Cover image for DigitalOcean
Logo

DigitalOcean

Engaged Employer

DigitalOcean

Add a Review

DigitalOcean Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 253 of over 268 reviews
4.3
86% Recommend to a Friend
DigitalOcean CEO Yancey Spruill
93% Approve of CEO

Found 252 of over 268 reviews

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
DigitalOcean CEO Yancey Spruill
Yancey Spruill
121 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

560

77 Comments

Tech

626K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=DigitalOcean~823482
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about DigitalOcean? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with DigitalOcean employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of DigitalOcean and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fully Remote

    Jan 27, 2023 - Director in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fully remote, friendly atmosphere, good online presence

    Cons

    Executive management is all over the place with their decision making

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company, culture and purpose.

    Jan 24, 2023 - Account Executive in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote workplace. Salary package. Team/business culture.

    Cons

    Personally, I haven't come across any.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the DigitalOcean team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Jan 23, 2023 - DCE 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great culture easy to get along with - Great benefits - Comapred to larger cloud companies like AWS, there is a lot more to learn as not as many processes are automated so there is more responsibility and greater opportunities to learn - Travel - Flexible working hours - "Fellowship program" allows you to try another team out if that's what you're interested in. Manager is happy to do this

    Cons

    - As some processes are not yet automated, there are some processes that are inefficient - As this is an international company you will have to be ready to have early/ late meetings. However, they are aware of this and expect you to not over work yourself and have breaks and are very flexible with the working hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Work-Life Balance is Unparalleled

    Jan 20, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    DigitalOcean was a pretty wonderful place to work. Some of the best parts of working on my team in particular was the work-life balance. My team and I felt fully supported in our personal lives and were encouraged to focus on working enough to get our work done, but were never once micromanaged to any extent. The senior leadership I worked with are wonderful human beings and genuinely cared about my growth as a person. I was fully supported throughout my time, even during my last two weeks before I moved on to a different company. Benefits are pretty standard for the tech industry, and more than adequate. Love the company’s values and the way it ties into the culture on a day to day basis. Compensation was pretty ok, nothing spectacular compared to big tech.

    Cons

    The way that offsites are undervalued and Sammy Recharge Days (near monthly company wide mental health days) were eliminated really rubbed me the wrong way. I’ve personally seen the value of getting distributed teams together for a week to connect and work together in person and the funds to make those opportunities possibly never felt to be an investment priority, until there was an uproar. The elimination of the Sammy Recharge Days takes away a lot of what made DO so special. There are still so many unique things that employees love about the culture at DO but the loss of SRDs are such a huge hit to the culture as a whole.

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    It's Your Typical Tech Company

    Jan 16, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Benefits -Stock Units - Flexible Time off (depending on your department) -You will gain experience

    Cons

    There doesn't seem to be much of a career path for ICs, and I know the HR team is working to improve that which is good.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Love it!

    Jan 10, 2023 - Administrative Coordinator in Detroit, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits and great WLB.

    Cons

    I haven't seen none yet.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing Company to Work with

    Jan 4, 2023 - Cloud Engineer in Karāchi
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good working Environment. Unlimited PTOs. Growth Opportunities.

    Cons

    In Pakistan you will not get the same benefits as your peers working aboard. less compensation.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Billing executive

    Dec 27, 2022 - Billing Executive in Karāchi
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote working flexible hours WFH allowance

    Cons

    to many portals and applications for everything

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company with Love at Its Core

    Dec 19, 2022 - Technical Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *Remote-first, and extremely supportive of its remote employees *Community-based culture: people are the most important *Great benefits

    Cons

    Sometimes it feels like you're in meetings more than you are spending time doing the work you were hired for.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Average Company to work for

    Dec 7, 2022 - Software Engineer in New Delhi
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Permanently remote job if you like being stuck at home forever.

    Cons

    No KT or Training if you feel like you need some help to upskill yourself.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 252 Reviews
</>Embed

DigitalOcean Reviews FAQs

DigitalOcean has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 268 reviews left anonymously by employees. 86% of employees would recommend working at DigitalOcean to a friend and 79% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, DigitalOcean employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at DigitalOcean. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

86% of DigitalOcean employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated DigitalOcean 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at DigitalOcean to be career development, benefits, culture and the cons to be management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with DigitalOcean Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DigitalOcean? Share Your Experiences

DigitalOcean logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

DigitalOcean Photos

+ Add Photo
DigitalOcean photo of: NYC HQ
DigitalOcean photo of: Bring Your Kids to Work Day: Our baby sharks, mama sharks and papa sharks having a fun family day with face painting, dancing and all around fun.
DigitalOcean photo of: Welcome to the NYC office!
DigitalOcean photo of: New office launch party
DigitalOcean photo of: There's always space to relax while working.
DigitalOcean photo of: UX team whiteboarding
DigitalOcean photo of: DC in San Francisco
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

DigitalOcean Job Seekers Also Viewed

Wunderkind Logo
Wunderkind

3.6

228 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 268 DigitalOcean reviews submitted anonymously by DigitalOcean employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if DigitalOcean is right for you.