Cover image for DigitalOcean
Logo

DigitalOcean

Engaged Employer

DigitalOcean

Add a Review

DigitalOcean Employee Reviews about "management"

Updated Nov 22, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 242 of over 256 reviews
4.5
91% Recommend to a Friend
DigitalOcean CEO Yancey Spruill
94% Approve of CEO

Found 38 of over 256 reviews

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
DigitalOcean CEO Yancey Spruill
Yancey Spruill
114 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

496

70 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of DigitalOcean and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great experience

    Nov 15, 2022 - Tax Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bright, hardworking teams that really care about the products and customers

    Cons

    So much work. So much.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Less than it was

    Nov 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart coworkers, flexible working arrangements, stock plan and 401k match

    Cons

    Reduction in benefits over the past quarters as we chase free cash flow. Lack of communication from leadership as we face trying times. Disconnect between actual benefits and the ones advertised publicly. If you have a good manager you’re in a good place, but work life balance is not a priority any longer.

    2 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the DigitalOcean team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work with caveats

    Nov 15, 2022 - Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent learning experience, you're writing code to serve other developers, so you run into a lot of really interesting problems that can really help you in your career. The people are awesome, there's really a cohesive culture here. The tech stack is (at the time of this writing) the industry standard, so you will be able to move around easily after your tenure here. Management will support your professional growth, you can opt to go to conventions, speak at conferences... etc. They are remote first, (and always have been). Most teams have a robust process for SDLC, which is great for getting a lot of input and feedback from your team and others in the org.

    Cons

    The comp isn't there for companies of this size. If you were there pre-IPO, you were set up pretty well. If you started post-IPO the stock grants are pretty pitiful. They don't have a contingency plan for retaining employees past their four year mark. They removed a 2.5 yr refresh a few years ago in favor of performance based refreshes, and those have been pretty small. WLB used to be excellent, but they recently removed recharge days off that were universally popular. Leadership tends to switch positions pretty quickly and isn't very transparent on their decision making process when it suits them. AUA's have gone from having legitimate critiques inspiring real change at the company to leadership defending their positions.

    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best place to work!

    Nov 2, 2022 - Administrative Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing job to work at if you're looking to be a coordinator or executive assistant. The work life balance is unparalleled!! Digital ocean is a remote work place, and yet, everyone is so helpful and kind. You really have the opportunity to create your own work schedule and not be micromanaged. All of the leadership team I support are amazing to work with. Based on employee reviews I truly thought this place was "too good to be true," but it's absolutely not! So grateful to be an employee here. Would recommend it to anyone.

    Cons

    I honestly don't have any.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing company with the perfect culture

    Oct 31, 2022 - Sr Manager, Marketing in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Digital Ocean has created a safe and friendly remote workplace.

    Cons

    I have been at the company for 60 days and have zero complaints.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    It's okay

    Nov 3, 2022 - Business Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -PTO -Stock -people -benefits -tech stack

    Cons

    None None None None None

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company!

    Oct 17, 2022 - Engineering Leader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Digital Ocean is a great company to work at. Great benefits and work life balance.

    Cons

    Overall great company to work at but still maturing.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great

    Sep 30, 2022 - Sr. Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love the company and its values.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fun place to work

    Sep 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Interesting Product - Great culture -Warm and inviting

    Cons

    None so far that I see

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    DigitalOcean - great place to work!!

    Sep 22, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer II in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loads of appreciation felt for the work I do on the team. Tons of "DOLove" shared with employees that's "baked into" the culture here. Definitely cutting edge tech combined with highly industry-relevant work with personal instant opportunity to positively effect customers with the work that I do. Senior management that really cares about employees and really cares about creating an excellent, focused strategy for DO that's based on customer research. Fully remote work opportunities. Great benefits and competitive pay.

    Cons

    There are challenges with a fully remote work environment, particularly around building relationships. But this is not isolated to DO these days. Honestly, I have not hit any real issues working at DO yet. I'm very pleased.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 38 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with DigitalOcean Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DigitalOcean? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

DigitalOcean Photos

+ Add Photo
DigitalOcean photo of: NYC HQ
DigitalOcean photo of: Bring Your Kids to Work Day: Our baby sharks, mama sharks and papa sharks having a fun family day with face painting, dancing and all around fun.
DigitalOcean photo of: Welcome to the NYC office!
DigitalOcean photo of: New office launch party
DigitalOcean photo of: There's always space to relax while working.
DigitalOcean photo of: UX team whiteboarding
DigitalOcean photo of: DC in San Francisco
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

DigitalOcean Job Seekers Also Viewed

Wunderkind Logo
Wunderkind

3.3

208 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 256 DigitalOcean reviews submitted anonymously by DigitalOcean employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if DigitalOcean is right for you.