Digital First Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Digital First Media Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 143 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
9%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
John Paton
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "DFM was ahead of its time with AdTaxi and continues to lead(in 8 reviews)

  • "Many employees have been with the company for a long time and are decent, hard-working people(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very low pay, limited guidance and support(in 10 reviews)

  • "DFM is one of the largest laughing stocks of the journalism industry(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Chief Innovation Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Digital First Media full-time

      Pros

      Changing too fast for the whole industry, not enough HR spending.

      Cons

      Great vision, the environment was very good.

      Digital First Media2018-07-31
    • "Not easy to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Advertising Account Executive in San Jose, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Digital First Media full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good pay and benefits

      Cons

      Constant harassment of employees for unobtainable goals in a declining industry

      Advice to Management

      Manager Training needed

      Digital First Media2019-05-08
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Digital First Media full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great staff, I’m still friends with them.

      Cons

      Poor management. Lay-offs imminent across the board.

      Digital First Media2019-04-02
    • Helpful (2)

      "Out-of-touch Frat Boys running the company into the ground"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lowell, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Digital First Media part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good people work here, it's only a matter of how long they stay.

      Cons

      Terrible pay/Management doesn't know how to manage.

      Digital First Media2019-02-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Awful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Reporter in Mount Clemens, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Digital First Media full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      There are none. Just terrible.

      Cons

      Hedge-fund owned. Employees fired every quarter. Papers a distant shadow of what they once were.

      Advice to Management

      Pitiful.

      Digital First Media2019-01-20
    • "If you work for DFM/MNG and cannot see the writing on the wall, you will only have yourself to blame."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Digital First Media full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      After several years there, they no longer existed.

      Cons

      The Corporate management clique are all nasty.

      Advice to Management

      When did you ever listen to employees' advice? BTW, John Paton (see below) has been gone for years. Michael Koren is the CEO.

      Digital First Media2018-10-31
    • "0 Vision, 0 Enthusiasm, Below Average Execution"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Digital First Media full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      My immediate manager was a terrific guy. Hard working but had way too much pressure put on him. I learned a lot about digital campaign management since i had to do my own. Learning what not to do and to be dead honest with a client is the only way to roll...because they were not.

      Cons

      I worked in sales but had to handle my own accounts receivable. Execution of digital campaigns was really weak judging it by what I have learned since. Products were wide open to digital fraud, which wasn't fully their fault but were sold nevertheless...as is still the case with many digital marketers.

      Advice to Management

      None, it's beyond that.

      Digital First Media2018-09-26
    • "Advertising Coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Digital First Media full-time

      Pros

      I liked my co-workers and my manager

      Cons

      Low pay, terrible benefits, constant fear of losing your job.

      Digital First Media2018-10-22
    • "Reporter"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Reporter 

      I have been working at Digital First Media full-time

      Pros

      Flexibility, community focused coverage, good entry level opportunity for a recent grad

      Cons

      Very low pay, limited guidance and support

      Digital First Media2018-08-29
    • "Sales Exec"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Digital First Media full-time

      Pros

      I made a lot of money in my first 10 months and met some great people

      Cons

      It is a slow moving beast that is trying to compete in a nimble environment.

      Digital First Media2018-08-03
    Found 143 reviews