Cover image for DigitalOcean
Logo

DigitalOcean

Engaged Employer

DigitalOcean

Add a Review

DigitalOcean Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 21 of over 270 reviews
4.7
99% Recommend to a Friend
DigitalOcean CEO Yancey Spruill
100% Approve of CEO

Found 21 of over 270 reviews

4.7
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
DigitalOcean CEO Yancey Spruill
Yancey Spruill
6 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

561

78 Comments

Tech

638.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=DigitalOcean~823482
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about DigitalOcean? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with DigitalOcean employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of DigitalOcean and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great

    Sep 30, 2022 - Sr. Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love the company and its values.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    DigitalOcean - great place to work!!

    Sep 22, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer II in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loads of appreciation felt for the work I do on the team. Tons of "DOLove" shared with employees that's "baked into" the culture here. Definitely cutting edge tech combined with highly industry-relevant work with personal instant opportunity to positively effect customers with the work that I do. Senior management that really cares about employees and really cares about creating an excellent, focused strategy for DO that's based on customer research. Fully remote work opportunities. Great benefits and competitive pay.

    Cons

    There are challenges with a fully remote work environment, particularly around building relationships. But this is not isolated to DO these days. Honestly, I have not hit any real issues working at DO yet. I'm very pleased.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the DigitalOcean team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Solid Foundation, trending in the right direction

    Oct 25, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer II 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    DO has some good values and smart engineers. The C-suite seems to know what they're doing. The culture isn't suffocating and culty like some engineering companies.

    Cons

    Project management is a bit heavy handed. The pace is slow for a company this age and size. They've underinvested in internal tooling.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Solid, stable, a bit boring

    Nov 12, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very healthy, lots of benefits, they take care of their employees

    Cons

    No product vision, lack of focus, nobody is leading the product.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Worked there three years

    Jan 11, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great engineering culture: There is a broad assumption of positive intent. Trust within and between teams. - Building a cloud has lots of interesting challenges. - Lots of opportunity for advancement and professional growth.

    Cons

    - There's not much downtime and contributions back upstream don't always happen as much as I'd like.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Remote Done Right

    May 4, 2018 - Senior Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Best remote culture of any company out there - Managers give you the tools to succeed and empower you to make decisions - Everyone is super friendly and helpful, and people truly enjoy working here - Minimal meetings - Diverse culture

    Cons

    - Meeting times can get tricky with teams being so timezone distributed - Slack can be noisy with all the team channels and interest group channels

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    DigitalOcean Response

    VP, People

    Thanks for the great feedback. We see our distributed model as a competitive talent advantage and I'm glad the experience is working for you. And I hear you on Slack - we'll work on better separating the signal from the noise (except for the #puns channel. That's obviously amazing).

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Culture

    Feb 14, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Best remote culture I've ever encountered - Great growth trajectory - A product that is interesting, and based on charging people for a service

    Cons

    - Very distributed organization, so communication can be slow. You'll have to learn how to work asynchronously.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    DO Love is real! Love it so far...

    Jun 22, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Highly skilled colleagues, smart yet humble, very collaborative and friendly culture, interesting at scale problems to solve

    Cons

    Growing fast, lots of churn at the leadership level

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    good place to get exposure to lots of tech

    Nov 12, 2018 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fast paced, risk embracing, developer centric culture trying to build a platform that punches up against the competition. lots of energy, good culture initiatives and flexible work life balance

    Cons

    due to the rate of growth in hiring there's a constant churn of new folks which can make finding the right team to engage difficult. Due to rate of change in environment there is a lack of formalized process in many areas. Senior Management often presents a less than crisp vision of where projects are headed

    4 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    May 26, 2017 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart, kind, and helpful engineers and developers.

    Cons

    There is a lot to learn.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    DigitalOcean Response

    VP, People

    Awesome. Thank you. I will only add that there being "a lot to learn" is one of the pros for our organization as well! Thank you for the feedback. I promise we'll keep in investing in the future.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews
</>Embed

DigitalOcean Reviews FAQs

Senior Software Engineer professionals working at DigitalOcean have rated their employer with 4.7 out of 5 stars in 21 Glassdoor reviews. This is a higher than average score with the overall rating of DigitalOcean employees being 4.3 out of 5 stars. Search open Senior Software Engineer Jobs at DigitalOcean now and start preparing for your job interview by browsing frequently asked Senior Software Engineer interview questions at DigitalOcean.

Senior Software Engineer professionals rate their compensation and benefits at DigitalOcean with 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 21 anonymously submitted employee reviews. This is 2.2% better than the company average rating for salary and benefits. Find out more about Senior Software Engineer salaries and benefits at DigitalOcean.

99% of Senior Software Engineer employees at DigitalOcean would recommend their employer to a friend. This rating has remained stable in the past 12 months. Senior Software Engineer professionals have also rated DigitalOcean with a 4.8 rating for work-life-balance, 4.8 rating for diversity and inclusion, 4.8 rating for culture and values and 4.6 rating for career opportunities.

Popular Careers with DigitalOcean Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DigitalOcean? Share Your Experiences

DigitalOcean logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

DigitalOcean Photos

+ Add Photo
DigitalOcean photo of: NYC HQ
DigitalOcean photo of: Bring Your Kids to Work Day: Our baby sharks, mama sharks and papa sharks having a fun family day with face painting, dancing and all around fun.
DigitalOcean photo of: Welcome to the NYC office!
DigitalOcean photo of: New office launch party
DigitalOcean photo of: There's always space to relax while working.
DigitalOcean photo of: UX team whiteboarding
DigitalOcean photo of: DC in San Francisco
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

DigitalOcean Job Seekers Also Viewed

Wunderkind Logo
Wunderkind

3.6

229 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 270 DigitalOcean reviews submitted anonymously by DigitalOcean employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if DigitalOcean is right for you.