebold Nixdorf2014-06-30
Found 23 reviews