DigiStream "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

DigiStream Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
DigiStream Founder Will Aaronson (no image)
Will Aaronson
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company is built by investigators who started in the field(in 11 reviews)

  • "Hard work, critical thinking, and creativity are rewarded(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and unpredictable scheduling(in 14 reviews)

  • "This is essentially children trying to save insurance companies money so they can feel badass tracking claimants thru Walmart(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great opportunity for those willing put in the work to build a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Operations Manager in Trenton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DigiStream full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - The company is built by investigators who started in the field. - Bottom up mentality. - Opportunity exists in multiple career paths. - Hard work, critical thinking, and creativity are rewarded. I've held multiple positions throughout the company including Field Investigator, Lead Investigator, Field Operations Manager, and General Manager. My experience with DigiStream is that opportunity is abundant for... those willing to work for it, speak up about their goals, and drive toward accomplishing them. All of my ideas over the years were listened to and considered, and those that were worthwhile were implemented and tested. I saw many of my colleagues and team members grow in their careers to leadership positions and it was almost entirely through their own ambition and dedication. Nothing is handed to you in this company, everything is earned.

    Show More

    Cons

    Field Investigator - Long hours and travel - Fluid schedule that changes regularly - complete self-reliance and self-discipline required. By it's nature, investigating in the field comes with a lot of challenges. You are faced with a ton of variables and obsticals on a daily basis but you are still expected to perform at the highest level of quality and skill. This is not easy by any stretch of the imagination..., but if you have the correct disposition and outlook when in the field, it can be a really fun job unlike any other. Beyond field investigations I didn't experience any real cons to the company. The culture and dynamic of the people is very positive in nature. It's all a team effort and that sense of a shared goal being driven toward brings everyone together. The quality of the people at the company always impresses me. At no point have I ever felt like the smartest person in the room, but I've always felt that I belonged in every room and that my voice was heard.

    Show More
    DigiStream2018-01-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity for ambitious graduates; stable work flow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investigator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DigiStream full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Independent work; this looks great on any resume. Young entry-level investigators get a remarkable opportunity to market themselves as responsible professionals. Many agencies aggressively seek out young professionals that have a history of working independently, without accountability concerns. This is a great way to attest to the trust any prospective employer can place in you. -Tremendous growth opportunities... in the company; DigiStream is rapidly expanding, and doors are opening for young professionals that just don't exist in other established companies in the industry. -Stability; shortage of work is never the case. These positions aren't contracted so they have a vested interest in your success. DigiStream is actively expanding their services for further growth and stability, all while maintaining excellence and focus on their bread and butter, which is surveillance.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Long hours; lots of travel, last minute rush cases. It is easy to get burned out quickly in the first year, if you are not focused on the long term benefits of the position. My best advise is to turn down as few assignments as possible. As you advance, you will be rewarded with the gratification received from clients. The bottom line is, there are not many companies that will are willing to take on the work toll... that this brand is, and it is truly setting them apart. -You are evaluated based on minute totals in surveillance. Although this may seem out of your control, the truth is that the law of averages will come in to play, and the investigators with the discipline to take advantage of every opportunity presented to them are the ones who consistently see the most success, and they are making a name for themselves within the brand. -Prior aspirations; you may not have previously aspired to join the private sector level of investigations. But it may be a blessing in disguise because the opportunities here seem to often out-weigh previous entry-level aspirations that you may have had prior to entering into the private industry. (ex: federal, state, & local gov't).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to be more engaging with the entry-level investigators. With that being said, although the first couple years may seem too much at times, it is more or less a right of passage. The employees that the brand is looking for to advance in the company are the ones that can take the challenge head on, and find success in doing that.

    DigiStream2017-06-19
  3. "Burnout job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at DigiStream

    Pros

    Get to tell people you're a PI company mini van with wifi Good pay Growing company

    Cons

    Long hours Long driving overnight Lonely No consecutive days off

    Advice to Management

    Give consecutive days off without having to travel to next case.

    DigiStream2017-06-06
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Great company, great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Investigator in Haddonfield, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DigiStream

    Pros

    Paid from the moment you leave your house to the moment you get back. Technically an hourly position which is very good, as the nature of the job makes you travel a lot and you work long hours. Management is very friendly and understanding. Do your job and they will go out of their way to help you out. All equipment is given to you- cameras, computer, wifi hotspot, vehicle, and many extras. A lot of companies... make you drive your personal vehicle. Gas and maintenance is paid for on the vehicle. Company is growing. New offices opening up every year, room for growth and movement if you want. Treats employees very well. Doesn't try to "trap" its employees. Encourages you to chase better opportunities and grow as a professional!

    Show More

    Cons

    "Slow season" at the end of the year. Very long hours. Sometimes you don't know what time/where/if you will work until the night before. Hard to make plans. Pay could be a little better, but with overtime it makes up for it.

    DigiStream2016-10-26
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Field Investigator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DigiStream

    Pros

    Responsibility and Independence starting day 1 of the Job. Very friendly management, Digistream really cares about who manages the Investigators. I knew almost nothing about conducting surveillance when I started the Job but quickly became very effective thanks to the constant support and understanding of management.

    Cons

    Lots of driving, however all driving was done while on the clock. Long hours and unpredictable scheduling. Though management is very understanding and would always accommodate any scheduling requests I made.

