Cover image for DigitalOcean
Logo

DigitalOcean

Engaged Employer

DigitalOcean

Add a Review

DigitalOcean Reviews

Updated Feb 2, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 255 of over 270 reviews
4.3
87% Recommend to a Friend
DigitalOcean CEO Yancey Spruill
93% Approve of CEO

Found 254 of over 270 reviews

4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
DigitalOcean CEO Yancey Spruill
Yancey Spruill
123 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

562

78 Comments

Tech

641.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=DigitalOcean~823482
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about DigitalOcean? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with DigitalOcean employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of DigitalOcean and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Work-Life Balance is Unparalleled

    Jan 20, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    DigitalOcean was a pretty wonderful place to work. Some of the best parts of working on my team in particular was the work-life balance. My team and I felt fully supported in our personal lives and were encouraged to focus on working enough to get our work done, but were never once micromanaged to any extent. The senior leadership I worked with are wonderful human beings and genuinely cared about my growth as a person. I was fully supported throughout my time, even during my last two weeks before I moved on to a different company. Benefits are pretty standard for the tech industry, and more than adequate. Love the company’s values and the way it ties into the culture on a day to day basis. Compensation was pretty ok, nothing spectacular compared to big tech.

    Cons

    The way that offsites are undervalued and Sammy Recharge Days (near monthly company wide mental health days) were eliminated really rubbed me the wrong way. I’ve personally seen the value of getting distributed teams together for a week to connect and work together in person and the funds to make those opportunities possibly never felt to be an investment priority, until there was an uproar. The elimination of the Sammy Recharge Days takes away a lot of what made DO so special. There are still so many unique things that employees love about the culture at DO but the loss of SRDs are such a huge hit to the culture as a whole.

    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Love it!

    Jan 10, 2023 - Administrative Coordinator in Detroit, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits and great WLB.

    Cons

    I haven't seen none yet.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the DigitalOcean team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company with Love at Its Core

    Dec 19, 2022 - Technical Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *Remote-first, and extremely supportive of its remote employees *Community-based culture: people are the most important *Great benefits

    Cons

    Sometimes it feels like you're in meetings more than you are spending time doing the work you were hired for.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Dec 2, 2022 - Customer Success Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -empathy -the best professional development I've ever seen -remote culture -smart/caring coworkers

    Cons

    - no more Sammy recharge days :(

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great experience

    Nov 15, 2022 - Tax Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bright, hardworking teams that really care about the products and customers

    Cons

    So much work. So much.

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best place to work!

    Nov 2, 2022 - Administrative Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing job to work at if you're looking to be a coordinator or executive assistant. The work life balance is unparalleled!! Digital ocean is a remote work place, and yet, everyone is so helpful and kind. You really have the opportunity to create your own work schedule and not be micromanaged. All of the leadership team I support are amazing to work with. Based on employee reviews I truly thought this place was "too good to be true," but it's absolutely not! So grateful to be an employee here. Would recommend it to anyone.

    Cons

    I honestly don't have any.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing company with the perfect culture

    Oct 31, 2022 - Sr Manager, Marketing in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Digital Ocean has created a safe and friendly remote workplace.

    Cons

    I have been at the company for 60 days and have zero complaints.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great

    Sep 30, 2022 - Sr. Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love the company and its values.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fun place to work

    Sep 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Interesting Product - Great culture -Warm and inviting

    Cons

    None so far that I see

    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic place to work as a trans person!

    Sep 23, 2022 - Engineer I in Lexington, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic ERGs Queer friendly Amazing teams

    Cons

    Growing company Re-orgs Profit focused CEO

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 254 Reviews
</>Embed

DigitalOcean Reviews FAQs

DigitalOcean has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 270 reviews left anonymously by employees. 87% of employees would recommend working at DigitalOcean to a friend and 80% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, DigitalOcean employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at DigitalOcean. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

87% of DigitalOcean employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated DigitalOcean 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at DigitalOcean to be career development, benefits, culture and the cons to be management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with DigitalOcean Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DigitalOcean? Share Your Experiences

DigitalOcean logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

DigitalOcean Photos

+ Add Photo
DigitalOcean photo of: NYC HQ
DigitalOcean photo of: Bring Your Kids to Work Day: Our baby sharks, mama sharks and papa sharks having a fun family day with face painting, dancing and all around fun.
DigitalOcean photo of: Welcome to the NYC office!
DigitalOcean photo of: New office launch party
DigitalOcean photo of: There's always space to relax while working.
DigitalOcean photo of: UX team whiteboarding
DigitalOcean photo of: DC in San Francisco
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

DigitalOcean Job Seekers Also Viewed

Wunderkind Logo
Wunderkind

3.6

229 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 270 DigitalOcean reviews submitted anonymously by DigitalOcean employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if DigitalOcean is right for you.