Digital River "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Digital River Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Digital River CEO Adam Coyle
Adam Coyle
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unlimited PTO, benefits, beer Fridays(in 34 reviews)

  • "I work in the Marketforce team, so i can not speak on behalf of everyone, but just in the Marketforce, there are great people and a positive energy(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work / Life balance can sometimes be out of canter - but then this is the fun you have with agency work(in 16 reviews)

  • "Senior management have no sensible plan for long-term growth and profitability (how is a 20-year-old business unprofitable without one large client(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Good atmosphere and great way to learn about ECommerce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Digital River full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every department is different, which is why the reviews vary so much, but I've been really happy with the work/life balance, as well as the management and mentors available. If you're interested in the ECommerce world, Digital River can manage just about everything in that scope. With all the departments that are available, you can continue to learn about the processes and functionality of each. Again, I've been really happy with the benefits, ability to work from home if necessary, and the friendly co-workers. I have a great team and group to work with, which makes it easy to come to work, on top of all the other great incentives. Bring your dog to work day, Beer Friday, Patio time in the summer...

    Cons

    Although you have access to other teams and departments, there are not a lot of times that they get integrated. You really have to reach out to others to get to know people outside of your 'zone'.

    Continue reading
    Digital River2016-02-03
  2. Helpful (7)

    "I probably need therapy after ending this relationship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Digital River full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I’m trying really hard but I can’t think of 1 thing that is worth it. Sure they have beer Friday’s (you’ll be lucky if you can go). Flexible time off (they just don’t want you to earn PTO because when they lay you off they will have to pay you out your PTO) It was nice having a cafeteria in the building because I never had time to go to lunch. I would much rather have time to take my lunch. So yeah, nothing they offer is worth it to me.

    Cons

    There are so many to list. Here we go! There is NO work life balance. If you care about your family and your health this isn’t the company for you. This can vary significantly across departments, but the expectation of the company is that you are available when they need you any day any time. When you leave work expect that you’ll be logging in when you get home and working a few more hours. If you are the type of person that gives everything to your employer then you might like it here. The employees are rude to each other, being respectful is not required. So if you like to be mean to people and you like being treated like that then this is your company. Layoffs. The question is not will layoffs happen, it’s when. And it’s not when in the next year it’s when in the next few months. Layoffs will happen and probably more then 1 time a year. It seems to have become standard business procedure there. The company is not doing well. The investment company that owns DR is moving every job they can overseas and selling any part of the company they can. If you decide to work here, good luck!

    Continue reading
    Digital River2019-02-09

    Digital River Response

    February 13, 2019Manager Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback. Although we regret to hear you didn't have the best experience here, we take all feedback we receive very seriously to make Digital River a great workplace for our employees. Culture and engagement are two of our top priorities from the top down, and we'll keep working to continue improving them.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Overall good place to work no matter what stage your career is in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Digital River full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office space, competitive but amicable culture, quality is improving, good benefits, beer fridays and holiday competitions are fun, my manager empowers me, and I've learned a lot about the industry during my 2 years here

    Cons

    Work/Life balance is variable depending on your position, working between internal teams can be a bit of a power struggle, and office politics can affect your work

    Continue reading
    Digital River2017-11-14

    Digital River Response

    January 15, 2018Manager Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your review- empowerment is one of the things about Digital River we cherish most, glad you feel it too!

    Continue reading
  4. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Digital River full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and have work life balance

    Cons

    Medical benefits can improve a bit more

    Digital River2017-09-20

    Digital River Response

    October 9, 2017Manager Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the review, we will definitely continue to monitor our benefits and will keep doing what we can to make them better.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Potential For Greatness, Good Bones, Slipping Rapidly Into Obsolescence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minnetonka, MN
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Digital River full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Respectful of Work-Life Balance, Professional, Organized, Skilled, Solid Technology

    Cons

    Constantly Changing Focus, No Respect From Upper Management, Ships Jobs Overseas, Undervalued Compensation, Poor Medical Insurance, Not Cutting-Edge Technology

