Diesel Reviews | Glassdoor

Diesel Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Diesel CEO Renzo Rosso
Renzo Rosso
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "clothing allowance, rabatt und gute atmosphere(in 18 reviews)

  • "It was FUN, free clothes, definitely the most relaxed environment I had ever been in retail(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Part time workers don’t get enough thanks(in 7 reviews)

  • "Diesel has a strict open availability policy for full-time employees(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Cool place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Diesel full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and also hours

    Cons

    Weekends are mandatory, but that’s retail

    Diesel2018-08-16
  2. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Diesel part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, allows to fix up shifts whenever

    Cons

    Commission based check, pay can change depending on sales

    Diesel2019-12-30
  3. "Fun environment and great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Diesel full-time

    Pros

    Less stuffy than other medium/high end brands. Worked with a lot of creative people and upper management cared about their teams.

    Cons

    Benefits and time off weren’t great. Long blackout periods during holiday.

    Diesel2019-10-18
  4. "It’s ok if you’re look for an easy retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Diesel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Clothing allowance 50% off discount

    Cons

    Closing stores have managers on edge Communication is bad between corporate & stores Lots of work and not the most competitive pay

    Diesel2019-07-16
  5. "good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Diesel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule, good working environment

    Cons

    corporate will not have your back. HR will not have your back. saw over 13 employees come and go due to problems with management and when they went to HR to find a resolution were hit with unfair treatment.

    Advice to Management

    stop treating your work environment like a dictatorship.

    Diesel2019-06-20
  6. "Friendly company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diesel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very good health insurance, vacation time and clothing allowance, friendly and fair environment.

    Cons

    No work from home culture, unless it is an emergency or inclement weather.

    Diesel2019-03-06
  7. "Competitive, Confusing, Chaotic... but sometimes fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Diesel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Your manager really makes or breaks your experience with this company, and I was lucky to work for 1 good store mgr and one amazing store mgr. Also had some fantastic co-workers, and managed to have a lot of fun at work most days. Good employee discount on clothes.

    Cons

    Company advertises room for growth, but it's mostly BS. People in mgmt or home office rarely leave their positions and if they do, the hiring process does not prioritize current employees. Also, constant chaos and competition. Policies change all the time for no good reason. If you're in a major city, you can earn big bucks. Otherwise, though, the company has really unrealistic ideas about how easily their sales associates should be selling $400 pairs of jeans. They're also going through a brand transition, but don't seem to have a solid vision of where they're heading, and long-time loyal customers are confused by the new aesthetics. Corporate is more disorganized than they have any business being. If you have a problem while working there, don't expect HR to handle it quickly or professionally. Worked for one store through a closing; corporate had just hired a full-time manager who moved across the country with his 2 yr old child for the job, and then they gave us less than 3 weeks notice of the store closing, even though it was obvious from viewing store planning materials that they had been planning to close our store for almost 6 months. I honestly don't know if they just didn't care about what they did to this man's life, or if they were too disorganized to notice. They also once accidentally fired me via email over a paperwork error while I was on FMLA leave.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You can't expect people to pay this much for party clothes if the company is run by a bunch of confused and distracted cokeheads.

    Diesel2019-01-29
  8. "Great people poor managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Diesel part-time

    Pros

    + people I worked with + compensation

    Cons

    - Company owners made poor decisions

    Diesel2019-01-06
  9. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Diesel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, cool culture & clothing allowance

    Cons

    Pay structure could be better. Sales supervisors are expected to manage store while selling to keep their jobs. Sometimes difficult to juggle. Commission based can always become competitive. Upper management is based on politics and favorites

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your staff!

    Diesel2018-12-17
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Diesel full-time

    Pros

    Everything there was great. I loved it

    Cons

    The mall hours in the outlet

    Diesel2018-08-08
Found 224 reviews