Digitas "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Digitas Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 2 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
64%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Digitas CEO Michael Kahn (no image)
Michael Kahn
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "great people, great culture and great clients(in 79 reviews)

  • "Many capabilities and smart people to learn from(in 77 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Organized and supported - from the top down and bottom up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Digitas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, specific to account - but surrounded by people who are smart and proactive, which means less reacting and staying late. Knowledge of each employee is above average by position.

    Cons

    - Have heard that career progression and promotion cycles can be unfair and difficult. - Culture is stiff and corporate.

    Digitas2019-09-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Would be an incredible place to work if they could keep employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Data Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Digitas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great exposure to different types of client work across a variety of media channels. Relaxed atmosphere. Competitive salaries. Very generous vacation policy. Emphasis on work/life balance. The culture at Digitas is the best part. You will not find a more inclusive and accepting work place anywhere in the Chicago advertising community.

    Cons

    Insanely high turnover in recent years. In my 2 years I have watched countless numbers of good employees head for the exit because of a lack of promotions and career advancement. This company does not place a high enough value on their cultivating existing talent, or making them feel appreciated, and ultimately loses their best employees after a few years. There is very little transparency into the promotion cycle... so employees are left guessing about their status and opportunities for advancement. Specifically in Data and Analysis, the department is very competitive for promotions and internal politics is a huge factor. Working on the Bank of America team will give you the best shot for promotion, but you will still need to wait at least 2-3 years to make the jump from Analyst to Sr. Analyst if you are an exceptional analyst. No formal training system for entry level employees exists at Digitas. New hires are thrown into the fire to figure it out. Because of this, you absolutely must be a self-starter to even consider applying here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time and effort cultivating your existing employees. Not only will this decrease turnover, it will improve the relationships employees are able to build with clients, ultimately growing Digitas's business. Plus, it is way cheaper to offer learning opportunities to existing employees than it is to recruit and train new ones every few months.

    Digitas2019-08-23
  3. "Smooth Sailing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Account Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Digitas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My interviewing process was a relatively smooth process. My HR contact was very responsive and kept me in the loop with where they were in the hiring process. I had 4 phone interviews and 1 face-to-face that included (6) interviewers. Although the interviewing process was intense it was very informative and allowed me to ask an array of questions as well. - I was hired shortly after my last interview -... What I appreciated the most is that my direct manager really listened to my concern about being on-boarded properly (major misstep in most companies BUT seems to be a major issue in most agencies) That said, my manager really did a good job with ensuring I was brought on to the team and the client correctly. - The office as a whole exudes good energy and appears to be supportive of each other. - Tech support worked diligently to make sure all of my equipment, the software was working properly on my Mac and if not their response time was expedited when I called in my issues. - Work Life balance appears to be common across all levels, which is nice for an agency. - Lastly, people here are smart BUT NOT arrogant again is nice to see within the agency world.

    Show More

    Cons

    - client projects seem to be inconsistent, which is scary since that is how people stay employed.

    Digitas2019-06-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good Culture & People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Media Supervisor in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Digitas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are smart, invested in their work, and inclusive. There are lots of opportunities to move teams and work on different accounts because of how large it is. Good work /life balance depending on the account you're working on

    Cons

    There is not much transparency from senior leadership and promotions are something that are always overdue and a large part of why people leave

    Digitas2019-05-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good Place to Start, but look else where shortly after"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Digitas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are the ones that keep you there - most are incredibly smart, dedicated and friendly. Cool events. The Digitas office in NYC is amazing. Learn a lot, very quickly

    Cons

    Low pay/ unfair compensation for expected work ( especially due to the cost of living in NYC) No work life-balance Promotions are slow and there are no incentives to keep you motivated. Extremely high turn-over makes it impossible for teams to become efficient because you constantly have to train new employees. Raises are not a thing. Bonuses.. never. (at least at an analyst level) But you will be an analyst... for a verrrrry long time. No career growth

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Recognize high-performing employees and value their work so that the best people WANT to stay, rather then drive them out because of no incentives.

    Digitas2019-05-20
  6. "Positives and negatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Digitas full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and great people. Great work life balance

    Cons

    Pay is not the greatest and promotions are based on time spent there instead of performance

    Digitas2019-02-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Organizational & structural shifts, not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planner in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Digitas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good benefits (lots of holidays off), 19 days to start, unlimited sick days, fun holiday parties - great talent - work life balance has improved been depending on the account can be unpredictable - great place to start your career, Digitas really invests in you and you will learn A LOT

    Cons

    - loss of big accounts has led to a lot of uncertainty, fragmentation of company -promotions are quarterly and can be held up by process instead of by merit, depends on your account and how much exposure you have (at least at lower levels) - not flexible with wfh - team spirit has diminished, as evidenced by poorly attended Thursday & Friday happy hours

    Digitas2019-01-30
  8. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Digitas part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, smart, creative people, good perks, lots of holidays

    Cons

    Work life balance can be challenging in client services, really depends on your team and Senior leadership

    Advice to Management

    Provide more incentives to retain talent

    Digitas2019-01-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Digitas

    Pros

    Culture, colleagues, ability to excel

    Cons

    Work life balance, lack of flexibility

    Advice to Management

    Better work life balance and workflow structures

    Digitas2019-01-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Digitas full-time

    Pros

    Looks great on a resume

    Cons

    Unless you're brought in by a 'higher up' don't expect a career path. Work/life balance will depend on the team you're on.

    Digitas2018-10-30
Found 136 reviews