    Continue reading
    Digital River2017-08-08

    Digital River Response

    August 16, 2017Manager Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we are doing. We have noticed common themes from our employees who post on Glassdoor, and are glad to see people enjoy the flexibility we give them, the autonomy to get their jobs done and believe in the people they work with. Your feedback also helps us continue to prioritize strategies to improve. We have engaged a number of strategies to keep basic health costs affordable for all of our employees, and have adopted a variety of programs to help our employees maximize their health care dollars. We are always looking for ways to continue to provide affordable and top quality benefits to our employees, and work to make their lives easier with things like dependent care benefits, full paid maternity and paternity leave and more. In a fast paced industry like ecommerce, hiring top quality talent is an ongoing challenge that we face. We have a number of open roles, many of which are in the tech realm, that we are working to fill. We have employees all over the world who, by working for us, provide better quality lives for their families. They service accounts and customers in rest of world countries. Globally aware companies face high demand to deliver on ever shortened timelines, leveraging talent and tools from all over the world. As Digital River continues to evolve, we need to balance cost, speed, critical knowledge of our space and markets using team members from all over the world. We will continuously evaluate our needs against this dynamic marketplace that we compete in so that can deliver world class solutions at the speed of this market. We are always working to communicate our executives’ initiatives and strategies in a way that we can connect the value with the experience of our employees. These efforts include town halls, semi-annual employee engagement surveys, skip levels, Glassdoor and more. Thank you for your feedback. It helps us continue to improve the employee experience here at Digital River.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Business first, employees second"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Digital River full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours are great. Many great and talented coworkers

    Cons

    Everything is about cost cutting. Meaningful benefits have gotten worse, constant relocating of staff to offshore contracting firms, and if you don't work on revenue generating projects, you don't seem to matter to senior management. If you become a key employee with a lot of institutional knowledge, your job security goes up, but your work life balance will get much worse.

    Continue reading
    Digital River2017-03-23

    Digital River Response

    March 27, 2017Manager Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your comments and take your advice seriously. We do have many benefits and events that we believe show how much we value our people. From FTO (Flexible Time Off) to 13 weeks paid maternity/paternity leave as well as our family friendly events like office trick or treating or Santa’s visits, we believe our employees are at the heart of everything we do. In the last two years we implemented a strong bonus program where employees share in the success of the company. All of this shows our commitment to strengthening benefits and our commitment to what employees see when the company performs. Strategic change can be hard but we hope all we are doing pays off for the company and our employees.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Digital River full-time

    Pros

    Sales strategies, company plan and performance are communicated well now in the quarterly meetings. PTO policy is great, but prepare to work long hours to make up the work you missed. The people here are great, including my manager. Very nice campus! Some managers do care about training and development. Gym, cafeteria, mini events like Santa's visit and tailgating.

    Cons

    Constantly changing company strategies. Work/life balance is poor in departments that have outsourced positions. Retained staff struggle to take up the slack. Transition seems never ending.

    Continue reading
    Digital River2016-12-10

    Digital River Response

    January 11, 2017Manager Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We know the last couple of months as we make hard choices necessary to be operationally efficient and effective. While difficult, these choices will make us even stronger than we already are in the future. Our flexible time off (FTO) policy is intended to give people flexibility and time to be with their families, if you ever feel like it’s working against you, please let HR know, we want to make sure this is a benefit not a hindrance. We also really appreciate the recognition of our office events like the visit from Santa, a lot of people work hard to make sure there are family friendly events and people feel like they matter.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (14)

    "On the Decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Digital River

    Pros

    Free On-site Gym Relaxed atmosphere The people you work with Ability to work from home remotely

    Cons

    Vast increase in outsourcing of employees and/or departments Increase in mid to upper level managers Declining or absolute lack of work/life balance Decline in benefits and pay Decline in the care for the quality of the company product Constantly changing company objectives and goals Low morale Detached Executives

    Continue reading
    Digital River2016-10-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great team of people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Digital River full-time

    Pros

    The development, business and support teams were full of very talented, dedicated people. I enjoyed working with the team I was on and am grateful for the experience.

    Cons

    The old work hard, play harder mantra exists here, however after working so many hours per week, there isn't much time for play. Work/life balance is not in balance.

    Continue reading
    Digital River2015-11-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "account management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Digital River

    Pros

    cool industry, nice people, great office

    Cons

    work life balance, execution of strategy

    Digital River2015-09-22
Found 27 reviews