    DigiStream2016-06-14
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Entirely numbers based, be wary of what you are getting into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Investigator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DigiStream full-time

    Pros

    Entry level private investigator job. This company got my foot in the door of the PI industry, and now I make more money elsewhere. They also provide all the equipment you need, including a vehicle, which is great. Bosses are easy to get along with as long as you are doing well You get paid for your commute: from the moment you step into the van to the moment you exit it at home. They pay for your gas and... reimburse you for part of your cell phone bill and expenses. They give you (as of when I left) $35 a night for per diem when you had to stay in a hotel.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are a lot, so I will try and be brief so you will actually read this: -Local offices get a LOT of pressure from corporate to be competitive with other offices, particularly regarding amount of film captured on claimants. Be aware that a lot of this is out of your control, and if you see numbers drop for a couple consecutive months you will hear about it. When you saw this job advertisement online and... wondered if this is "too good to be true", this is the part that is. Depending on what regional office you are in, you may be doomed from the start. Past accomplishments aren't taken into account; the managers have a memory that lasts maybe 3 months tops. I saw a guy be number one on the national leaderboard one month, and be fired 6 months later because his numbers were low. I'm not trying to discourage you from taking this job, but be aware of this and have a plan if you see the warning signs coming. Warning signs to look out for would be passive aggressive emails talking about "performance", verbal warnings, write ups, you boss randomly showing up at your cases to see if you are doing things right. Things get crazy pretty quick. I was lucky and got out before this happened to me. - Long hours: be prepared to work 50+ hours a week fairly regularly. Be prepared to drive a lot and travel long distances. Depending on where you are, you may be gone overnight a fair bit. Where I was located, I was gone maybe a couple nights a month, but some guys were spending up to 2 weeks a month in hotels. This can be a good thing if you like being away from home.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I know this is probably out of your control, but try and be a little more understanding in the slow months. You burn people out with these tactics.

    DigiStream2016-05-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Investigator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DigiStream full-time

    Pros

    Management is great and friendly. From the bottom to the top. Don't have to drive your own car. Different everyday where you go.

    Cons

    Hours and pay. 80 hours a week or more and the checks just don't make up for the long hours and weekends

    DigiStream2016-06-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Investigator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Investigator 
    Recommends

    I have been working at DigiStream

    Pros

    -Decent pay -Great co-workers -Equipment provided -Bonus opportunities

    Cons

    -Long hours -No set start time

    DigiStream2015-11-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at DigiStream full-time

    Pros

    You work Independently on your own and the company provides all necessary training and equipment.

    Cons

    You work long hours and the work/ life balance takes a hit.

    DigiStream2015-10-28
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Entry level Private Investigations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Private Investigator/Field Investigator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DigiStream full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very rarely ever work at night (I can count on one hand the amount of times investigators went out at night, it has to be very very special circumstances) They are willing to train new investigators with little or no previous experience, pay is somewhat acceptable for the work (considering they purchase a new vehicle for you, arrange room & board, provide you with all the equipment necessary for the job and you... can expense report a lot of useful tools with permission from the office management) Paid commute, which is nice when you're driving 5+ hours back home. (Always lots of work in smaller towns across the country) The company does make the effort to show that they care about their employees, they are a family run company that try to make you feel welcomed (Can always do more but hey at least they try) Management takes a genuine concern for employee's safety when they are in the field (Your not helping anybody by getting yourself or anyone else hurt, but the job can get somewhat dangerous at times and its nice to know your not being hard pressed for results) I can't speak for every office but the one I was dispatched out of was this way and it was very appreciated. They encourage a team environment, call your coworkers up and talk to them about cases and discuss strategy. Get to see new places all the time, you will get a good appreciation of small town America They do offer tuition reimbursement (again, you have to have it approved by management) I believe it is enough to get around two courses a semester although it has to be related to the work (Psychology, Sociology, Criminal Justice, Law are the obvious ones but hey if you can plead your case to HR well enough that it makes you do your job better they may work with you... just make sure you can do it online or at night because LOTS of overtime!) Driving skills get better every day as your job is to drive and drive very well. Your friends will think you're cooler than you really are.

    Show More

    Cons

    Schedule is literally day to day, do not bother making plans you will never be able to keep them unless they matter enough to call off work and give your manager a headache You will feel underpaid without overtime (don't worry you'll get lots of that) Too much overtime at times. Six day work weeks are pretty normal, if you're good at your job they may be hard pressed to even give you a day off during times... where they have a backlog of cases that need to be looked after. (They make up for this though with very generous PTO & Sick time) The clients can be difficult to work with at times (They provide you with bad information, but hey its YOUR job to find that anyway right?) Long hours over the road, at times you can be gone for a week possibly more depending on the circumstances (they try to keep these situations to a minimum when your gone for extremely long periods of time but it can happen and you will have to deal with it, only positive of this is they will not stack more cases on you when you are already out on a long trip, they know you only have a limited number of supplies) Your work will be your life, if your not okay with this burnout is a very high probability and you will not want to get in the driver seat anymore. Winter time is not your friend (If you work in a region that does not snow ignore this) The work gets more infrequent, road conditions are poorer (more chances for car accidents yay!) You work alone 99.9% of the time, if you like being around people this job is not for you. The people you are interacting with on the job you will be lying to their faces and feeding absolute BS just to get your job done, genuine interactions are very rare if ever. You are only getting 50% of the P.I experience, and its the most volatile part.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Tell your investigators as soon as possible when they won't be working the next day, it really sucks to waste a rare evening you have to yourself because you don't know if your going to have to wake up at 4am in the morning

    DigiStream2015-05-29
Found 14 reviews