Digital River "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Digital River Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Mar 28, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Digital River CEO Adam Coyle
Adam Coyle
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unlimited PTO, benefits, beer Fridays(in 34 reviews)

  • "I work in the Marketforce team, so i can not speak on behalf of everyone, but just in the Marketforce, there are great people and a positive energy(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work / Life balance can sometimes be out of canter - but then this is the fun you have with agency work(in 16 reviews)

  • "Senior management have no sensible plan for long-term growth and profitability (how is a 20-year-old business unprofitable without one large client(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Sr. Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Program Manager in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Digital River for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent place to work. There are a lot of opportunities for advancement, challenging work, and skill development.

    Cons

    The work/life balance could be better and senior management is not always professional.

    Digital River2015-05-28
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Business first, employees second"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Digital River full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours are great. Many great and talented coworkers

    Cons

    Everything is about cost cutting. Meaningful benefits have gotten worse, constant relocating of staff to offshore contracting firms, and if you don't work on revenue generating projects, you don't seem to matter to senior management. If you become a key employee with a lot of institutional knowledge, your job security goes up, but your work life balance will get much worse.

    Continue reading
    Digital River2017-03-23

    Digital River Response

    March 27, 2017Manager Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your comments and take your advice seriously. We do have many benefits and events that we believe show how much we value our people. From FTO (Flexible Time Off) to 13 weeks paid maternity/paternity leave as well as our family friendly events like office trick or treating or Santa’s visits, we believe our employees are at the heart of everything we do. In the last two years we implemented a strong bonus program where employees share in the success of the company. All of this shows our commitment to strengthening benefits and our commitment to what employees see when the company performs. Strategic change can be hard but we hope all we are doing pays off for the company and our employees.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (7)

    "leaving was a blessing in disguise, glad I did"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lead in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Digital River

    Pros

    Highly talented individuals Good fun in the office I worked in In the early days we had Xmas parties in Germany, soccer tournaments in Europe Learned tonnes about my job Got great guidance from my Managers, some of whom were excellent. Great travel opportunities Worked with team members in Asia,Europe, USA, South America Wii xbox and playstation in the break room Paid the mortgage for a few years, bought a few cars, had some holidays and could afford a decent social life. Some excellent lunches and meals when travelling which contributed to learning more about the world. Really was a great company to work for. But all masterpieces have a passage where the key players think they need to take action to do better and they don't. Julius Caesar, King Lear, Walter White, Digital River.

    Cons

    To progress one needed to work their backside off or be pretty ruthless. I chose to work. Finishing salary was on a par with lower level roles in other jobs There was a takeover that upper Management focused on. The whole point of the takeover seemed to be to make huge money for Senior Management. The long term viability of the company was an after thought. A bit like killing a piglet for its meat today without thinking how fat the pig could get Time and again a top new executive would arrive with powerpoint presentations buzz words and ideas. A few months later they would be gone. A year later a new executive would join and regurgitate the fallen comarade's ideas. How this company terminates people's roles is weird. It is a bit like grandma having an accidental poo in the pants at xmas meetup and her being whisked off home and nobody being allowed talk about it. The only way to find out who had left was to check outlook. For years I had to send myself mails from my personal email to see had I been canned. I was once told that when I would leave the company I would suddenly see all the flaws Digital River has. A month after leaving I saw this. The company is a distant memory now, but I just look back and smile thinking of the disorganised chaos that used to reign there. The company makes a big deal about the business it conducts at thanksgiving but other companies do that business in an hour. Like that uncle at your wedding telling young girls how he almost got a place in the Tampa Bay Bucs squad for the 95 superbowl only to drop a can of beer on his big toe.

    Continue reading
    Digital River2015-06-11
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Director, Client Delivery in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Digital River for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good People, good work & fast paced

    Cons

    Senior Management, lack of clarity on strategy

    Digital River2015-05-28
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Digital River

    Pros

    Ecommerce is a growing and dynamic industry. The company has global operations. Nice facility with cafeteria and gym.

    Cons

    Digital River has been struggling to adapt to changes in the ecommerce market that have put pressure on its revenue and margins. There have been a number of restructurings, changes in senior management, and the company was sold to a private equity firm in early 2015. (Note comments from other reviewers about lack of strategy and constantly changing priorities.) You may still find opportunities here, but make sure you understand what you are getting into.

    Digital River2015-04-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Time working at Digital River"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Development in Edina, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Digital River

    Pros

    Excellent individuals foster a team mentality to complete huge projects in spite of how the projects are managed.

    Cons

    Some members of Management make decisions on remote offices without ever having visited those offices. The company is too US focused/Managed. There are talented people in worldwide offices not listened to. Those who work hardest to make projects a success are often forgotten once those projects go live. Senior Management are ineffective at communication. No learning from project to project. As a commerce provider the company fails to effectively manage key clients.

    Continue reading
    Digital River2015-03-11
  7. Helpful (3)

    "We can't stop here this is bat country"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Digital River full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Nice people * Somewhat flexible hours depending on what department you reside in * Small advancement opportunities * Travel opportunities depending on the department

    Cons

    * Senior management cares about senior management (could be a pro depending on what your applying for) * All these talks about fixing previous managements mistakes with vague terms and overly simplified flow charts that answer nothing and after two years have showed very little to no improvement. * Don't take a job in IT or a job that requires you to work with the IT group. They will kill your smile and soul with their poor attitudes.

    Continue reading
    Digital River2014-08-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "No direction & terrible senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Digital River full-time

    Pros

    The people below director level are great. Beer Friday, Dog Day, travel if you're in the right group.

    Cons

    Politics at it's finest. You could be the most unqualified person in the building but if the VP's like you, you can get paid for doing next to nothing. Their products are years behind the competition with 40% of their business coming from one customer. If that customer leaves they're screwed. Senior management just realized they need to have redundant applications after years of ignoring the problem

    Continue reading
    Digital River2014-03-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Digital River is a great place to work because of its people and its global presence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Principal Engineer in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Digital River

    Pros

    Work culture, people and perks. Flexible timings. Great technical leadership. Good place to be if you want to work in a software engineering shop. Extremely cohesive engineering teams.

    Cons

    Too much driven by client and competition. Not very strategy driven. Senior management still trying to figure out where it wants to be. Too many strategic shift in last couple of years.

    Continue reading
    Digital River2011-11-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great people working hard to achieve failure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Digital River

    Pros

    Great Work life balance. Caring managers. Solid Parent company. Fun location in downtown Provo. And great camaraderie among co workers.

    Cons

    No strategy for success. Senior management does not give a voice to others. 1990's technology tends to make opportunities to stay current difficult. Little will to go do new things to succeed.

    Continue reading
    Digital River2010-12-30
Found 13 reviews